scrappystickyinkymess

Font choices for book folding

61 Comments

Here are two sheets of the fonts I use most often when making book folding templates.  If you request one, please also pick a font (or two!) This will give you more control over the final template – and don’t forget I am always happy to TRY a font of your choice, not from the list.  It has to be free for me to acquire (or one I already own) and a link to it would be helpful. I can Google with the best of them, but a link saves me time.

script

and

plainfonts

Seeing them will give you a good idea of how many interruptions letters are likely to have, so if you are a novice at book folding, pick a simple, straight and upright font like Helvetica or Mondo Cane. If you are just branching out into scripty ones, Habano has to be my top choice. To be honest, I would avoid Brush Script.  Not sure why I have it as a possible, I am not sure I’ve ever sent a template out using it LOL! Some of them, like Grand Hotel, works better if I fatten it up, some work well only for very specific words. I test the names/words requested, and usually send a sheet with one from the scripty list and one from the plain list.  And if nothing works for me I branch out to my whole 5000+ font library….

There will be another post with more interesting content arriving soon.

61 thoughts on “Font choices for book folding

  1. Pingback: Font Choice | scrappystickyinkymess

  2. how do you make the templates for book foulding

    • I use a peculiar little Mac-Only program called Intaglio. There are many tutorials for using Illustrator or Photoshop/Photoshop Elements to do it but I’ve never done that so I can’t offer any advice. All I can say is Google it and see what you can find – or buy a Mc and get Intaglio 🙂

      sorry

      MA

  3. Hi I’ve now completed the mum folds that you sent me the templates for an now have the book fold bug would it be possible for you to send me nan in any feminine font please I also asked before about one saying happy 40th Becky I’ve now decided to try a cut and fold book with this could you please send me a template for this to I don’t have a computer so have been trying to draw them on graph paper an not really getting anywhere thanks

    • Oh dear! Did I miss out on sending the Becky one? Sorry about that. Life has been quite hectic – the Cut&fold uses THE SAME templates as the folding, esp. now that I s t r e t c h the words so thee is no need to work out if you need the black AND white lines, the back lines should be enough! Given that Happy 40th Becky will need to be on 3 lines, I think the only way you could do it is Cut&fold. Watch your email….

      🙂

      MA

  4. Hi. Not sure if I’m submitting this in the right place but would you be able to make the name Alsky in Lavenderia? Thanks in advance!

  5. Hi would you be able to do mum in Mondo Cane? I did it in your normal template font and it took soooo long 🙂 thanks

  6. Hi there, I really love your blog and I love this idea of book folding, do you happen to have ‘family’ in either milk font or black chancery. Thankyou

  7. Hi Mary Jane. Would it be possible to do me ‘family’ in either milk script or black chancery please :-),. Xx

  8. Mary Anne* sorry auto check xx

  9. Hi lovely, really enjoy your blog and wondered if you had a template for Mum&Dad in a plain font that would work well? Many thanks

  10. Hi would you possible be able to do me Dad in black chancery or lobster two and grandad in mondo cane please? Btw I love your blog!

  11. Just came across you blog…… Love it……. I have found a book that I would like to word fold for an anniversary gift. I am new at this and would like your sugestions. The book is quite large 91/2 x 7inchs — has 1025 pages. Love a romatic look. Rhonda

    • Sorry, we are in the middle of a house move and my blog is getting neglected. But I cleared some time today to catch up. I would say given you are new to it, maybe something like a heart with their initials inside it might work – it’s a little more complicated than one with Initial {heart} Initial, but a book as big as that can take it. Also not a super difficult option might be a sillhouette of a man and a woman embracing? there are some here you can look at http://www.freepik.com/index.php?goto=2&searchform=1&k=silhouette+romantic – obviously the simpler ones will be easier to fold. I wouldn’t do one with free-flowing hair for example 🙂

      Have a think and get back to me – I’ll try to find the time.

  12. Love your blog! Mahalo (that’s ‘thank you’ in Hawaiian) for sharing! I would like to request a template for the word Aloha in Pacifico font. Aloha in Hawaiian has multiple meanings, the most prominent being love. With much appreciation!

  13. Hi, love the post! Would you be able to send me the initials M F E for folding in a monogram style (F being larger than M & E)? I appreciate it!

  14. Can you please make book folding templates for:
    “S” and “Savanna”
    Font: ” Abril Fatface”
    PPPPLEEEEEAAAAASSSSEEEEE!!
    Thanks for reading this and I hope you make them. -if you do please send
    them to me

  15. Hi there I was wondering if you could help, I need a Mr & Mrs template with the date 23.07.16 but I can’t find one and don’t know how to make my own.

    • I’ll email you – I think there is no way you can FOLD both Mr and Mrs and a date in the same book – it would have to be 3000 pages long or something 🙂 It would work well as a cut&fold, or you could do two books as folds.

  16. Help… how can I fold ‘Always’ in the Deathly Hallow copy of Harry Potter when the English copes are only 607 pages instead of the us version being the 752 pages that’s needed
    Please help

    • You may not be able to. The sample here https://scrappystickyinkymess.wordpress.com/2016/02/13/sharing-request-results/ could be using the US version with 759 pages. You could fold just the ALWAYS part without the symbol. Unfortunately, reducing it in height won’t always make such a significant difference in the page count, it’ll just make the word smaller. At least one of the other UK editions has more pages, Order of the Phoenix has 766 pages! You could also fold ALWAYS using DH and the symbol using another book from the series. There are also people who will make a custom template for you for a fee, matching the design yo want to the exact book and page count you want. I have the software to do that but I don’t make templates that I would have to charge people for. HTH

      MA

  17. Hi! Do you have the alphabets for these already or do you create each request every time? Can I get the word “Read” in Milk Script and Gelato Script? Thank you so much!

    • For some words, I have them ready. But I really need to update some of them to load the words stretched, which makes for a fuller design. READ is one of these. You can find them in the top Book Folding menu drop down, but if you give me till Monday I’ll update them – and probably will email you your font choices in the meantime 🙂

  18. Hi! Would you please send me the alphabet templates in Coolvetica font? Thank you for your time!

  19. Could you send me Coolvetica and Gabo Drive alphabet templates? Thank you

  20. Britannica Bold or Halevetica Neue please. I know it is a long request but important to me and I am willing to do the work.

    May I have: Life is an Adventure 2 lines with Adventure on 2nd line or Adventure for 2nd book. Thank you so much.

    • I’ll send it but you may need a book 10 inches thick to fold it 🙂

      • Is there a font that would make it less pages? I have found some thick books. I will just divide it in to more books if needed. I promise to send you photos of work in progress and finished work. When my husband proposed to me, he wrote a poem and the last 2 lines were: Life is an adventure, I want to share it with you. Grateful for your help.

        • The font I sent was the one I thought was the best, but two books would be a great option, life is an on one and adventure on the other! Did you get it the other day? If not check spam 🙂

          • Yes, I did get the one you sent the other day but did not see it until after previous response to you. I was just so excited to see your response that I just clicked on the first one I saw. Again, thank you so much for your help.

  21. Hi, it’s me again. I’m the one who needs a template for “Sara.” Could you make it in Black Chancery please? Thank you! ❤ ❤ ❤

  22. Hi! I have a couple of template requests. What do you charge, and how can I give you the request in a less public manner?
    This is such a neat site…Well done!

  23. Hello MaryAnne,
    I don’t see my question to you, so I am going to try again. Can you make be the word “Dream” in Black Chancery. Thank you so much for all your help.

  24. Would love to have a template in milk script that says Rokeby and one that says Brady if it isn’t too much trouble. Your site has been my best resource for this newest adventure of mine! Thanks for all the great info!

  25. Hello. I really appreciate your website. This should make for a great anniversary gift for my wife. Can you create a template for me that has 3-5-2016 in Brittainic Bold? Can I also get a heart-shaped pattern (in case I can’t finish the date in time?)

  26. Again I hope you get this, as I am not sure if it is the correct place. But could you do me the name Mark, in either milk script or habana. I would do it cut and fold if the book I have will not take the usual method. Thank you for your time.

  27. Hi, I am new to this and would like an easy font. I want it to say “Prom?” The book I bought has pages 7.5″ tall a 5.5″ wide. It is 470 pages (so 235 papers). Hope you can help! thanks

  28. Hi! This is wonderful! I want to make a gift for my sisters wedding anniversary. She had a stack of books as her wedding cake so I am wondering if it would be possible to use a specific book to do the book fold? I think it would have more meaning to her gift if I chose one from her wedding cake. Would you be able to send me a template for A (heart) M in Bernard Mt. thank you so much in advance!

    • There are people who will make a template for you to fit the page count of a specific book, for a fee. Mine are one where you need to find a book to fit the template, but are free. Look at the one I will send you (and I can sent two of slightly different sizes) and see if they fit a book she has. Watch for it soon 🙂

  29. Hi! I just starting reading and watching YouTube videos about book folding tonight. You are absolutely wonderful and your website has been very helpful. I want to make my niece a birthday present. Would you be able to make me Harper in milk script? It would be greatly appreciated.

  30. Hi! Not sure, if my comment posted. Your work is wonderful and very easy to understand. I wanted to make my niece a birthday present. I was wondering, if you could make me a template for Harper in milk script. Very appreciated.

  31. You are so awesome for doing this. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!! Can I get a few with the names of Ashley, Stephanie, Tiffany, Inez, and Christopher in Gelato Script and Milk Script? Is there a way to give you a donation for all the work and effort you have put into this???? ❤

    • Been quite busy recently but I will do three for you – I am limiting request to three so I can spread the time I do have over all the requests I get! Do you want to pick which three?

  32. Hi. Would it be possible to get the word Insight in black chancery please. I have tried myself but have become very frustrated. Thank you

  33. Hello, I was wanted to see if I could get 2 templates in Mondo for “Cline” and “Atha?” Thank you!

  34. Hi, i have just found your page & i am new to book folding i have a book that is just under 9ins in height & has 439 pages, i would love to try a basic heart can you help me with this please, thank you x.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

