scrappystickyinkymess

My favourite card layout

Leave a comment

I guess that is not totally accurate. What I mean to say is that this layout is the style that is my favourite. I could make endless variations on this basic idea and as long as I pick good papers to go together, I will probably like the card.

All I need is two rectangles that will cover the width of the card and a small strip of a nice contrast – and like here, some variation on B&W is usually what I prefer, or a nice solid colour.

Whether it is small strip, thin strip, large strip, or the reverse, with the thickness of the two major pieces able to be varied quite a lot, it will work for me. All it really need then is a sentiment and/or a topper, usually a nice die cut one, but not always.

I liked it on the green but a double mat made more of it, I think.

You can maybe imagine this would look just as good it the card was reversed so the stripes were on the top, or if it were turned sideways so the stripes were to the left (or the right!) and the sentiment were rotated to “read” to match. I had a small scrap of packaging with a handful of pink gems. Rather than adhere rigidly to my “groups of three” rule, I just wanted to use them up. I think it works!

AND I get to use up this experiment with a full A4 embossing folder that I made into an embossed envelope. It’s been languishing in my stash for a year, I bet. It fits this card perfectly!

I also found a little pile of small scraps in the paper pad I used so that will end up making another card. Tomorrow.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.