scrappystickyinkymess

Book folding templates, by request

86 Comments

I have a huge folder full of templates that I have made for people, various names, images, etc.  What I can see is people, when given a choice, tend to pick the font that I think looks the nicest.  I thought I would also just go ahead and add some of the other templates I have sent out, that I think might be of general appeal. Some are cropped, some are single, some are pages full of images.  If any appeal to you, feel free to grab them and give it a go.  There is also now a menu up at the top that collects all the book folding posts in one place.

IMPORTANT: DO NOT use the .jpg image you see here.  The quality and size are not good enough and the lines indistinct.  Download the PDF and use that.

funky flower

funkyflower

Mum

 

 

Mum

I {heart} you

iheartyou

 

 

Love (click the image to download the PDF)

loveheart lovelove2

Mr & Mrs (click the image to download the PDF) – just slightly different spacings

MrMrs_spaced MrMrs mrandmrs2 mrandmrs

paw print

paw

Read (click the image to download the PDF)

Read_plain Read

elaborate heart

swirlheart

shapes (hearts, stars, &)

shapes

more & options

amper

Hopefully that will keep you busy for a while, as I continue to sort out my move to a new Mac….

86 thoughts on “Book folding templates, by request

  1. Hi, thank you so much for the templates you posted today, I am a novice to this art. I started making Christmas trees and hedgehogs 3 weeks ago and now I am hooked ;-), I downloaded the letters yesterday and stayed up till 3am this morning making my very first letter fold, I made J and H, these are my initials, once again thank you very much I really do appreciate the time and effort you put in for these templates X

    • I’d sure love to see a photo… hint, hint

      😀

      Glad you are finding them useful- I am lucky that I have a program that lets me make them super fast and easy. So far the requests haven’t gotten out of control, so I am happy to take 5 minutes to make a template to help someone out.
      MA

      • you are really awesome! I love to do book folding. but am unable to get the template. can you please help with the template of the name NIFRA in Victorian font with a pdf file. for a book which has 1000 pages 35cm of height

  2. Hi. Love your blog and all your templates, but how do you know how many sheets you’ll have to use for each letter, number, heart etc. Thinking that letters like e, o, a needs alot more sheets than letters like n, i, l. Then there will be alot of counting 😀 Anyway. Could you also make the alphabet in a font called Black Chancery size 216 or 144?
    Greetings from Karina in Denmark

    • The post https://scrappystickyinkymess.wordpress.com/2015/05/04/book-folding-with-templates/ has info on calculating the number of pages you need. This image may help

      You can also use both the black lines and the white spaces between if you have a really fat book and want really fat letters for a short word. As to the font, I only have Apple Chancery. I can see that there is a free font called Black Chancery. Is it this one? http://www.dafont.com/black-chancery.font

      • Hi. Thanks for quick answer 🙂 Yes, that’s the font in the link 😉 I was thinking, that if I would make a word like a name… eks. Jennifer, then I will have to know how many sheets the book needs to have and to figure that out, I’ll need to count every black line in each letter, right? 😉

        • Yep. The thing is, I am just not willing to tell someone “Oh you need a book of X pages to do that word,” then have it turn out to be wrong if I am! You really need to read the post because, as you say any letter that has more than one area along a line, you need to alternate the folds, first the top section, then the bottom, then the top again, like in the image. I also suggest finding the middle of your word and the middle of the book and working OUT. That way if you are off a bit you find out faster, and you also end up with the same number of blank pages at the beginning and at the end. 🙂 I’ve downloaded the font and will try to make the alphabet tomorrow, upper and lower case, with numbers.

  3. You are so sweet. 🙂 Thanks alot. I will look forward to that. That was a great idea to find the middle… 🙂 Thanks again 🙂

  4. Hi, Thank you for the post of these wonderful book folding items. I am new to this and would like to know if you have all of the alphabet letters that you could posts. I’m sorry if this sounds greedy but thought I would ask. Thanks you either way and have a great day. Can’t wait to try these. bought books at the library book sale.

    • I did post two complete alphabets and have had a specific request for another one, which I hope to sort out today. Have you looked at the menu item at the very top for Folded Books? Links to all the posts are in there!

      cheers

      MA

  5. Hi, I love your site, thank you for keeping it! I would like to use the middle template for the word “love” but the pdf that opens only show the first one. Could you help me to get that, it is such a beautiful font, best one i’ve seen.

    Tiina from Finland

  6. Hi. I’m just new to paper folding. The templates you provide work great. My question is do you leave pages between each letter or how do you distinguish between and I and a H if side by side. Thanks Bette

  7. Hi all, As a newby could I ask the following question. If I am folding a single page (say for the letter “C”) do I do both lots of fold on the same page or one fold each on the next two pages.If done on the same page do I need to cut the page through the middle.

    • If you haven’t already, you really need to click on Book Folding at the very top and check out the posts linked there. What you are talking about is what I call ALTERNATING FOLDS. This is when you have a letter like a C or S that has two sets of black lines on the same vertical. You have to alternate the folds, top of C on the first page, bottom of the C on the 2nd page, next top of C on the 3rd page, next bottom of C on the 4th pages, etc etc till you complete the letter. It is impossible to do more than one fold on a full page. It IS possible to do the cut&fold method or do the method where you slice the page into sections (for multi-line designs) and if you search for cut&fold you will see samples of that.
      HTH

      MA

  8. Hi! This is amazing!
    Do you have a downloadable template for ’21’ or ’21st’.
    If really like to make a gift for a birthday!
    Thank you!!
    Jen

  9. how many pages will we need for the first LOVE template?

    • Why I won’t tell you how many pages you need can be found here https://scrappystickyinkymess.wordpress.com/2016/01/17/book-folding-why-i-wont-count-them-out/

      You can go back to my blog post for info on how to calculate the page count. https://scrappystickyinkymess.wordpress.com/folded-book-templates/ has links to two different posts for how to do this. Be careful to count the alternating folds correctly!

      Once you know HOW to count it’s not hard, just tedious 🙂 There are people who can make you a template and will tell you the exact number of pages but they will charge you for it. I recently bought the Bookami software that does that but I am not selling the templates, I just got it for me. 🙂

      • I agree it is tedious to count the folds but it definitely helps with the end result. I have found that now I count twice just to be on the safe side. I have seen the word hope in your templates but wondered if you have the breast cancer ribbon symbol that could be put at the front and back of the word hope. Your ideas are great as usual.
        Thanks Bette

        • I had that kicking around from one I made with the Diabetes awareness butterfly on the top. Not sure if it’s helpful or not, no one eve used it to my knowledge, but if it works, use it!

          MA

  10. Hi, I haven’t long started to do book folding, mainly for work as part of our window displays. I’m looking to do something for Remembrance day, any chance you could make a template of a poppy?

    • I’ve had a look at various poppy images and the problem is there is no real way to create a template that is going to fold and make sense. Either it is a block of red with an open centre or an outline – neither will look good from a book folding standpoint. It MIGHT work with a cut&fold, where you could do a template for a line drawing, but even so I would have no way to know for sure that it will look good in the end. It might work to try to create shading by folding the petals to different levels but that is pretty complicated stuff to try to explain without doing it first – I know in theory what might work, but no time to do it to test it out.

      I’ll think on it and if I figure out anything useful, I’ll post it 🙂

      • I think I have become addicted to book folding and my friends are all getting one. I’ve had good success using your alphabet templates but now am trying to do a 2 line book fold and not sure how to get my spacing right. I wondered if you could do a template that says Caledonia Fair in two lines probably in a plain font. I managed to find an old book with over 900 pages and hope to make it work. Thanks for all your great ideas
        Bette

        • I have simply not had the time to go back to the multi-line folding idea. But it is easy enough to do a 2 line template. With a book that big it should work for a couple of short words, but with that long a word I am just not sure. I’ll send it, you can count it out, and see. Watch for it.

  11. How many pages? Folds?

  12. How meant Pages for the paw print

    • You need to count the lines. You can see links to the instructions for doing that, and why I won’t do it for you, in the menu at the top.
      Sorry

      • Hi. I was just wondering if you have done a three line book fold. I managed to find a couple books with over 1000 pages and thought I might try. Would it be possible for you to do templates in a plain font for me to try. I wanted to try home sweet home and live love laugh. As usual your blogs are extremely helpful and I look forward to your new posts .
        Thanks again for all your great ideas.
        Bette

        • Nope, never done one. There are a some tutorials for multi-line books, where your slice the book into thirds, maybe an inch or so from the spine, then fold each section as if it were a one-line one. I can easily do you a 3-line template but then you either have to tell me the height of the book (for placement) or cut the template apart and use each line singly. I am pretty sure a 3 line template won’t work as alternating folds – imagine you have an e fall over a b which falls over an k. You might have like 9 pages between the first fold of the e and the next one! That is never going to look good IMHO.

          Back to you then….

          MA

          • I am going to try it if you don’t mind sending me a template. The book I have is 23 cm. It will either turn out awesome or I have wasted some time and a $1 for the book. Thanks again.
            Bette

  13. i need help with the paw print pattern is it a fold and cut. and wen u come to a line with aulty folds in it witch one do u do first

    • You can use it as a fold and cut or as a fold only. It should work for both. You might want to fold both the black lines and the white lines between, depending on how fat you want it to look.

      If you mean alternating folds,it doesn’t matter if you do the top ones or the bottom ones first, just be consistent. ALWAYS do the top first or ALWAYS do the bottom first.

      HTH
      MA

  14. Im trying to do your bride and groom cut and fold, first how do i wok out what page to start on and all so the numbers lined out on the page is that how many lines there are

      • i am doing the bride and groom cut and fold the book im using has 405 pages i found someone ells that told u how to worked out what page to start on but i have not even finished the bride and im nearly out of pages i do not know what i have done wrong can u please help me im lost.

        how many pages do i need and i have folded evry other page should i have done that that what i seen others do in so lost

        • You should never start till you have done the counting to see how many pages you need. And the counting is different for cut&fold and for pure folding. I’m not sure you will be able to salvage the book you started. If you read the post it tells you how to count. If I had to guess I would think you are counting the pages by looking at the numbers on the page. That is not correct. Each page has a number n the front and a number on the back. So that means you 405 page book is really only 202 PAGES. That is why you have run out. Sorry to say you will have to find a bigger book and start again!

          Sorry

          MA

          • how many pages do i need for your bride and groo desighn

          • I have said probably 20 times in posts (and am fairly sure I added the link explaining to another comment from you) that I WILL NOT count out designs. I am as prone to mistakes as anyone and I refuse to be responsible for ruining someone’s project if I count wrong. If YOU count wrong then that is a different matter. There are plenty of people who will do a design for you and sell you a PDF that has all the pages counted out, if you really don’t want to do it yourself. I do the templates for free, but it is just the template. The counting is up to you.

  15. I have bee looking at your artwork for over an hour and can’t stop. 🙂
    I would love to do a shamrock or 4 leaf clover.
    Have you ever tried either?

  16. Have you got a butterfly template please

  17. Not sure if you received my request yesterday…. I have two sisters that are celebrating their bdays very soon and I would appreciate if you would send me a template that reads their names Lisa and Rosie. I appreciate your kindness and can’t wait to see what other templates you have in store for your followers

  18. Do you have a Thank you template available? I have tried using the alphabet creating the word myself but would likethe ‘you’ on a second row below ‘thank’ and it doesn’t seem to work out for me!

    • Two level templates like that will require either a really really long book (due to all the alternating folds) or it being done as a cut&fold. I can do it but you will need to count very carefully to make sure you know hoe big the book needs to be!

  19. Do you have a template for ‘Thank you’ ideally with the ‘you’ below the work ‘Thank’ in any font. Many Thanks in advance.

  20. Would you mind creating a template for me with the word “sister”? Thanks!

  21. Would you be willing to create a “sister” template for me, my soster’s birthday is coming up in about a week and I am desperate to find a template!

  22. Thank you SO much for this website! I spent at least two and a half hours last night looking for a template to make a book folding project that says “READ” and I could only ever find ones that cost money! I’m a librarian in an elementary school and was looking for ways to decorate on a low budget and thanks to your generosity I can make these awesome creations! You do a wonderful thing by providing these templates for free. Not many people would be willing to do that — everyone is looking to make money any way they can. Thank you so much for your generosity!! It is very much appreciated!

  23. Can you create a Myers, Tilley, Dickens and Jones templates for me. I hope it is not asking too much. Just use your judgement on the font. I am just starting this new hobby and can’t wait to get started on these names. Thank you and they are no rush

    • For new folders I usually use a very plain blocky font, so it is easiest to fold. Watch for them in your inbox and if you don’t see them check your spam folder!

  24. I have tried a couple of your templates and simply love them. Thanks so much for sharing these. I noticed one lady asked you for a family template. I tried contacting her To see if she would share but have not received a response.
    Would You happen have the one u may have sent her.? Not too fussy on the font style. Any style would be appreciated.

  25. Could I bother you to do some templates for me…i am new to book folding…so you can use any font you want
    I need patterns for words volim te, samo ti, oko moje, jedina, udaj se za mene, mama, tata….
    I hope its not too much to ask

    Thank you for your help
    Una from Bosnia

    • It is a bit much – I am limiting people to THREE requests at the moment so I can spread out the time I have between all the people who request stuff. I also see that you want the Bosnian alphabet via email request so I’ll do that. The templates I do won’t be in the Bosnian alphabet so that will be better!

  26. I am so thankful I found your site! I am new at this and realize it is hard to find free templates. I want to make a birthday gift for my mom, and wondered if there are any birthday theme templates you have already done that I have not found??? Thanks so much!!

    • Not sure what you mean by birthday themed? The word or an image or the year/age? Lots of people ask for just a date, but if you have an image in mind, tell me and I can see what I can do 🙂

      • Thanks for your speedy reply! I was thinking an image, like a cake, balloons, party hat, or something like that…not specific any one person…that way I can reuse the same pattern for many birthdays : )

  27. Hi, I’m just new to this. You are very clever. I was just wondering about the elaborate heart pattern. I would love to try it. Do I cut the parts that dont have lines. If I do how far in from the side of the book page do I do it.

  28. Hi could you please do me a couple of names for my granddaughters.. Daisie and Scarlett
    I think bold type would do well as one is three and the other not born yet. Thanks

  29. Sorry I forgot to add a dinosaur for my grandson. A T Rex or something like would be great. I can’t wait to do these

  30. I have never done a book fold before but would love to do a daschund for a friend. Would you be able to help me with a fairly simple one please?
    Many thanks in advance

  31. I have a request for an unusual symbol. An interrobang (the combination of a question mark and exclamation mark, preferably one that looks like the this: https://www.flickr.com/photos/74105777@N00/6844316321

    I love your posts! thank you so much for these lessons in book folding.

  32. Hi..complete newbie here. I’ve done 1 book fold with the pattern listed with marking points.
    I’m intersted in trying your ‘mum’ template so any tips woukd be greatful. Reading a few previous comments I need to count the lines (black lines?) To find the total folds?? For the pages? And count 2 pages when the line covers the letter at 2 points??? Am I on the right track? Ha x

  33. Can you tell me how wide a vertical line is? (Each of the black or white stripe.)

    Thank you.

  34. Hi. Just wondering if you could do a template with the shape of a maple leaf with 150 inside it kinda like the hearts with numbers or a 2 line template with Canada 150. Thanks as always for all your great ideas.

  35. Hi,
    Im loving all your designs and templates I want to use them as decorations and table numbers at my wedding but wondering if there is a template for numbers as words ie one, two, three etc?
    Also anything for Mrs & Mrs? Im probably being lazy but I don’t think my fiancé will appreciate being Mr in our relationship.

    Thank you

    Beckie

    • Congrats to you and I will send you a Mrs & Mrs template! Also can make the numbers but how many tables? and what font?

      🙂

      • Thank you, all very exciting. 18 months to go…. Luckily by the sounds of the time consuming folding!! 6 tables (nice and small) looking at you’re fonts page I think lobster two or black chancery please. We having an elegant feel to to day.

  36. I’m wondering if you have ever done. Book folding of a dashhounds face

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

