scrappystickyinkymess

Book folders – you will love this!

1 Comment

Hi all.  I have an iPad holder on the treadmill and I have been walking on it religiously at least 5 days a week.  It is so BORING, I tend to watch YouTube videos for things like yarn dyeing with Wilton’s food colouring (I’ll add some photos of the three pairs of socks knitted with my hand-dyed yarn at some point) or previous seasons of The Walking Dead.  But the other day I had a book folding on pop up, maybe because I searched for a video to add for a commenter?) and it was a gem.  I had seen inverted book folding or cut and fold books before, but they were all to accompany patterns that were of the buy, measure and make method. THIS video clearly shows that my templates work for this style of book!

I took one of my templates and used it to fold this heart – well, half a heart, anyway.

inverted

close up

2inverted

I was so excited to try it, that I didn’t take photos.  But I will do a proper post that explains it.  I think some people will be able to get all they need from the video, but I also know lots of people like things all laid out simply, with examples.  I have to dash off to the Dr.s today, and I am out of books I am willing to sacrifice, so I’ll need to acquire a few more.

What I like about this method is that you need only count the lines, no matter how many interruptions there are, and the alternating folded pages give the design a more defined look.  I wonder if the alternating folds might be brought to standard book folding?  Something to play with.

Sorry if this feels like a tease.  I was just SO EXCITED to see the video and make it work, and that my designs work with this method too, I just had to share it.  So someone out there will probably read this, go back and grab a design, and give it a go. If you do PLEASE please please share it with me!!

Have fun!

One thought on “Book folders – you will love this!

  1. Pingback: Cut & Fold book folding – how to | scrappystickyinkymess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

