scrappystickyinkymess

More Freebie Book Folding!

34 Comments

I had a request for some READ templates, which is pretty popular – it’s a nice simple word to fold, and makes a great gift or decoration. Lots of the request mention they are from Librarians or for Libraries.  I thought I would start of with this on, as I update some of the original book folding templates.

Let me explain.  When I started, I would sometimes suggest to people that they might fold both the BLACK LINES and the WHITE SPACE between, in order to get a nice fat full looking word.  But having done it, I know that is hard on the eyes.  I also know it is possible to fold just the black lines and still get a credible design.  But fatter is better in this case, so instead I started s t r e t c h ing the word to create more lines,  When folded the design looks in proportion.

readsample

This PDF has all 8 versions.  Just print the page you want.  There is a mix – some scripty, some blocky and a couple that are rather childlike.

You might be able to see some areas where the lines look darker, overlapped or outlined.  This may depend on the quality of your monitor.  If you see it on the screen, don’t worry.  It doesn’t appear when you print.

corrections

What you MIGHT see on some words is an area where the lines don’t print fully.  That seems to happen most with text on a slant.  It is easy enough to fix – find the area (see it there between the a and the d in Habano ST font? Very slanted!)

2corrections

and connect the line with a pen. Low tech solution for sure.

3corrections

Remember the lines DO NOT tell you how many pages you need for your template, they are to help with the counting. Be sure to go back to my blog post for info on how to calculate the page count.  https://scrappystickyinkymess.wordpress.com/folded-book-templates/ has links to two different posts for how to do this. Be careful to count the alternating folds correctly!

Why I won’t tell you how many pages you need can be found here https://scrappystickyinkymess.wordpress.com/2016/01/17/book-folding-why-i-wont-count-them-out/

34 thoughts on “More Freebie Book Folding!

  1. Hey! This is absolutely amazing!! I am new to book folding, but I think it is so much fun! I was just wondering if you could make a design that says, “UGLYs” That is the name of a small business in my town, and I think they would love one. Thank you so much!!

    Like

  2. Hi there! Are you still doing templates for people? I’ve been meaning to do this for years, but never seem to have the time. You website is fabulous. Thank you for taking the time to explain how you do things.
    I’d like the name Mary in Black Chancery if you have the time. Thanks again for all that you do.

    Like

  3. I am a senior citizen that has come across book folding and love it. I am reading everything I can to learn plus trying to figure out how to make patterns. Would you please make me a template for Smith in the easiest font I would deeply appreciate it. I will continue to read so I may learn more. Thank You

    Like

  4. Hello

    Wondering if I can still request a template?

    Like

      • So sorry I missed ur reply! Busy life during the week. When, if you can, please send me these names. Kasey, Kaitlyn , Salvona I trust you to choose the font. I posted a previous request but not sure if it was received.

        Thank you for all your time and energy that you so freely give to all of us! U Truly are Amazing! 🙂

        Like

  5. I’m looking to make these for my daughter and her 3 teaching partners. I was wondering if you could make me the word teach in Bernard (or something similar) for books with 574 pages? The read templates where you stretched the words out had too many folds, but the original read templates worked perfect! Thank you so much! Your site is terrific!

    Like

    • I don’t make templates for specific sized books. There are people who do that but they will charge you for the templates – find them on facebook. It’s a trade off 🙂 I send you one for free, you count the pages and find a book that fits. Sorry.

      Like

  6. Hello! I think you are amazing! I can’t wrap my head around how this all works (so much for an advanced university degree). I would kind of like to try a Read template, the Black Chancery is my favorite. I’m the director of a small library in the United States (love the “Oh dear. Too late,” btw), so I have access to tons of used hardcover books.
    I just can’t seem to understand the way the designs are created or how to use the templates.
    I would love to use this as a craft for adults and kids to do at home, since we cannot do this at the library safely.
    Can you help me understand it?

    Like

  7. Could you do Dream in Black Chancery

    Like

  8. Bonjour, bravo pour ce que vous faites, j’adore… serait-ce possible d’avoir les alphabets en mik script et gelato script?
    Hello, well done for what you do, I love … would it be possible to have the alphabets in mik script and gelato script?
    Thanks

    Like

    • Sorry, I don’t really do the alphabets as requests. Happy to do up to three words for you but the alphabets take a lot more time. I will keep it in mind and let you know if I find I have a chance and make them, but I will have to look back at other alphabet requests first if I decide to do it. I might have had requests for one or the other of them before and if so, that is where I will start!

      Like

  9. This was very helpful and helped me improve considerably.
    If you happen to sill send templates, may I please have ‘Star Wars’ in writing?
    If not, is there a trusted Website you would recommend ?

    Like

  10. Please could you send me a template for a cut and fold hot air balloon. Thank you

    Like

  11. Thank you for your great advice and wonderful templates! I just finished my first ever book folding project thanks to you!
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/eMJgSxmQaof3frv87

    Like

  12. Can you pls send me templates on yolanda, jennifer. Zeke and $oniaMarie. My cildrens name. Awsome work tyvm

    Like

  13. Would please love a pattern using Helvetica Neue font and the name Kate.

    Like

  14. Please let me know if I can still request templates.

    Like

  15. This is awesome! I really want to learn how to do this!

    Like

  16. I know you make it sound easy……but it still amazes me!!

    Like

  17. Thanks for this READ. I’ve not tried folding yet but love to read your blog. This one is probably the one for me to begin with as I’ve always thought it would be a great gift for the school librarian.

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.