scrappystickyinkymess

Another book folding alphabet – and a new idea!

23 Comments

Note:  The lower case e was missing but it’s now there!

So I got a request for an alphabet the other day.  Easy enough to sort out.  It’s called Black Chancery and is available from DaFont.

I made a PDF of all the characters (a-z, upper and lower case) plus the numbers and some groupings, like st, nd, rd, and th.  I also added a & and a heart.  You should be able to use it to create your own words, by cutting and pasting, either digitally  or with actual scissors and glue. You can grab that here.

blogdivider

As I was doing this, I thought again about how to enable people to make their own templates.  I had played around with creating a sheet of just lines back in May, when I first started playing with this, thinking people could use it to “fill” a font shape, or convert it to a fill pattern for PSE or somehow make use of it. In the end, it just seems too hard to explain, especially given all the different programs people might have access to.  As I was working on these, it occurred to me that you really didn’t need to fill the font.  You just needed the lines.  So I went a different way.  I created a sheet of lines with the idea that you could print your word, in black, OVER the lines and use the black part to determine the folds!

All you need to do is create the word you want to use.  Determine the HEIGHT of it and don’t mess with that – if you have an 8 inch book, a four-inch to five-inch high word is what you need.  Then, however you do it in your program, s t r e t c h  it widthwise so each letter will cross more lines. In my sample widthhwise in top to bottom, cause I oriented it as the paper goes in the printer.


screensmile

The sheet of lines has just over 160 lines. Print it – it’s A4 size but should be OK on US letter for many words. Grab it here.

The gaps you see are actually red lines – I added them every 10th line to help with the counting.

Print your font on the sheet of lines.  printsmile

Basically, you are going to slip the template into the book, exactly as you would as explained in the original post. Line up the lines with the edge of the page.  You will then use the black of the font to determine the fold lines.  I’ve marked all three fold-points on one sheet – obviously you don’t do that, but I just want you to be able to see what I mean.

lines

You can either mark the line on the template after you’ve folded it, or if you need to step away, note the page of the book the line corresponds to, so it’s easier when you come back to it.

If you have a super complicated word, with lots of multi-folds (like the S above, which has 3 areas that must be folded one per book-page, in sequence, top, middle, bottom) then you could print across multiple sheets, a couple of letters on each sheet.  The sample font is not actually a very good one for this sort of thing.  Pick your font wisely!

MAKE SURE you read the post that explains the basic steps, and especially calculating the number of pages by sheet (not by number printed on the book!) so you don’t waste your time.  But I think it will work,  I just haven’t had a lot of time (or an appropriate book) to test it out.  I might need to pack the lines closer together, so the word doesn’t need to be stretched, but I fear that may make them harder to focus on.  Anyone want to give it a go and let me know?

{wink}

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Another book folding alphabet – and a new idea!

  1. I just want you to know how much I appreciate all this help! Thank you!!

  2. Hi. Thank you so so much for the alphabet. You are so kind. 🙂 Now I will see, if I can make some words 🙂 Thanks again. 🙂

  3. Well, here I go again. I’m not used to work with adope pdf files, so how do I cut and past? :/

    • I can’t really answer that – it will depend on the program you are using. If you have Photoshop Elements, you just open the PDF and open a new blank file. Select the letters on the PDF, copy, then paste them into the new file, til you have added all the letters for your word. Then align them and save. The print. One thing you can’t do is resize them.

      HTH. I may have to do a post explaining this further, but at the moment PSE is only on my old machine and hard to access.
      MA

  4. Pingback: Some guidance for using the book-folding alphabets…. | scrappystickyinkymess

  5. Been looking everywhere for something like this so my kiddo can make her own designs. You’re a hero, thanks so much!!

  6. I love the Black Chancery font and would like to use, however the lower case “e” seems to be hiding somewhere! Any idea where it might be? Thanks for your wonderful abilities!

    • Hiding indeed. It was actually AFTER the d but outside the border of the PDF. I’ve shifted it to a bit of an empty space so the set is complete!

      Thanks for letting me know and sorry for the brain fade.

      MA

  7. Pingback: Book folding lines | scrappystickyinkymess

  8. Pingback: Sharing request results | scrappystickyinkymess

  9. how do you do the dot on a j ,i? by the way i am doing this as a hobby not to sellx

  10. Thank you so much for doing this! You have made it possible for everyone to enjoy book folding, your explanations are clear and you have worked hard to make it easy for us! YOU ARE AWESOME!!!

  11. Just wanted to say, Thank you so much!

  12. Can you make a TCU and Texas Tech logo ? I want the letters to look like what TCU uses and the double “T”logo for Texas Tech.

  13. so happy i found your site now to find more templates t help with my projects

  14. do you have templates for like birds or animals or looking for a husky and german shepherd but i can’t one

  15. Thank you so much for your help. Been looking for a line guide for a while now since doing Book Folding ( still learning) I was drawing the words & drawing lines over the words….. Took a while but managed a couple !! Now it will be easier Thanks to you.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

