scrappystickyinkymess

AJ – Page 18 and another mess to tackle

Leave a comment

Page 18 is another quick one. Another gel print I found while sorting, another one I really love, and as it is also brown, I dithered. Do I use the page beside the other brown one?

I mean, it works there and it looked not as good near another colourful page. Here the two pages kinda support each other. So I added a range of distress inks in 50 shades of poo, as Julia might say, and that worked to make it less like the background gel print was simply plonked down on the page, even if that is exactly what I did.

From there it was adding the text and another thing I don’t use very often, a paper doll. I have a huge envelope full of them so I really do need to use them up.

The text, the little girl holding the roses, with a bit of a dour expression on her face, the background print…they all work together beautifully. To me.

Lastly another shameful admission – one book case off to the back, that houses my cardmaking stuff. It has not been touched in the tidy up and it really really needs sorting out. And then I need to pause the art journaling till I replenish my stash of cards! I had three (female) friends all needing cards (birthday and Christmas combined) and an anniversary, and I am so low stash-wise if I don’t pull my finger out and get making it might end up being {gasp!} store bought cards! Eek!

Some of those magazine files I have had since Dear Son was a baby, and they are super tattered and flimsy. I really want to get some decent ones that all match. If I had enough same sized decent boxes I would make them myself, but I want them all the same size and colour – for a change. They don’t have to be pretty, just uniform.

I should mention that I made the decision to finally close down UKScrappers. Forums have gone the way of the dinosaurs and very few (die-hard!) fans use it. I have been struggling with my condition and the blog and my art journaling is therapy, in a way running UKS never was. So the time has come. I’ll be sad to see it go, but also feel like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders. It’s been lovely reading all the comments people have made about how UKS impacted their lives, how they made lifelong friends there and how, for some, it helped get them thru some very dark times. If that is it’s legacy, I’m happy with that!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.