scrappystickyinkymess

SDC84 – Love art

5 Comments

Not done the SDCs for a few weeks but had an idea when I saw this one.  I was itching to do some stamping, after spending so much time getting organized (no, not done quite yet – got sidetracked!) and one of the stamps I re-discovered was a tiny Stampotique one, that had found its way into a wrong box. More on that in a minute.  I wanted to do more t-shirt transfer art and at first I thought I would use THIS image, and sew on the little charm, to get the LOVE requirement in there.

SDC84

You probably can’t tell but the image was stamped on the t-shirt transfer paper, then painted with Distress In and water (not too wet!) then I cut him out.

SDC84a

The more I looked at him, and the charm, the more I thought first, that the charm, sewn on, was always going to rattle in the washer (no dryer with t-shirt transfers!) and annoy me.  Second, I thought the BOY image wasn’t what I really wanted.  I played around with one of the BIG HEADS but the one I liked best had lots of wispy hairs, so not ideal for close trimming.

Then I remembered the little men-on-sticks.   I just love this stamp for some reason, and I guess the last time I used it I just stuck it with with my box of homemade stamps, rather than putting it in the drawer with the other Stampotique ones.  Lucky I was sorting and organizing stamps or it could have been months before I stumbled on it!  I did the same as I have done before, inked and stamped and painted, on a circle.  Sequin waste smudges, then I printed the text (reversed) right on it.

SDC84b

It worked OK, although I think I could have made the text slightly bigger for better readability.  Can you see it says LOVE ART – MAKE ART – WEAR ART?  – that’s how I got the LOVE bit in there!

And on the shirt? Just a small circle near the neck. The circle is only about 2 inches so it’s quite small.  And the framing is wonky, not the iron-on, I promise!

SDC84c

So that’s my crafty fix for the day – now I have to get back to the sorting and filing.

5 thoughts on “SDC84 – Love art

  1. wow. sigh. Now I want to read every single post on your blog. sigh. I though I might be in trouble when I saw this:
    Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess
    where, sometimes, technology & scrapbooking collide
    yea, I am. Bits at a time….

    Like

    • You really ARE reading them all! 🙂 I am pleased you found me and like what you see. But I am probably better in small doses LOL!

      Cheers for all your comments!

      Mary Anne

      Like

  2. what a great idea, I love it. Thank you for playing along with the Stampotique challenge this week. x

    Like

  3. This is fantastic – great idea!! (might have to lift this ;O). Thank you for joining in with us over at Stampotique. Polly x

    Like

  4. What a great piece of artwork! Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.