scrappystickyinkymess

Stamp re-org – so close!

9 Comments

I am so very close to being done!  I need to print some labels for the binders and boxes and finish up stamping my wooden stamps.  I decided NOT to stamp certain ones – like I have a whole drawer of little scenic elements (tufts of grass, sandy hills, rocks in a stream, etc) and I know I would want to look at ALL of them so I don’t see the point of stamping them to add to different sections of the binders because I am very unlikely to use them unless I am stamping a scene. I also have a very small pile of unmounted stamps that I need to mount. Otherwise, I am done.

Here is my revised shelf with the binders:

stampbinders2

I’ll do the labels for each binder – what I have is three of stamps and one smaller one of text and sentiments. I still have my boxes, too – one with my stamp tool stamps (like the Stamp Around the Page stamps, and the stupid roller stamp think from Fiskars – god I hate that and wish I had never spent the money on it but can’t bring myself to throw it out or sell it on.  I just use the stamp sheets on a mount), one with all my STEAMPUNK images, and one with all my texture/background stamps.  You can see them above the CD cases in the photo. The CD cases have stamp sets or groupings that I don;t use often, like the Mona or Alice stamps.  The big backgrounds are all in a group, like my 6 x 6 overall patterns.

stampbinders

The baseball card sleeves worked a treat for this!  I can immediately see like text and I have grouped them in ways that make sense to me.

I also have stamped MOST of my wood mounts.  I grouped them too, but where there were stamps that went together I added the pair.  For example, you can see I have the little monk trimming something. He is one the sheet with the MEN and also on the sheet that has the nuns. Likewise Bald Bill has Bald Hillary stamped next to him – just to remind me they are a matched set.

stampindex1

I am also grouping things on the sheet – I feel comfortable doing this with the wood mounts because I KNOW it is very unlikely that I will buy many more of this sort of stamp in the future.  That makes me less concerned about “fitting in” new stamps that belong with an existing group. So for example, I often use the three crying girls together, so they are together on the sheet.

stampindex2

When I have a set of stamps I am stamping them in a group, like the Gorey set at the top here.

stampindex

I still have my alphas in a drawer.  I thought about stamping a sample (maybe just A B C 1 2 3) and putting them in a binder, but again, it seems pointless.  I would still go to the drawers and look at them.  I’ve grouped them by SIZE where I can as that seems like it would be the criteria for choosing an alphabet.

stampalphas

I also have all my Stampotique stamps in one large drawer.  No need to change that, based on how I use them.

Now I just have to decide if I want to tackle the mounting NOW or put it off for a bit.  Having touched virtually every stamp I own, I am more anxious to USE them.

Phew.  That was exhausting, but very very satisfying!

 

9 thoughts on “Stamp re-org – so close!

  1. Love some of your funky stamps!

  2. Glad to hear that you are making progress. You have so many stamps!!! I just started collecting stamps because those that were available were too expensive and there really wasn’t much of a choice. But alas! Micheals just opened in the area in September (actually about 15 km from here) so I did get some on a sale. I too found it not worth stamping the alphas. However, I promised myself next time I will use my stamps, I will stamp them on the sheet or what while you are stamping now, you can stamp a few on an extra sheet to be used at a later time. Saves on ink too!! (except maybe if you want it embossed, then it’s not a good idea!! Have a good day!

  3. Brava! Am jealous, but you had a great idea that I should follow!

  4. OMW! What an amazing job done! I started January 2012 and am still at it (well, truthfully, not much more done since then!) Stuff just gets in the way….
    You must be feeling so proud of yourself, and so you should.
    Hugz

  5. I’m so thrilled for you that you are nearly done. Wish I were! This looks so neat & tidy, and well organized so that you can find things.I may be able to one day reach neat & tidy, it’s gonna be a toss-up about the finding once I’m tidy! (speaking from past experience LOL). This is so inspirational & thanks for the pictures showing what & how.

  6. You should be rightly proud of yourself. I started a little today but I can see it taking me far longer than you with all I have on the go just now… it’s a goal nonetheless1
    thanks for the inspiration and groundwork you’ve done.
    Jo x

  7. I have been doing this in spurts. I work at it for awhile, then have to let it rest awhile. I’ve made a stamp index of all my stamp sets. I stamped one set per page, put in page protector, and into a binder. Individual stamps, I stamped on a page by category (birthday, valentine, Christmas, etc.) Because I can’t bear to physically break up my sets(yet), I’ve also got a binder that I’ve stamped all the images from the sets and individual stamps, breaking them into categories (holidays, sentiments, nature, etc.) I use the baseball card pages for these. I’ve marked each individual image with the company, set name, stamp type(wood mount, cling mount, clear), so I know where to find them. I really don’t have any numbering or coding system with them at this point. Right now I’m not seeing a need for it. I’m hoping it will be easier to go to my category binder and find just the image I’m looking for. If I should ever decide to actually split up my sets, the stamp-index- by-set will help me in re-assembling the set, if I should ever decide to get rid of it. This is a work in progress. Once I’m finally done indexing all my “old” sets, adding new purchases won’t be so daunting if I am diligent, and index them right away.

  8. Thank you for sharing how you have found best to store your stamps. It was very brave of you! That is a job that I’ve been working on for quite a while. I keep gettint distracted! My poor craft room. Anyway, it’s nice to go through all your stamps just to remind yourself what you do have! Thanks, again!

    Kristy Tyra

  9. I like what you’ve done! A suggestion for the alphas: use your printer to copy them, or take photos and print on cardstock. The chunky square sets worked better with photos, that flatter ones were easy to scan/print. It went really fast once I started. Hope that helps.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

