scrappystickyinkymess

SDC74 – Nature

11 Comments

Once again I found the idea for the SDC leap into my head.  I had pinned something ages ago about making fabric leaves, as well as an Etsy seller who make the leaves with photos on.  Never got around to actually doing it, but as soon as I saw the challenge I knew that it was just the ticket.  I ironed the fabric on to some freezer paper and sent it thru my printer to get the text.  Using a stamp-positioner I stamped the Stampotique tree.  I cut a second leaf shape (using the X-Cut largest leaf die) and sandwiched a wire in between.  I coloured in the stamp with coloured pencils, and coloured the ivy leaves I pulled off a garland, so they were more autumnal.  I smudged on a bit of Distress INk (Tumbled glass for the sort of sky colour and Forest Moss (which you can’t really see under the leaves.)  I also stamped and cut the pumpkin.  The whole thing is clamped in a binder clip, covered in Washi Tape, then the leaves and the raffia got stuck on – a few strand of raffia shoot up along the sides just for a bit of extra interest.  I tried my darndest to work in some hearts (“in love with the ground” and all that) but I just didn’t like any of the experiments so in the end I left them off.  The top of the binder clip becomes the base that stands the piece up.

….and a little closer

I figure pumpkins are fall/autumn not just Halloween, and it gave me a nice jolt of colour – I also really like the look of the coloured pencils on the fabric ivy.  That actually worked a whole lot better than I expected it to.  Bright red, yellow, orange, and brown leaves would have been too colourful, I think, but the waxy pencil over the dark green toned it down quite a bit.  I may add another pumpkin, the taller, thinner one from the cube, not sure.

11 thoughts on “SDC74 – Nature

  1. Really stunning…. Thank you for joining us at Stampotique

    Like

  2. Great composition! Veru clever!

    Like

  3. WOW! How clever.. absolutely beautiful. Off for another look.. Thank you for joining the Stampotique Designer’s Challenge. Gez.

    Like

  4. Wow, this is stunning! I love the leaf and the embellishments you used for it. What a beautiful centerpiece this would make. Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.

    Like

  5. This looks so fab! Thanks for joining us at Stampotique. XOXO

    Like

  6. This is such a lovely creation. Thanks for joining us at Stampotique again.

    Like

  7. Love this

    Like

  8. Oh woow, your project is amazing! Love the idea.
    Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.
    Magda 🙂

    Like

  9. What a wonderful project! i love how it turned out.

    Like

  10. How lovely, just wish I knew what freezer paper is as I would love to try this

    Like

  11. WOW this is so wonderful, what a beauty! I love it. Thanks for joining the Stampotique DC

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.