scrappystickyinkymess

SDC65 – Color (mustard, orange and navy)

15 Comments

Blame it on WOYWW. While hopping across desks yesterday I spotted a Stampotique image.  Now, a while back I ALWAYS did the Stampotique Challenge.  I loved every project I made with them.  If we were going back to the States, or someone coming over, I took advantage of the free shipping deals within the US and got a LOAD of stamps at once.  But it’s been a while, and life got way too manic and I sort of let it slide.  But in order to link to something in my Stampotique Projects page, I had to look at them all.  It made me realize how much I missed the challenges – they really were just about the only ones I ever did.  I mean, I see some blogs where people do a card and include a list of all the challenges they are using it for.  I’m not that organized LOL!  THAT made me go look at the current challenge.  Which go me thinking about other cards I wanted to try making, which led me to the Joy Fold card.  I have birthday cards on my mind (it’s Dads, Sisters, and MILs all tomorrow!) but this one is for none of them, but for my DS in January.  Just pulling open the drawer of stamps and seeing the little trio of boys made the idea pop in to my head.

As my desk was (miraculously) clean, I set aside the album and did this instead.

The little image in the corner is actually the tab that holds the front closed. It’s stuck only on the bottom half, leaving the top free to catch the flap.

and finally,

Let’s see…the font is Sybil Green, if you care, and the round images are created from the 3-heads-in-the-washing-machine stamp.  I stamped and embossed it, masking out the heads, then punched it out with a 2″ circle punch.  It added just the right extra layer.

I think I’ll do that again.

So there we go.  I noted they now allow ANY stamps, any week, which is a change from the alternating Stampotique-only/Any stamp weeks I recall (although at some point I think they went to Stampotique ONLY all the time, or do I misremember that?) so maybe, having done one, I’ll get this into my rotation again.  I enjoyed the heck out of making it.

One issue with the Joy Fold cards is they don’t really stand up very well, but I have an idea (that doesn’t require a stand added to the back) that MAY work for that and add a nifty little something to the look of it, but I’ll have to play with that and see if I can make it work reliably.  Not sure it will ever be totally stable, but we shall see.

I will get back to the album, I promise, but the next couple of days have a lot jammed in to them so bear with me.  Plus I want to use embossing folders for some bits and my GC is still broken and I’ve not yet sorted a replacement.  I have to decide on that, and soon!

15 thoughts on “SDC65 – Color (mustard, orange and navy)

  1. I love this, the sentiment of it is wonderful. Thank you for uploading it for the Stampotique challenge this week. x

    Like

  2. what a REALLY AWESOME card and I love the sentiment…boo hoo…I have 2 sons too….So happy u joined us at Stampotique!

    Like

  3. This card is so incredibly fabulous, what a wonderful idea!!! Great use of the Stampotique colors, thanks for joining us at the challenge this week!

    Like

  4. Wonderful card Mary. Thanks so much for joining in with us at Stampotique this week.

    Like

  5. I’m always amazed by people who manage to create cards that suffice for a myriad of challenges too. At most I can sneak in three. 🙂

    Love your card! Your colors are so vibrant and it’s perfect for a teen.

    Like

  6. FANTASTIC IDEA! thanks for sharing your creation at SDC

    Like

  7. wow fantastic card!

    Like

  8. Gorgeous card and welcome back MaryAnne. I hope you join us more often again.

    Like

  9. Such a great card! Love it! Happy you find the Stampotique challenge again 😀 Thank you for joining us. XOXO

    Like

  10. Wonderful card, I like teh dsign of it and great fold, never tried it! =)
    Thanks for the inspiration!
    Hugs, Elenor

    Like

  11. Fab card – I think your son will LOVE this!

    Like

  12. Oh what a beautiful card and sentiment…..it is rare that a card makes me cry but tears are flowing down my cheeks as I write this…wish I would have had it in June when it was my son’s b’day who is now 31. However, I will bookmark it for next year. Better yet, I will attempt to make it later today and keep it to be given next June. Thanks for sharing, love your posts….it is what gets me going in the morning.

    Best regards, Lillian Tremblay Montreal, Quebec Canada crafty.grandma.56@gmail.com

    Like

  13. This is fabulous, great ideas and stamping. My son is 19 and going to Uni next week so the sentiment really struck a cord with me. Thank you so much for re-finding us again at Stampotique Designers Challenge, and hope to see you again next week x

    Like

  14. I really like the card. Says it all really 🙂

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.