scrappystickyinkymess

SDC 28 – old book pages

14 Comments

Yesterday I spent with DD seeing a movie, going out to lunch, and just spending some girlie time together.  I will spend today catching up on WOYWW.  But last week I made a card for the SDC challenge, to use old book pages.  I made another one yesterday before the movie, using the same idea.  Not sure which one I like best, but I think I will go with the first.

I used an old French/English dictionary for the paper, weaving it to create the background.  Somewhere I have an old stamp that is basically a piece of raw rubber.  The idea is you stamp the image onto the bare rubber then use THAT to stamp the image, now reversed, on whatever.  It works best with ink that stays wet for a bit – Staz-on would, I suspect, dry too  quickly.  So, a dilemma.  something you want to colour needs an ink that dries and dries well,  with no reaction to Copics, for example.  While I am guessing it would be fine for something you emboss, for something you don’t I’m not sure how well it would work!  Experimentation is needed. {edited to add: so you wonder why I am blathering on about the reverse stamp LOL!  I had thought I would prefer the moon to be LOOKING at Moon Girl but the stamp isn’t that way oriented, hence the thought to reverse it!}

The second card is the same woven background, same dictionary pages, but using the blank pages from the back of the book and stamping over the weaving.  I like it, but not sure I like it as much.  The head was coloured with Distress ink and a paintbrush.  Not sure I like THAT as much as the Copics either.  But I’ll share it anyway …

Off to WOYWW now….

14 thoughts on “SDC 28 – old book pages

  1. Ooh both of these are great, but I especially like the background of the first one. What a great technique! Thanks for joining the challenge, Kate

    Like

  2. Wonderful! I love what youve done with the papers on the first card! 🙂

    Like

  3. Love the woven strips of paper. A wonderful idea.

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts on the reverse stamp too. :0)

    Thanks for joining in with us over on SDC.

    Like

  4. I love both cards…my fave is the first one with moongirl. Love the idea of the woven text paper.

    Like

  5. I really like both of them but I do love the first one and and how you quilted the newsprint. Great creations and thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.

    Like

  6. Both are unique art works, Love how different you use the news paper. Love the woven newspaper just as well as the folded stripes. Fantastic creations!
    Wish you Happy Easter,
    Anja

    Like

  7. Two fab makes yet again, love that background. Thanks for joining us at Stampotique.

    Like

  8. Wow both very inventive and gorgeous! Thanks for joining the Stampotique designer’s challenge

    Like

  9. I am liking these ideas of weaving the papers for the backgrounds and the bow. Like both. Hope you don’t mind if I borrow these ideas from you!

    Like

  10. LOVE that woven book pages background….I will be borrowing that one for sure!

    Like

  11. Love the backgrounds on both – fab idea, especially the second one – to stamp on top 🙂

    Like

  12. Love them both,but lean towards the second!

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.