scrappystickyinkymess

what Summer Means to Me box for the SDC challenge

17 Comments

I have dithered and dithered about how to do this post – should I make a post that is so heavy on images that it takes a day to load? Should I post just a taster each day and stretch it out over the week? Should I post just the tutorial on making the boxes and one image?



In the end I decided the best way is to post an overview one day, detailed shots the next and the tutorial the final day.



I am really pleased with this. Although I already did a “walled garden” card/piece for the challenge even as I was working on it the idea for this one was percolating in my brain. I took a couple of days to make, on and off, but in the end I am very happy with it.



Anyway here it is:





This is the top of the main box.  The flower is from a stamp from a Fancy Pants 12 x 12 set, stamped 3 times and separated by chipboard circles.  The stick pin is stuck thru all thee circles, daubed with glue for security, to provide both a handle for opening the box AND so Moon Girl will appear to sit within the flower and remain both strongly attached and upright. I cut a backing for her and the pin is sandwiched between the image and the backing.











I stamped her then stamped her again, this time embossing in silver, then cut just the wings, which I filled with diamond Stickles.







Each box has different Summer themed stamping – some of the boxes have quotes inside, some work together and some are separate.  The first box is Moon Girl in the flower, and the bottom of the box is decorated outside with a Picnic and inside with bugs.  I’ll show more detail tomorrow.





Box 2 is Blue Skies and inside, sun showers and a quote.



Box 3 is Sleeping in on top, a quote inside, long lazy days on the outside of the bottom and sandy beaches on the inside



The final box has a quote on the top and inside a sun made from both a Zettiology stamp and one of the skeletons in the wash (as I like to call them) with some gems and Here Comes the Sun







Somehow I think I must have used the two sheets I cut for the box between box two and box three (which should have been box four!) because the fit is much roomier than it should be. I’ll probably go back and make that additional one at some point.



What fun it was to make!



Here is a shot of most of the stamps I used:







I am def. missing the big flower but I think the rest of them are there.  I have Jo’s bees from the newest Stampotique collection on my wish list but to be honest I have been on a bit of a binge recently and will have to hold off on buying them for a bit.  Luckily I had a small foam stamp of a bee that fit.  And the Paper Artsy checkerboard worked really well for the picnic cloth, and some very old stamps of sand dunes, rippling water and little grassy clumps all helped set a scene.



So I’ll add some more detailed shots tomorrow and details of how to cut, crease and fold the boxes along with how to measure to ensure they nest properly on Wednesday.



17 thoughts on “what Summer Means to Me box for the SDC challenge

  1. What a wonderful project! Fantastic work.

    Like

  2. Owow, that is awesome!! Thanks so much for playing along with us at SDC!

    Like

  3. Loving your creations and that once you start stamping the ‘more stamps the better’ approach works for you as it does me. I hope you do manage to get a bee one day soon, I look foward to seeing what you put together with it.

    Like

  4. Oh my gorgeous much!!!? Wow, I can’t wait for the followup posts! Wow, that’s two entries for this challenge!! You go girl! LOL! I love them both!!
    Val 🙂

    Like

  5. What a great box with all the different things going on. Your stamp pile is so tidy.

    Like

  6. Great boxes!! So creative. Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.

    Like

  7. wonderful collection of boxes. so much detail and lovely colour combinations. (aren’t your stamps clean?!)

    Like

  8. What a wonderful collection of boxes, you have put so much thought into this and the detail on every piece is fantastic. Very inspiring. Tracy Evans x

    Like

  9. OMG!!!! You certainly have captured SUMMER! FABULOUS project! xxD

    Like

  10. I love every little detail of this and will be checking back to see how to make it! Thanks for joining us at SDC xxx

    Like

  11. those are super! :0)

    Like

  12. What a wonderful set of boxes. Love the big flower with moon girl. Thanks for joining us on SDC #9.

    Like

  13. Fab boxes am def gonna have a go at these!! Have been looking for some insperation for a few days for something different and now i have it! Looking forward to the tutorials 🙂

    Like

  14. oh wow these are lovely

    Like

  15. The boxes are gorgeous – I love how they are all so different yet look brilliant together

    Like

  16. WOW, WOW, WOW!
    Beautiful boxes!!! Love the big flower too – is it cut with sizzix? And of course I love the stamps aswell as the colours… I suppose you will use the boxes to collect/save things you find this summer…?

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.