scrappystickyinkymess

Book folding – single letters

6 Comments

I had a commenter ask for a Letterman-style single letter template.  I immediately thought, what a great idea! and the more I thought about it the better it became.

The basic Letterman style letter is a bold, angular letter, outlines in white, with a thin-ish border.

Like so:

 

a

You could opt to do the entire letter, with outline:

untitled

or maybe just ignore the border folds and do just the inner bit

anone

I suppose you could do just the border part and omit the middle, although I am not sure how that would look.  I can’t quite envision it, but it could end up looking pretty cool.  OR you could ignore the middle bit and fold just the outer lines  – if you doubt your ability to focus on just the outermost lines you might need to connect the lines across the white space.

outline

The only issue with doing the full outlined letter is the size of the book needed!  The A, with border, after a quick and dirty (and probably not 100% accurate, but if anything fewer pages than actually needed) count, is 600 lines – so at least a 1200 page book! I’m thinking a big old school textbook or maybe a dictionary….

Anyway, if you are game, go ahead and download the 26 page set here. Just print the letters you need then settle in with a strong cup of coffee and start counting…..

Last chance to get any requests in – I wont be able to make templates after the 12th, due to some family commitments and the holidays.

 

6 thoughts on “Book folding – single letters

  1. Do you have templates for Greek sororities and fraternities?

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Can you send me a pattern for the name Sarah in folds please and thanks

  3. HI!! When I try to open the pages for the lettering, all I get is many pages of what looks like football fields.

    • Sorry about the anxious comment…. I figured it out. I just had to download it to my PC and then save it before it would show up. I’ve got this now.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

