scrappystickyinkymess

Christmas printables – ornament card

7 Comments

{sigh}  Even I am aware that the holiday season will be upon us all too quickly.  Every year I design a card with an ornament to go with it, for DD to give out at school and at skating.  It usually takes me a while to make the 20-30 that I end up needing so I figured I should do it soon so I can work on a handful at a time. I’ve only gotten as far as the “ornament” part, not the card base yet.

10robinassembly

You can download it here.

OK so a couple of things – first the printable does NOT have 2014 on it.  But I had already printed a sheet of that version and took photos of the assembly, and wasn’t going to do it all again.  Instead, I created a back that has the date and a greeting on it:

backer

I still have the PDF with 2014 on the front, like you see in the photo, so if you REALLY love that one for some reason, drop a comment on me and I can probably add it.

You will note that the bits have a digitally inked edge.  You can still dust it with ink to make it more obvious but you don’t HAVE to. Also, the print out has feet.  A note about them – they are always going to be prone to catching and ripping, even if you print them on heavy card.  I left them because if you wanted to paper-piece the robin as a card topper you might want to use them, but my recommendation for the ornament is to skip them.

11robinassembly

Looking at them you can see they are basically a couple of upside down Vs – if you REALLY want to use them,  if you have an appropriate letter die you might make life easy and just cut a pile of them to stick on, or draw them on or anything else you can think of.

The large circle fits a 2″ circle punch.  Various other dies will work – test what you have.  you might lose a smidge of the inked edge, or have a small white halo, but it’ll still probably look fine.

robinassembly

You can cut the wings by lining up one side with your 2″ punch and cutting that

2robinassembly

then cutting the other side with scissors OR by sticking the uncut edge to a bit of scrap and use the punch to cut the other edge

4robinassembly

5robinassembly

Now, you will lose a bit doing it this way, but it’s easier than hand cutting for some.

6robinassembly

The same thing works with a 1″ punch and the wing

7robinassembly

Sure, there are better wing shapes but I am going for ease of mass-production and there are always compromises with that. I like to add the wing flat on the red, with a thin pop dot under the top edge. You can change the wing shape by trimming it or maybe even cut or punch a shape you prefer from some of the spare backers. Punch a circle from black cardstock for the eye.

8robinassembly

And cut and add the beak, then back it with the backing circle – there are more of those than you need so you can either print page 1 of the PDF 2x and the backer once, or print as it comes and use the extra backers for gift tags or simple card toppers.

9robinassembly

The background comes from a Graphics Fairy piece but just certain sections of it.  I may end up using that in some way for the card base. Watch this space.

{sigh} DH is here and keeps asking me questions about HIS part of the sorting and de cluttering and I have stuffed peppers to make and pop in the crock pot for dinner … and just when I was finally being creative….

7 thoughts on “Christmas printables – ornament card

  1. am weirdly delighted that you’ve succumbed to any sort of Christmas prep! The ornament is cute, such a nice idea….see, all those years ago you started something and now there’s massive expectation each year!

    Like

  2. How adorable!!! You are so creative, always love to see what you have done. If it wouldn’t be too difficult I would really appreciate the added “2014”. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  3. Another wonderful idea. Suitable for framing.

    Your art is clever and beautiful as always.
    Thank you for sharing,
    Petrina

    Like

  4. Love the little bird ornament.

    Like

  5. This is soooooooooooooo cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  6. Thank you so much – what a cute Christmas robin; so clever. Thanks for sharing.

    Karen x

    Like

  7. I’d like the 2014 my friends save their handmade card

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.