scrappystickyinkymess

A great little trick ….

8 Comments

It’s been a helluva morning already – DD had a Drs. appt this morning and DH is off at some app developers conference so the school run was down to me for a change.  Going around a roundabout a woman who clearly has NO IDEA of the traffic flow, and was unable to read the lane markings, thought she could just change lanes and carry on.  She perhaps could have, had I not been in the way.  Been to the body shop and the mechanic already.  The mechanic says the car is safe to drive so relieved. Now with a seriously crumpled fender and a door that doesn’t open and close as well as it should, but fortunately no injuries, and thanks to a witness,  a clear claim to insurance agreed by both of us that it was HER fault and not mine, I am finally back at my desk for a short time till school pick up.  {sigh}

As a result of al that I haven’t made anywhere NEAR the planned progress, but I did discover a little trick that I thought I would pass on.  I am SO doing this all the time now!

Given my recent issues with t’internet, I’ve not been watching YouTube videos much.  But I did stumble across this one last night.  To be fair is was drifting, nearly nodding off I was so tired, but the round about 5 minutes in I saw something that totally jolted me awake:

When I am making a layout, be it traditional or mixed media, I always layer and cluster piles of things.  Laura, from crop, calls me the Queen of Layers.  Not sure that is true, there are others who do it way better than me, but I will acknowledge it is def. part of my style.  Problem is I am always shuffling things around and I often get it all set up perfectly then when I come to sticking it all down I get a piece turned around or something out of order and then I look at the final result and slap my forehead and go DOH! WELL, a simple staple is all that is needed!

After laying out the pile of layers

staplethem

Just staple the pile as you want it, once in the middle

2staplethem

This keeps everything as you want it to be, but the edges are all still free, so you can easily slip other layers into the gaps and play around with them to your heart’s content without losing the basic structure of the cluster!

3staplethem

Isn’t that genius?  I find that the base is not going to be something I want to shift – once the photo is on top I’m happy with the overall SHAPE and it’s just slipping in a strip of this, a label or tag end of that, etc.

OK, so it isn’t this A May Zing technique, but it is one of those super nifty little tricks that just make the process so much easier.  And if I WERE to change my mind, there is only one staple to remove to free it all up again.

As you can see I have the next folder ready for its base of paper, before I start building in the colour with inks and sprays and paint and stamps and masks.  I may try to get all that stuck down before dashing off to collect DD so I can begin work in earnest in the morning, but not sure I’m done with sorting out the insurance stuff quite yet so it may have to wait.

Poor DH.  He leaves town for a few days and CRASH BANG WALLOP – so typical.  Just thankful if there was a car accident in the cards, it was one as minor (albeit annoying) as this one and not something far worse.  Thanking my lucky stars….

8 thoughts on “A great little trick ….

  1. Glad to hear you are ok and there were no serious injuries!

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry about your wreck! I’m glad it wasn’t any worse than it was! Especially glad there were no injuries!! I hope your week has gotten better!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Wednesday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #Lifeimitatesdoodles | lifeimitatesdoodles

  4. Well the stars didn’t really have anything to do with it. Thank you Lord for your protection/we have enough to deal with these days with out someone who doesn’t know how drive getting in the way. They are all around these parts, sorry to say.

    Like

  5. You poor thing. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. Somehow you bring humor to even your most desperate situations. And that’s a tip worth knowing, as are all the ones you show on your blog.

    Like

  6. Glad you’re okay and only the car was damaged – might have been a leftover from the ides of March – Lá Fhéile Pádraig Sona Daoibh (Happy St. Patrick’s Day!).

    Like

  7. Ooh what a horrible morning, so pleased you are ok and fingers crossed the insurance is quick.

    Kyla

    Like

  8. Thankful you’re all safe and damage is minor!

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.