scrappystickyinkymess

SDC20: bling!

12 Comments

Oh me, I love a bit of bling in my crafting.  Not so much ON ME, but cards, pages, minis…they all benefit from a bit of bling.  I rather cringe when thinking back to a Governor’s meeting, when, after arguing long and hard to make my point, and seeing slow agreement drift across a few of the sceptics faces, I sat back and crossed my legs and a glint caught my eye.  Yep.  There, stuck right too the knee of my jeans, a hot pink sticky-backed gem.  DOH!

So here is my effort – I stamped Bat Boy on white card and coloured his face and hands, trimming off his wings.  I stamped again onto sticky backed glitter sheets – funny, I mentioned them yesterday in the Treetop-angel-from-your-kid’s-photo post too! – then embossed with white embossing powder.  I had done it first, with black glitter embossing powder, which I really liked, but once I settled on the quote I felt like white wings worked better.  You have to be REALLY carefull embossing on the sticky backed vinyl or it will bubble up (which may be cool for some things but not the look I wanted here. When I cut Bat boy out I trimmed off his ears and when I added the wings I altered the position – this way they are more angelic and less…ominous.

You can see the array of goodies and the discarded black wings here.

The background was a multi-step thing.  I painted on a thin layer of glitter glue then let it dry, stamped the snowflakes with Versamark ink and embossed with white, then dusted on Perfect Pearls (I have a pot!  Most of what I have, and use, is Pearl-ex, but I think I got a pot when I bought the Compendium book) and finally spritzed on some turquoise Cosmic Shimmer.  I think I’d omit the PP layer as I’m not sure, in the end, it made much impact.

The quote is from William Cowper, slightly edited, to have the effect I wanted:

O Winter…

I crown thee

king of intimate delights,

fireside enjoyments,

of long uninterrupted evenings

The font is called Doris Day (yes, again – I really like it!) and was printed on white card then cut and the edges daubed with glitter glue.

Added the blingy crown like gem cluster and pop-doted Bat Boy. DONE! This photo is at more of an angle to catch the light:

If we have a long, cold, snowy winter like the last, I can see this for my DH (long suffering, very dear man) – I think it would be perfect with “Stay in with me” as the sentiment inside.

I will probably pre-set a post for tomorrow – and yes, I know that makes TWO Saturdays in a row I will have posted – don’t get used to it, my followers, who I like to think of as The Precious and the Few!  I will be cooking a Thanksgiving dinner, of sorts (I will not even go in to the after-dinner negotiation with DS as to what will be Thanksgiving dinner, what for Christmas Eve, what for Christmas day) but I will post more of the Thanksgiving journal, a downloadable blank recipe card as well as two recipes for Garlic roasted Turkey and Savoury Leg of Lamb.  If any of that appeals to you, drop by.

12 thoughts on “SDC20: bling!

  1. I really must get some of these stamps (wish I had a retailer near me or they did Um’s). I love this and the sentiment you have chosen is perfect. A really lovely card.

  2. Wonderful piece with a lot of bling! Thanks for joining us at SDC # 20.

  3. What a fab lot of bling on your card – love it!
    Thanks for joining us at Stampotique x

  4. AWESOME card….again! Girl….your imagination is just amazing! LOVE this card! Thanks for such detailed instructions! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and that you will truly enjoy this whole Season of Thanksgiving! {such a great idea to give ole Bat boy white wings! Love the shimmerry background and the bling on top…reckon we all have had to shake hans with inky fingers, glitter in our hair…but I don’t think I have done the rhinestone trick yet! SUCH a power move!!!! 😉

  5. OMG wow this is absolutely magic.
    A wonderful dream. Your sparkling angel is beautiful. I love it.

  6. Amazing card, I absolutely love the shimmery color of the background. Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge!

  7. that background is gorgeous, & I love the quote! Great card!

  8. The background is simply wonderful! A beautiful piece of work.

  9. This is incredible! The wings, the background, the quote, the composition, everything. What creative inspiration here. I love it! Can’t wait to see what you do with those black wings 🙂 (And you’re right – the white ones look better.)

  10. What a beautiful beautiful card..The Background is AMAZING……… I just love everything about it. Thanks for playing along with us at SDC

    Hugs

    VIcki

  11. Oh…I love this! So sparkly and gorgeous!

  12. Absolutely stunning! I just love the placement of the bling, the fantastic background, the PERFECT sentiment and the brilliant font you used. (Thank you for sharing the font name!!) Thank you for joining us for the Stampotique Designer’s Challenge! Beautifully done!
    Val 🙂

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

