scrappystickyinkymess

Making trays for the wall art

4 Comments

As promised, this is how I made the little trays for my wall art piece:



First score your cardstock at 1/2 inch on all four sides. I think technically you should do so o the WRONG side as the score line is meant to fold back but I tend to do the wrong way for some reason!








I want the texture of the cardstock to be on the inside of the box, in any case. Snip to the score line on all four corners







Fold the corners in – you want to attach them on the outside of the tray, which will be covered by the braid when completed.







Glue the tabs to the outside – I use clothespins to hold them in place while they dry but if you use an ATG (and I don’t have the 1/4″ tape roller so mine is too thick, hence the glue palaver!)  you don’t need to do this.  You can lay them out on a sheet of 12 x 12 cardstock to make sure your sizing is correct.







HTH! Here is the layout of the boxes again, so all you need is in one post!









Remember, the dimensions in the diagram are the COMPLETED tray size. You need to add one inch each way (so cut your cardstock for the 5 x 4 tray at 6 x 5) then score at 1/2 inch!

4 thoughts on “Making trays for the wall art

  1. I loved your idea so much, I had to make one of my own. Thanks for sharing such an awesome idea! Here is the link to my version: http://lostinpaperscraps.blogspot.com/2010/08/i-created-stuff.html

    Like

  2. thanks for the destructions Mary Anne, I’m buying 2 more stamps on payday then I’m going to try this 🙂

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing, I really love this idea. As soon as I can clear space on my desk, I’ll be giving this a go!

    Like

  4. Wow, MA, have just read through the series of posts from genesis to here – what a fab hanging. And more to the point, love how you arrived at the idea, thanks for sharing that – fascinating.

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.