scrappystickyinkymess

Wall art

13 Comments

Well, here it is, done.  I’m quite happy with it and it fills a space on my wall quite nicely.







The layout of the trays is as follows:

The dimensions are for the finished trays – I cut the cardstock one inch larger then scored a 1/2 inch in on all sides.  I snipped one side of each corner and stuck the together.  I’ll try to do another one and take a couple of photos if that isn’t enough info.



After I made the trays I stuck them together with strong double-sided tape in rows then stuck the rows together.  I then stuck the whole tray to a piece of 12×12 cardstock and will back it again with A3 craft foam, just to make it a bit more stable and keep it from shifting around against the wall.



The braid that surrounds it all is stuck down with Fast Grab Tacky Glue (and boy does it grab FAST!) and the loop to hang it is just a loop in the braid that I added a couple of stitches to secure the two sides together.



The stamps are, primarily, Stampotique (surprise, surprise) but I also used a Prima Honeycomb, a set of Tim Holtz textures (and the little row of birdies)  a tiny screen stamp, and the big swirl, my current fave, from a Fancy Pants 12×12 set.  The Distress ink colours were Bundled Sage and Weathered Wood and Vintage Photo, and the people were coloured in similar colours with Copics (I only have 20 so good thing they were in my palette LOL!)

Have a fab Bank Holiday Monday! I’m busy finishing up about three iPad covers for DH to take to friends in the USA when he goes to WWDC (Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference) in a couple of days. Then I don’t care if I never have to make another one.  But as he did download the final season of LOST for me onto my Pad (and it does look stunning, I must say) I really shouldn’t moan.

13 thoughts on “Wall art

  1. Pingback: Favourites – day four « Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  2. Fantastic! You are such an inspiration! How you put all the characters together and made it look fabulous.

    Bravo to you!!!

    Lois

    Like

  3. What a fabulous showcase …beautifully created.

    Like

  4. I love what you’ve made and so refreshing to see your use of these great stamps, all in all a great inspiration, Thank you 🙂

    Like

  5. Wow! This is soooo fun and fantastic!! Beautiful use of color and shading and a very clever layout!! Thank you for sharing…
    Val 🙂

    Like

  6. It is awesome! Great way to show all those yummie wonderful images!

    Like

  7. I LOVE what you have done with many of our crazy and wonky stamps! I can tell that you really enjoy them and they make us laugh!! GREAT JOB!!!! THank you for your inspiration!

    Like

  8. Wow… this is great artwork! Wonderful use of the Stampotique stamps.

    Like

  9. that rocks, I must have a go at this. 🙂

    Like

  10. That is stunning!

    Like

  11. Beautiful project, love the stamped backgrounds 🙂

    Like

  12. This is such a fab way to showcase all those lush Stampotique stamps – brilliant!!!…xoxo

    Like

  13. This turned out great! Very clever! Must have taken a long time to do all the coloring on the stamps. I was going to give you a call, but since I see in your post that it is a Bank Holiday and you are busily working on iPad covers, I’ll wait until later in the week!

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.