scrappystickyinkymess

Sunday Surprise – Card 8-10!

4 Comments

Not. I did say I would hopefully add a catch up post so I can get to where I will be adding the previous day’s card each day. At the moment I am not totally optimistic. I just have a lot going on and much to share. So I am working on this as a draft in the background and I will publish it on Sunday no matter where I am. I reckon I will need to have Cards 8, 9, and 10 done to share and then be able to work on 11 on Sunday to share on Monday. Yikes. Let’s begin!

Card 8 – Spied a roll of metal tape hiding in my paint trolley so covered an index card in that. Tried to emboss it, and it cut right thru. Doubled up the index cards (mine are might thin) and it was fine.

Got a bit crazy and decide to colour the embossing in with ProMarkers and cheap Copic knock-offs from a decade ago. Tossed all the dry ones in the bin LOL! Cute, but tedious. Scanned my already printed art journal words to make a quote (? just words, really!)

Will need to be faster if I am going to get my catch-up cards done!!

Card 9 – Good lord I have some old stuff! Looking at my embossing powders, some of them have DATES on them – 1997! And this stuff, which is like Versamark, but in a bottle, still works, but is a bit…chunky LOL!

It was a multi-stage process. I feared if I coated the card in paint there would be too much chance the embossing powder would stick to it. Tried something. Paint on the gel plate, stencil over top, Remove the paint from the stencil and print. Line up the stencil again (after cleaning and drying it) and sponge on the embossing ink. Add the powder and emboss.

A little more paint around the edges, and some copped ink spatters…

and words! Words make me happy…

Card 10 – So as I had the embossing stuff out anyway, there was another thing I wanted to use. Quite old. I sponged that same ancient embossing ink thru a different stencil and dumped Ultra Thick Embossing Powder in gold on.

Another not often used item, Dylusions ink sprays. Always hated the fact they were not permanent and almost never pick them because of that. In this case, the fact they can be wiped away solves the problem I had on the last card, of getting the card coloured behind the embossing cause the inks just wipe off the embossing powder and re-heating it brings back the shine. A few spatter. Again. Gotta stop that.

Kinda simple, that one, but still in catch-up mode.

Phew. That was a bit of an epic post, wasn’t it? On to the every-day share of one card now, with all the rest of what I do mixed in.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Surprise – Card 8-10!

  1. Pingback: I lied. No box today. Sorry. | scrappystickyinkymess

  2. 3rd time lucky! Brilliant ICADs. . I really must have a go at that metallic tape embossing. The wedding was wonderful, the bride was beautiful and the gluten free afternoon tea delicious. xx

    Like

  3. Great use of tape…. My goodness such inspiring work!
    Loving this series

    Like

  4. Love all the metallic elements to these ICADs. Happy Sunday

    Like

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.