scrappystickyinkymess

Flowers, for a change

2 Comments

I have been so lax in my blogging, sorry about that.  Life has been busy.

I had a discussion with some book fold-ers who like adorning their book fold projects with kusudama flowers  – the ones like THIS:

and shared an easier version that still looks quite nice.  It has only four petals, usually and looks like this:

5easykusudama

 

The steps are so simple, much easier than the standard version.

Fold a square on the diagonal, then bring the lower corners up to meet the point.

easykusudama

Open up the folds and fold the sides in to meet the crease

Flip it over and fold down the points, then unfold them

2easykusudama

Stick the unit together where the arrows point to, like this:

3easykusudama

I like to use Fabri-tac glue – hot glue or some other strong, quick-set glue works best, rather than a tape runner or double-sided tape.  Stick the units together into a flower shape

4easykusudama

As shown, you can do four or five units as you prefer.  You can leave the little points as they are or fold them over flat or open them out to make the “rabbit ear” inner petals.

6easykusudama

and you can even fold five units and join them for one that looks like THIS:

5petal2

Long time reader know me – I am all about the easy LOL!  I had a look and there is a video that might help:

You might be able to use the same principle to make a flower ball, using the simple version, but I can’t say that I’ve done it myself.  YMMV.

2 thoughts on “Flowers, for a change

  1. Love this!! Will have to give these a try!

  2. love your flowers. I think I will try

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

