scrappystickyinkymess

Hungarian? You betcha!

6 Comments

I have had a huge flurry of activity on my blog from a Hungarian blog, that has a round-up of calendars. Despite my best efforts (and with the help of an online translation bot) I am unable to figure out how to contact the poster directly without registering.  So I am doing this the lazy way LOL!  I just converted the calendar that seems to be the focus into a Hungarian version. Never done one of them.  I looked at a number of sites that listed the day abbreviations and while most places say the names of the week are NOT capitalized, most of the sample calendars I saw did use capital letters for the abbreviations.  Some of them used SZ twice.  I ended up using a variation of the abbreviations used on medicine packs, but it may not be exactly right. My head spins.

Here is what it looks like.  Maybe someone who is (or speaks) Hungarian can let me know if it is OK or not!

HungarianDoilyJun2Oct

The PDF is here for download.

Just as an experiment, I thought I would translate my blog post into Hungarian sing the BING translator.  This is what it says:

Volt egy hatalmas szélroham a tevékenység a blogomban egy magyar blog, hogy egy kerek a naptárak. Az én-m legjobb erőfeszítés ellenére (és egy onlinefordítói bot segítségével) nem vagyok képes, hogy kitaláljuk, hogyan lehet felvenni a kapcsolatot a poszter közvetlenül nélkül beiktat. Szóval én ezt a lusta út LOL!Én csak át a naptárban, hogy úgy tűnik, hogy a hangsúly a magyar változat. Soha nem történt meg az egyik közülük. Én nézetton oldalak, a nap rövidítésekszereplő számos, és míg a legtöbb helyen azt mondják, nincs tőkésítve a nevét, a hét, a minta naptárak láttam a legtöbb tett használ nyomtatott nagybetűkkel arövidítések. Fejem forog.
Itt van, amit úgy néz ki, mint. Talán valaki, aki (vagy beszél) magyar is hadd tudjam meg, ha ez rendben vagy nem!
I wonder how close it is to what I actually wrote.
Off to link in the original so people can find it!
6 thoughts on “Hungarian? You betcha!

  1. Pingback: 2016 calendar – horizontal for a change! | scrappystickyinkymess

  2. Thank you very much for your kidness! It is so touching! 🙂 The calendar is perfect! Anikó from Hungary http://anapfenyillata.cafeblog.hu/

  3. Thank you!!! It was very nice from you! Have a happy new year!

  4. Oh, and you can use for days the letters h for hétfő (Monday), k, sze, cs, p, szo, v in order.. Or even you can use sz for both Wednesday and Saturday, we can make difference, and fits better on one month of your calendar. Thank you again. 🙂

  5. Thank you! Melinda

  6. Thank you very much. I really loved the original set (you can’t go wrong with doilies, right? 😀 ), but the translated version fits much more in my filofax 😉 I plan to put them as decorative cards at the beginning of each month.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

