scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 336 – The Big Knit

16 Comments

I keep trying to find the time to join in with WOYWW, and keep failing.  I decided if I wait until I feel confident I will have a block of time to do the visits, I may wait forever.  So I am just taking the plunge and vowing to do my best.

What is all over my desk is knitting.  Little tiny hats for Innocent Smoothies.  It’s called The Big Knit, and every year the campaign raises money for Age Concern.  You can buy a Smoothie, with a hat, at stores, and a portion of the price goes to the charity.  You can read more about it here.  Last year they raised over £215,000.

woyww336

As you can see, my desk is littered with yarns.  Lots of bits, old, leftovers from past projects, as well as a few fairly new skeins I bought in a sale, for knitting baby beanies.  A few random googly eyes.

Here are some of the hats I showed a few days ago, and a few new ones.

 

 

3woyww336

So, you are probably wondering about that odd-looking lump on the right. I thought you might.  I had seen a full-sized hat, years ago, that I thought was an absolute hoot.

IMG_0789_medium2

I was never going to make it, but I admired it for sure.  Get the pattern here if you would like to make one! I thought I could figure out a way to make a much MUCH smaller version for the Smoothie bottle. Basically I made a basic mini-hat, then made two 18″ 3 stitch i-cords and coiled them up in a brain-like fashion.  Well, what *I* thought looked brain-like – I’m not a doctor, and I don’t play one on TV, so I have no idea.  It turned out OK, despite the small surface area.  Ideally I feel like a cord made from fingering weight/ baby/ sock yarn would have been better but this is what I had.  My own rules are that I can’t buy anything for this, I have to use up stash yarn.

bigbrain

I wonder if they will accept it or if it is a bit too “out there,” alongside all the cuter hats they show? I also have a trio of plain ones on the go.  My goal is 100 hats.  I am not sure I’ll make it before the December 11th deadline (so maybe the 8th or 9th for the mailing deadline) but I’m having a go.  I’ll need a bundle of plain ones to go with the novelty ones that take longer to knit!

2woyww336

So that’s my desk. Messy as ever, just a different sort of mess… Hopefully I’ll be round to see yours soon.

 

16 thoughts on “WOYWW 336 – The Big Knit

  1. Absolutely fabulous. Your little hats are gorgeous and it’s a great charity fund raiser. Happy woyww and happy crafting too, Angela x

  2. Love the brain! You could call it brain coral, also. Strange yet for the right person – wonderful.

  3. Eeeeck… that ‘brain hat’ is a bit creepy yet wonderful! I love all the colourful small hats! Happy woyww and a hug from Holland, Marit #11

  4. It’s a great project to support, uses up scraps and is quick to complete…a win win situation!! I love all the little hats you’ve done but find the brain hat a bit weird!
    It was good to see you at the Crop, thought you were looking great 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 2 xxx

  5. Looks like a very creative mess and lots of brain work going on behind the yarn.
    sandra de @20

  6. wonderful project.

  7. Urgh, the brain hat looks brainy to me! That knitted cord would make lovely flowers! You are good and clever and very productive!!

  8. What a wonderful idea, love your brain hat. Such fun! Take care Zo xx 31

  9. Those little hats are very cute. Not sure about the brainy one though!

    Fiona #34

  10. Hi Mary Anne, I think the brain hat is great, and ‘out there’ enough to really stand out! You know there is someone out there that would love it over a cute hat! Good luck with the 100 goal. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #7 xxx

  11. I love the smoothies with their hats on and what a great way of using up odds and ends. Not sure what I think to the brainy hat though, lol.
    hugs Lisax #44

  12. Thanks for showing us your hats – I like the brain! I am going to share the link to the big knit on Facebook. Cheers Jackie #14

  13. loving the mini hats and I really fancy having a go at the brain hat. I can feel the needles calling.

  14. I think your brain hat is a hoot, but you wouldn’t catch me wearing one! your mini hats are a great idea – I heard about this last year. Helen 6

  15. Cool hats Mary Ann…yes I think it looks like a brain – weird to wear though. Enjoy you week RobynO#29

  16. love this “brain” hat. it’s a little bit strange, but nice.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

