scrappystickyinkymess

More knitting! Pac-man ghosts

Leave a comment

Still knitting.  I have maybe 20 hats, half done, half in progress.  More on that in a bit.  I found a cute little Pac-man ghosts pattern but for crochet.  Now, I can both Knit and Crochet, and at various times I have preferred one over the other.  At the moment I am knitting.  So when I saw the pattern was for crochet, I had to figure out how to convert it.  It’s just my nature LOL!

I hate sewing up, so all my hats are done in the round, just like socks. And the thing is, I really like magic loop knitting. for the two (or more)-at-a-time knitting.  And you can’t make multiples with crochet.

So the tricky bit was the scalloped edge, the “feet” of the ghosts.  Easy to do in crochet.  Harder, or at least more time-consuming, to knit, and fiddly across only 14 stitches per needle. But I eventually worked it out. Like so:

  1. Cast on the standard 28 stitches, in DK weight yarn and 4 mm needles.  All the hat needs to do is fit the top of a Smoothie bottle.  And a Smoothie bottle’s not alive (sing it with me now, Sesame Street fans, “no, no, no, no, No!”) so tension/gauge is not critical.  But do leave a long tail
  2. picot Split the stitches for Magic Loop, 14 per needle, and join to knit in the round, being careful not to twist the stitches.2picot
  3.  Knit 3 rows.
  4. On the 4th row, work a yarn over, k2tog  across.  This creates an eyelet round that you will turn into a picot edge.

The trick to the first yarn over is to do what they always tell you YOU MUST NOT DO when knitting magic loop, have the yarn in front of the needle.

4picot

That way, when you wrap to knit the first two together, you will create a yarn over – normally a bad thing, but exactly what you want in this case.

3picot


5picot

That probably isn’t as clear as it needs to be but when you are doing it, it will make sense.  You want the extra loop.

Normally with a picot edge, you then knit the k2tog stitches and the yarn overs, creating a gap, but resulting in the exact same number of stitches, then knit three rows, so the rows below match the rows above, then fold and knit the cast on edge together with the next row.  For a nice explanation of this with good photos, check out Craftsy.  I just knit two rows,  then stop. I’ll explain why after the rest of the pattern, which is:

5. Knit 14 rows

6. Knit 2, k2tog across the first needle, then repeat across the back needle (22 stitches)

7. Knit 

8. Knit 1,  K2tog, around (shift the last stitch on the first needle to the back needle to k2tog), ending with a knit stitch  (14 stitches)

9. K2tog to the last stitch on the front needle, k then k2tog across the back needle 

Thread the end thru and pull tight to close the top. Secure end. Fold so the picots form the bottom edge and use the long tail to whip stitch the cast-on edge in place on the inside.

knitpacman

Sorry, you can’t really SEE the picot edge but I’ll try to get a better shot if we EVER see the sun again.  It’s been dismal for a week!

So back to why I stop at two knitted rows.

6picot

I would normally cast on two socks, for example, and knit them together from the beginning, but frankly, the picot edge is just that little bit tricky, and working with so few stitches, keeping everything tight and neat at the joins takes focus.  I only want to have to focus on one at a time.  So I make all of the hats that I want up to the same point, then I shift them to a longer needle.  Mine are interchangeable tips, so I just shift the small number of stitches onto just the needle tip, unscrew that, screw on the longer cable, and slide it over.  The needles then go back on to the shorter cable and I knit another hat, up to the second row past the picots, then slide them over.  In the end I have all four ghosts on one long cable, and it’s all knitting in the round till the shaping.

8picot

That got long.  Sorry.  Hope it all makes sense.  The picot edge looks cute on a normal, simple hat with a bobble on top but I think it would be cute NOT folded back, maybe with a little scrap of ribbon threaded thru and tied in a bow.  Might have to give that a go….

Still have a visitor, and a few drs. appointments, but I am determined to do WOYWW tomorrow to the best of my ability.  Best snap a shot of my desk before it is too dark!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

