scrappystickyinkymess

I just can’t leave well enough alone…

4 Comments

I have been following the DASH diet, and like it a lot.  It’s not hard to stick to, I feel like I am getting enough food, and food I like (ok, slightly bland without salt, but still, better for me) but the book is frustrating.  I couldn’t cook the recipes without finding a good place to prop up the book so it stayed open, the sections I wanted to refer to a lot were scattered in with other stuff I didn’t care about (like the science of it all) or that I would read occasionally, but not often.

So what did I do?  What any self-respecting crafter would do – I deconstructed the book and made it over the way I wanted it to be.

deconstructed

Yep.  I did. I cut the sucker up.  Once I secured the pages with a few big rubber bands to hold the edges straight, I took a ruler and a box cutter and sliced the pages out.  I thought about using the original cover but was worried the BIA rings wouldn’t be big enough for smooth opening and closing.  I cut up a colourful plastic place mat to make internal dividers and the covers.

reconstructed

I reorganized the order of the book t suit me (good thing too, cause I did actually rip the index pages by mistake – re-ordering the book makes the index a bit useless so no loss there)

2reconstructed

and strong tabs mark the sections I know I will g back to every day. I have a stack more tabs to note things I think are important, and to compensate for ruining the index.

3reconstructed

I like the internal dividers and think it makes using the book a lot easier.  I did call maybe 4 different UK binding services and none of them said the would cut and rebind a book (like Kinkos and Office Depot do in the States) so DIY was the order of the day.

4 thoughts on “I just can’t leave well enough alone…

  1. That’s a brilliant solution. You’ve given me an idea for a similar solution, thank you

  2. I love it!! And I especially love your “Well, I’ll just do it myself” attitude!! 🙂

  3. I think I would have done the same. Without quite so much flair though! It drives me nuts that useful books, books that are made to be referred to often arent at the least ring bound. TBH, I’d like paperbacks that way too!

  4. Go you! I’ve been wanting to do the same with the Fast Metabolism as I create recipes I’ll refer to. Good Luck and Creative Blessings! Kel

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

