scrappystickyinkymess

When in doubt, add a calendar!

10 Comments

Here is another 2016 calendar.  Just something I was playing with “before.” I wanted something a little more hand-drawn looking and I think this fits the bill.

hand

 

I like the font for the letters, which is called Quirky Knots. I did check three times and really concentrated so am as close to 100% sure these are correct as I can be.  Avoiding any crappy site that added a calendar that had the wrong info on it, I found one that I feel is reliable and have saved it so I can come back to it again and again.

blogdivider

On a personal note, I saw the Dr. and he is happy enough not to increase one of the meds.  Apparently the normal thing to do is to start on a low dose and work up to a high one.  I’m on 1.5mg and the norm is 10mg.  I did a little research on something my sister mentioned in passing, the DASH diet.  Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension.  I like it,  and it’s been rated the top diet (in the US anyway) for 5 years for both how easy it is to stick to as well as how effective it is.  I got the book for the weight-loss version, and it IS good.  When I lost 40lbs a couple of years back, I did it by cutting out virtually all carbs and limiting my fruits to berries.  That “cured” my type 2 diabetes (ha ha) according to the Dr.  but it really wasn’t sustainable.  I love toast too much LOL!  I can live without ice cream and candy, even muesli or granola far easier than never having a potato or toast with my eggs.  Just before the heart attack I had noticed a slow weight gain, and had just started to go back to removing those foods from my diet again.  But the DASH diet includes all sorts of fruits and grains. There is meant to be a two-week phase that is no fruit, no grains (which I didn’t know cause I had only read the info on the Mayo Clinic website, which is the original diet, without the focus on weight loss and as a by-product, metabolism re-set and sugar control) but the diet after that has all the things I love in small quantities.  Yes, even dark chocolate!

It has really only been two weeks since I got out of the hospital but so far I have lost 8 lbs, brought my sugar levels down to an acceptable level (not good, but far better than in the hospital – the combo of the so-called “diabetic diet” foods like piles of mashed potatoes and carrots and very few GREEN vegetables and the stress of being in the hospital probably contributed to that at least a bit) and am not struggling with it at all.   Well, I am struggling a little simply because the UK is far behind the US in offering low-salt, no added salt or sugar, non-fat or low-fat versions of foods.  I’ve yet to find pancake syrup in any store I’ve shopped in, let alone the sugar-free versions I saw in the USA 15 years ago.  And reduced salt chicken broth?  25 years ago that was common in the USA.  I still struggle to find it reliably.  I gave up on proper Jewish rye and pumpernickel bread (as opposed to the damp, Polish market ones) and there are 100 other things that the book mentions as “in any grocery store” that can’t be found here.  It’s made me have to research every little thing, read labels like never before (and I really did read them a lot already) to stay on track.  But I am seeing the benefits already.  I feel better, and am looking forward to the Cardio rehab sessions to get more info.  I’ll be dragging out the stationary bike – with winter coming it’ll be a reliable way to exercise – and am looking to find a yoga DVD for stress reduction.

OK so that was all super boring, I’m sure.  I’ve rarely let much of my real life slip in here, keeping it to mostly crafty things, but this is huge for me and I find writing about it helpful.  I promise I will try to set this sort of personal stuff apart so it is easy to skip over.  I might even relegate it to another blog, so I can satisfy the need to write about it without boring the crafty folk to tears!

Thanks for all the kind comments, BTW.  It means a lot.

10 thoughts on “When in doubt, add a calendar!

  1. Courage ! une belle perte de poids en seulement 15 jours ! bravo ! je ne connais pas ce régime.. je vais me résigner à retourner aux WW et à faire un peu d’exercice aussi.. dur combat que celui contre le poids, mais cela en vaut la peine ! vous pour votre coeur, moi pour mon genou.. toutes mes amitiés, et mille mercis pour tous ce que vous nous offrez si généreusement ! Prenez bien soin de vous, Nicky

  2. So glad you’re feeling better…and in my opinion you don’t have to stop writing about things that are important for you here…not boring for me at all and I’m one of the crafty folks 😉
    Hugs from Germany,
    Tina

  3. Glad the DASH diet is looking good to you and that you are feeling better! You can always email your sister if you have the urge to write!!! 😃. Love ya!

  4. I just saw your post about being sick, sorry hope your better soon. I need to lose weight and I just checked out the DASH diet book and cookbook from the library. But did you know there is a Facebook page with support. Here it is if you want to take a peek, https://www.facebook.com/groups/dashdiet2

  5. I am a fan of your blog and also a nurse in the US. DASH diet is an excellent way to better health. Sorry to hear you are struggling to find healthier options. What I do for chicken broth is use the bits (liver, heart, neck gizzard) that I don’t usually use, boil them with 2 cups water and then either freeze or put in the refrigerator in a jar if I am going to use in the next couple days. AS for salt-free or low salt, the best route is usually frozen for veggies. Keeps for a while and almost all are fresh flash frozen so no salt- but do still check the ingredients for anything that says sodium. Sorry can’t resist the nursing impulse anymore than the crafting one. I love the calendars by the way. Best of luck to you.

  6. good morning, hope you are well.
    I see that you make your calendar in english, of course, and sometimes in other languages. I never see a calendar in italian……
    I love your calendars, but I need some in italian to do my Xmas presents (sorry, but ancient peoples don’t speak english). may you please do a calendar in italian? or, if you cannot, may you tell me where I can find one?
    thank you and have a good day

    • My heritage is Italian 🙂 My Grandfather and Grandmother were from Deggiano (very northern Italy) on my Dad’s side and my Grandmother from Southern Italy on my Mom’s Mom’s side. I’d be happy to make an Italian one – would you like to pick one or two that you really like?

      cheers

      Mary Anne

  7. Don’t say DIET. Say life style change. I feel the pain of trying to make changes in eating. Always write. Maybe start a junk art journal including how your feeling. It’s a great way to also look back and see how thoughts ebb and flow. Your fans still want to know how your doing. I’m glad your doing so good in such a short amount of time. Can you make knit sox and cycle? LOL
    Hugs from the Oregon coast,

  8. I love this blog for its wonderful content. Its up lifting..and now thanks for sharing this post on hypertension. Great great

  9. I’m so very sorry for your medical issues. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better.
    I can’t eat dairy or gluten so I feel your pain when a way of eating has to suddenly be changed. Good for you in losing 8 pounds in 2 weeks!
    Don’t apologize for talking about this here. From my perspective, I’ve been reading your blog for several years and you feel like a ‘friend’. You have shared so much of your creative self all that time. Now you have a need so I am happy to ‘listen’.
    I live in the U.S. and would be happy to send you items that are low/no salt, if you figure out what you need. Also, try Amazon. They have a wonderful selection of specialty foods (I also follow a no grain way of eating and the grain free products are abundant – don’t know if this would help you as your issues are different than mine.)
    Hang in there and keep sharing.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

