scrappystickyinkymess

2016 CD Calendar NEARLY done!

Leave a comment

I am hoping I can eke out some time to finish this up and be ready to post at least the Sunday To Saturday version for download tomorrow. It is double checking the days for each month, start and end days and number of days, that is one of the hold ups! Having been badly let down by the Spanish language calendar from Dreamstime having errors in it, I had to make sure I was using a calendar from another more reliable source as a double-check!

The other issue has to do with the circle with the month name.  I tend to use free fonts, and the requirements for accuracy in things like kerning are not so strict as they are for professionally designed cost-a-lot fonts.  This makes getting a smooth circle, nicely spaced, pretty difficult.  Even though I am using a HUGE monitor, and a 400X view of the circle

CDcalnearlydone

(you can see my bottle of flavoured water there – that gives you an idea of the size!) I can’t always catch the little quirks thrown out by different fonts.  As a general rule the fonts that work best are the straight up and down ones.  Any bit of a lean (like with MOST script-y fonts) affects it.  The best way to check it is to print the sheets and look very closely at each circle.  With Sweetheart Script, every sheet had one month with some little anomaly.

2CDcalnearlydone

Some times it is as easy as adding or removing a space between the words, or adjusting the Path bias in tiny increments.  It is time-consuming.  But I think it is worth doing.

Why am I boring you with this?  When I do post the download, if there is an extra space between two words (like the one between the two there at the bottom of the photo above) be assured it is NOT an “error”  but required to avoid an even worse issue somewhere else around the circle!  I look at them and decide what *I* think looks best from the options I can see.

I’ll probably check them a few more times to salve my paranoia of putting one with wrong date info put there LOL! but keep an eye out.  Then I have to do the replacement to make the Monday to Sunday versions too…..

no rest for the wicked…and clearly I am VERY wicked indeed.

{wink}

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

