scrappystickyinkymess

Spanish and German and a preview of the Pretty CD one

6 Comments

The poll isn’t closed yet, but I have a hellish week ahead so I thought I would get a jump on the design.  Let me start there:

pretty2016JF

That is sort of where I am – Sweetheart Script was the frontrunner by a mile.  I can’t decide on the position of the flourish, or if I need it at all.   I guess I am leaning towards the bottom flourish, so it doesn’t affect the readability of the days. Any thoughts?

Now, as you know I’ve done foreign language calendars for a few years.  I made a German one the other day, because a long time follower asked for the blank, decorate it yourself version in German for a project she has in mind.  She vetted them for me so I feel most confident about them being right. Grab the German calendar here.

2016German_blank_Mo_to_So

She also gave me the words for the journaling blocks.

I also have a French version out to someone who will, I hope, be able to do the same.  I’ll add them when I hear back, and if I don’t, then I’ll omit the journaling cards and post them that way.

I don’t have a connection with a Spanish speaker, so I omitted the journaling cards for these from the beginning.  But I did do both a MONDAY to SUNDAY version, as that is more common for Spanish, as well as a Sunday to Saturday version, as I know many people use a Spanish calendar but follow the arrangement most common in their country  – the USA is usually Sun to Sat and I think someone from Puerto Rico also mentioned they use Sun to Sat as well

I did have a moment when I saw AUGUSTO instead of AGOSTO on one online calendar!  Gave me no end of worry, but while AUGUSTO is a word in Spanish, near as I can find it’s translated as august, as in an august institution .  The month August is Agosto.

And apparently the calendar I saw that had MARCHA instead of Marzo is wrong too.  Sorted it and added the new PDFs.  I did SAY it was stressful …

Honestly – the stress of trying to get all the elements right for a foreign language calendar is huge.  If you see an error, do let me know.  It’s cringe-inducing to make an error, but the sooner I know the sooner I can fix it.

6 thoughts on “Spanish and German and a preview of the Pretty CD one

  1. Hi Mary Anne, for what it’s worth, I prefer the bottom flourish and would prefer the M-S version here in Aus, thanks.
    PS, still working on the Sleepover
    Jx

    • good to know! I will probably make at least the Sun to Sat and the Mon to Sun versions, as I’ve learned a couple of tricks to further streamline the process. 🙂

      No rush, don’t drive yourself crazy over the Sleepover 🙂

      MA

      • All good, have DH on the case whilst I tackle two mountains of laundry, now I remember why I soooo hate winter!!!!😉

  2. in spanish: enero, febrero, MARZO, abril, mayo, junio, julio, agosto, septiembre, octubre, noviembre, diciembre

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

