scrappystickyinkymess

2016 Decorate it Yourself Calendars

3 Comments

I did try to update this post from my iPad last night but for some reason it didn’t work.  DS and I both passed in record time.  Phew.

I know what it is like when you are super keen to be getting on with a project and you can’t for whatever reason. It is SO frustrating.  So when a commenter asked me the other day when I would be doing the Decorate it Yourself 2016 calendar, all I could say was that it would happen when it happened.  But I thought back to the post I did a while back about using iPhoto (MAC only, obviously) for generating  your own printable blank version on the fly.

I went right to iPhoto and had a quick play, and refined the process, although I didn’t even know I was doing that till I checked the post after the fact! I had been frustrated with a couple of things but I think bumping up a couple of OS versions helped sort them out.  The point is I was quickly (and seriously, folk, I do mean QUICKLY – less than 30 minutes, which is all the time I had!) able to:

  • create a 2016 calendar, using the  Modern Lines calendar styles
  • make it into PDFs with one month per page, big blank top area, and with two months per page, big blan”k top area
  • use the Quartz filter to reduce the size from 4+mb to under 800 kb so they don’t take ages to download.  The quality difference is minimal.

I’d like to be able to alter the fonts, change the colour, etc. and will hope I can find the time to play with that at some point, but I’d be interested in your thoughts on these and if they are useful at all.  Is it a case of ready-now better than ready-in-a-month? Or would you rather with for one of my more decorative font ones?

2016smallertext_2

That is what a page looks like with one month per sheet and here it is, two months per sheet, just to give you an idea of the space you have to decorate

2016smallertext_halfQ

I do prefer the BIG DATE style in iPhoto, but without knowing how to alter the colour of the text, I feel like the month and year, and the strip of day-names is just a bit too grayed out.  I sorted it out.  I think I can even change the font, but I’m not sure it is easier than creating one from scratch. We’ll see….

2016big_oneQ

You can grab the one-month-a-sheet here and the two-month-a-sheet here. Note that the blue border is just to help you see the parameters of the page and does NOT print.

3 thoughts on “2016 Decorate it Yourself Calendars

  1. These are great, MaryAnn! I will definitely be making some calendars for family. I just got a new printer, Epson Artisan and it does a great job with your printables. I think I’m living in a happy dream world now with my fancy new printer. 🙂 I’m curious, have you ever made up any Hebrew calendars? I know, not a big calling for them here, but I need to find one…just asking, not suggesting that you come up with one. I’d probably be the only one interested anyway.
    Thank you for all you do!

    • Wow. I’ve NO IDEA how to make one of them. But a quick Google shows this http://www.printablejewishcalendar.com/ – no idea if that is what you mean but there were a few other links that came up. I wouldn’t be very hard to find a printable that is how you want it then replicate it with the pretty colours, etc. Yes, not a huge demand, but when you need it, you NEED it 🙂 YAY to the printer. I’ve had Epsons and HPs and now a Canon that I love, although it is a bit of an ink hog. But it does print like a dream so I get your happy happy joy joy!
      🙂
      MA
      Oh and this one too! http://www.hebcal.com/home/38/printing-a-jewish-calendar

    • OK so I did some using a download. Nothing special at the moment but have a look. Check your email and LMK if one or both emails came thru.

      🙂

      MA

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

