scrappystickyinkymess

Lists

1 Comment

I encountered a little list challenge the other day – it is this one. Titled

BBC Believes You Only Read 6 of These Books…

Apparently the BBC never actually said this. The list was created by an unknown individual and spread around the internet, as things do.

I read a lot, a lot less than I used to, but still a lot.  I also KEEP a lot of books.  Rather than do what I’ve READ I ticked those that I know, with 100% certainty, I own, either here on my bookshelves or back in storage.  My results:

own

OK, I actually have 65, I missed Heart of Darkness but had already clicked to see my results, captured it, and converted it to a .jpg, and was too lazy to go back and do it again. I also have multiple copies of some (1984 was at home in storage, for example, and I thought DS needed to read it so I bought another copy.

That is actually not even correct.  There are 8 books that I OWN but haven’t read.  Some are because I started them and wasn’t immediately gripped by them, and some were just down to time, when another book jumped the queue and I never went back – Cloud Atlas and His Dark Materials fall in this category.  A Prayer for Owen Meany didn’t grab me like The World According to Garp (I’ve read that one SO many times, as well as many other books by John Irving just not Owen Meany) and three Jane Austen’s sit on my shelf unread, part of a Complete Works set.  I both own and have read The Neon Bible as well as A Confederacy of Dunces, but that didn’t make the list.  I’ve actually read other books by many of the authors but virtually ALL of Bill Bryson’s books.

On a whim I snapped a couple of shots of my bookshelves

shelf2

Should have turned the camera portrait cause the shelf just above this one has 1984 and Brideshead Revisited!

shelf1

The list did make me wonder.  There are a lot of books on my shelves that *I* think are great books that aren’t on the list and some that are on the list that make me go Meh. I would read Love in a Cold Climate and The Pursuit of Love over Austen most days, although to be fair they are apples and oranges.  Possession would make the list.  And Neuromancer would make my list – heck, The Difference Engine, cause to my mind it birthed Steampunk would too.   A Wrinkle in Time under KIDS. Perfume, and Jean de Florette and Manon of the Spring under translated-from-another-language.  Homicide: a year on the killing streets (written by the David Simon, who did the TV show Homicide and eventually did The Wire) and Rivethead for factual and Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas cause it’s so unique and Lonesome Dove cause it is so epic and so western, and I do love me a good western! I think all those books have at least as much to recommend them as the ones on the list.

This is a non-crafty diversion.  Sorry if you expected lovely paper or printables.  I am knee-deep in laundry and mixing that with cleaning out DS’s PC.  It’s shocking the amount of dust.  Handfuls, I kid you not. The bookshelves are in the room I am working in, next to the laundry, so I had a lot of time to think about this topic.  LOL! Now I wonder what is on YOUR list that isn’t on the actual list. Feel free to add your picks in the comments.

 

One thought on “Lists

  1. Well that’s scary! Makes me wonder about my laptop…Happy Wednesday! Sandy Leigh #44

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

