scrappystickyinkymess

Construction of the Map Fold Books

4 Comments

This post has the potential to be excessively long.  I am going to break it up into a couple of posts to keep that from happening.  Also, I am off out very soon.

So without further ado, here is the basic construction.

1. The book base is constructed of three folded sections.  The measurements for the one I will show are

two 4 x 8 inch pieces of cardstock, scored and folded in half

one 12 x 4 inch piece, scored at 4 inches, 8 inches, and 8 1/2 to 8 3/4 inches.  This will create a fold over flap so the thickness of the book  will determine the size.  This should help:

bookbase

 

2. Stack the pieces and carefully punch five evenly spaced holes thru the centre folds

2bookbase

3bookbase

and sew together with a 5-hole pamphlet stitch.  This is the image I go back to over and over again when I forget!

4bookbase

That is the basis for all of the books.  The inserts for THIS one begin with not a square, like normal, not a circle, like my previous variation, but with a large bracket, cut with the Spellbinders Grand Nestabilities, Grand Labels One.

6addpages

To add the pages, stick one side of the folded unit to the left (or right) page.

addpages

Add adhesive to the other side – I usually don’t cover the whole face bit focus on the centre line and the straight bits on the sides

2addpages

Fold over the next page, making sure the corners are lined up, and press to stick.

3addpages

6addpages

Ta dah!

You can close the book with a simple ribbon or cord tie, like I did the previous sample

4hungarianmapfold

or add a two-button wrap, or any other closure you fancy.

In the next post I will talk about folding the pages from the label – there are a few tricks to it, especially with directional paper – and share show I added the text.  I should be able to share that as a PDF so you can print and cut, rather than taking the time it took ME to set it all up.  Here’s a sneaky peek:

The file looks like this:

boybook1

 

I do also have a sheet with the shapes, but blank, so you can add your own text.  The print looks like this:

insert

and the page looks like this!

photostoo

I’ll interject here that I know not everyone is going to have these big labels.  So if you want to see the printable file for a circle page or a square page, comment and let me know.  It’s a bit of effort but I think I can do it when I return if there is interest.  I may even go ahead and do What is a Girl? (also by Alan Beck) as well as I do have one of each!

 

4 thoughts on “Construction of the Map Fold Books

  1. Brilliant Mary Anne, many thanks for the tutorial, Angela x

  2. CC GOOD THANKS %%%%%

  3. you’ve done it again – good directions – hope to have a go when I get back from holiday…hopefully with great photos of sparkly sea glass.

  4. Pingback: Printables, and a near-fail book | scrappystickyinkymess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

