scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 300 (finally I can join in again!)

17 Comments

Well it’s been a while.  I refuse to bore you AGAIN with the stupid saga of my rubbish internet.  Instead I will show you what I have been doing while offline.  Knitting!

woyww300

The sheet of paper is for Cats Sweet Tomato Heel.  It’s one I have wanted to try but when I finally got around to trying to buy the e-book I keep getting an error.  It’s all that new EU VAT stuff, I’m sure. But there is a YouTube video so I just watched that, made note, did some screen grabs and created my own little PDF of what are the important bits for me.

I’m doing toe-up socks, and there is no pattern.  Well, the basic one for size, but not for the design. These are learner socks.  I am trying t get to grips with the handed two-colour knitting, and I am making t up as I go along.  While at Hobbycraft with DD,  I sat by the checkout flicking thru a mag.  I saw a pattern for a sweater – sorry, not a pattern but a photo, saying there was a pattern – with a scattered design.  This is my attempt.   A closer look:

4woyww300

Unfortunately they are a little loose, I think.  I have LONG feet but they are fairly thin, so I always struggle to get then to fit perfectly.

2woyww300

Being that I am using them to learn a few things I went with slightly coarser yarn and slightly larger needles.   They will have the Sweet Tomato Heel, probably in colour wedges, I think, and a two-colour ribbing.  A lot in one sock.

I want to practice a bit as my friend and I went to a small yarn show and I got a couple of hanks that I like

5woyww300

Funky! The other big project is a sweater.  Also a learning tool, the lace chart for the yoke.  Ugh.  Hate charts like I hate spreadsheets.

1woyww300

The two sleeves are on a VERY long circular.  They will be knit to the length of the purple on the body then finished off in the grey to match the block at the bottom edge.

A few printables will be dribbling out and I need to now start thinking about the ATCs for WOYWW 6th anniversary, so it’ll be a real mixed bag for me in the coming weeks.  Just how I like it!

Looking forward to catching up and seeing what everyone is doing.

17 thoughts on “WOYWW 300 (finally I can join in again!)

  1. YEAH, glad your back. Have missed all your posts, mess, and wonderful creations. You supply some of great laughs. Plus glad the (cross my fingers) your frustrations are over.
    Hugs from USA

    • Good to see you back, and with so many knitted projects – has it really been that long or are you a quick knitter, lol! you may wish you weren’t back today as there was a stamp show onSunday… Helen , waiting for linkup.

  2. Impressive knitting and those yarn just waiting to be created into something looks so pretty Happy WOYWW # 300 hugs Nikki #1

  3. I admire your knitting skills as much as I do your gelli plate skills. However, maybe you should think about WOYWW # 6 instead of 4 (grin).

    Happy WOYWW from #3.

  4. You are certainly not bored, Mary Anne – despite the internet issues. Well done on the socks – they are looking great – and the sweater, too. I LOVE that yarn you found – the colourways are gorgeous.
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #4

  5. What on earth is a sweet tomato heel?? I’ve never heard of that before, but then again I’ve never investigated sock patterns as hell will freeze over before I have sufficient patience to tackle them, lol!!
    Like the skeins you bought at the fair, great colours!
    It’s good to see you back on t’Interwebs by the way 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 7 xxx

  6. Hi Mary Anne simplying saying today Happy 300th WOYWW. OOOW I love your new wool, great colours and good on you for trying out a bit of ‘learning’ – the socks are looking lovely as is the jumper. Cheers RobynO#14

  7. Hi Mary Anne, nice to see you back. Funny, I was talking about you yesterday to my DIL. She was telling me about a friend of hers who’s just had a double mastectomy, and needed cheering up, and I remembered your Knitted Knockers post- told her and she asked for a link, so I found your post and gave her the link to the UK site for them. Thanks for the ATC prod- with how long it takes me to get an idea, time I started thinking too.Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #27 xx

  8. Your knitting is gorgeous, and I love that yarn. Isn’t YouTube wonderful? Happy WOYWW #300! Sandy Leigh #58

  9. Beautiful knitting! I am glad you found your hands occupied while your net was being stupid 🙂 Welcome back to WOYWW! Shel – paperocotillostudio #25

  10. Good luck with the socks and sweater. Those little hearts are too cute and I adore the grey and purple color combination. Makes me want one myself!

    Hugs!
    brenda lee #80

  11. Hey there great to meet you. I am fairly new to WOYWW.
    Happy 300 WOYWW.
    Pat #83

  12. Pleased to see you back. I love the knitting you’re doing, I used to knit for England (as they say) but don’t really do any now and quite miss it. The internet can be such a pain. Hope you have a great crafty week and happy woyww, Angela x 42

  13. You might as well be speaking in tongues. I read through the whole of Thursday’s post too. Not a word. But, I did get that you are tenacious with anything and I love that slight sprinkled effect on the sweater and the socks!

  14. Hi MA
    Nice to see you back. You have been busy haven’t you …. Loving all the socks …. I knitted one once ….. Just the one or almost a whole one, turning the heal was a bit of an issue …. I admire your patience.
    Are you going to excel at the end of the month?
    Janet @16

  15. Wonderful knitting, love your socks! I have the opposite problem my feet are diddy (size 2-3) and while slight I do suffer from swelling so some of the smaller size socks cut in! Perhaps I should make my own! Take care Zo xx 55

  16. Hey my mum did all this sort of stuff making up patterns and creating wonders but to me it is all jibber jabber stuff that I really don’t understand. I can knit and I can crochet, but hey it’s just stuff to me. I don’t know how you have the patience for it all you really must enjoy it. I don’t even have a pair of knitted socks so i can only imagine they must be warm, I wear explorer socks in winter here which are like hiking socks. As for the ATC swap is it that soon, gosh I must get my act into gear and send some over, knowing me it will all be last minute. Sending Yoda hugs and warm wishes.

    Hugs Eliza & Yoda #89
    Happy 300th WOYWW

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

