scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 294 – official

28 Comments

Argh!  Needing another appointment with the BT engineer.  I did an online speed test (more than one – about 20 over the last week) and got my score.  I could weep….

speed

So my desk is pretty much torn apart, and my online status a bit dodgy, but here is what I could grab and upload.

I got a ball of yarn on sale.  Trying to teach myself something new and made a sock in the process. I started by splitting the skein into two centre-pull balls.  100 gm skein, two 50 gm balls.  Can you just see the 50 on the scale?

woyww294

 

The finished sock.  Nothing special.

5woyww294

Another one for DS – or, as I like to call him, BigFoot. See that shred of yarn?

6woyww294That was all I had left from the 50 gm ball.

I did get my needles organized – YAY!

7woyww294

I ended up sticking the Knit Picks packaging to a hunk of chipboard with holes punched

8woyww294

and used both the CD sleeves that came with the folder and some cheap plastic envelopes for various things.

9woyww294

10woyww294

My scratchy note reminding me of the knitted grafting, so I don’t have to go back and watch the video every time!

11woyww294

 

Visiting will be slow going, but I’ll do my best.  Happy WOYWW all. I’ve missed you…

 

28 thoughts on “WOYWW 294 – official

  1. We live in an area where high-speed Internet is not available. I would *kill* for your D/F service!

  2. Hi Ma how’s this for early … ha ha.
    hope you get back to normal soon …… but on the up side you did a great job with the needles ….. go you ]
    janet … no number obviously

  3. That is one super neat knitting book and great sock 🙂 lucky to be able to knit your own
    Happy WOYWW hugs Nikki No # yet

  4. Knitting the sock. It looks good. You are a lot more organized than I will ever be. Where are you in the UK? Also I am impressed with your comptuer knowledge. Do you have cable internet? I am rather clueless about internet access if it is cable or dsl. I do remember when it was dial-up.

  5. Ah you have filled the folder and it looks good all this whilst I slept. That is not a very good internet speed, i do hope they are going to improve it a lot. Oh and weighing your wool it makes me laugh as I am not really a knitter. Hope you have a great week.

    Hugs Eliza & Yoda (no number yet)

  6. I can feel your pain with the computer. I know how slow my internet is, and I often think there might be something wrong with the line, because it always goes down when we have a rain storm. Haven’t seen much difference when it snows, though. Hope the fix becomes permanent soon.

    I admire your knitting skills. I also like your organization folder. Not sure I would ever be that organized, though!

    No number yet, but I bet you can find me (grin).

  7. Sorry you’re still struggling with your “super fast fibre optics” ha ha.. they do love a good sales pitch don’t they.. The knitting folder is super organised though. Hope to see you round mine soon. Helen 4

  8. I think ANYONE who can knit must be a genius!!!! It just never clicked with me and I always spent more time trying to “fix” dropped stitches than anything else, lol! Your sock looks warm and lovely – what more could you ask of a sock??? Great job on the needle organizing!

    Happy Crafting!
    Jeannie #14

  9. our internet with BT is awful too, but i am worried its better the devil you know. i am jealous that you can knit socks i would love to knit myself lots of warm toasty socks

    Happy WOYWW
    love Mrs C.xx #29

    http://craftroomdiary.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/woyww-january-21st-2014.html

  10. Of all the people that lack of connection will affect..you’d be top of a list!. Pretty sure I would get loads more done if we were offline for even a few hours!! This morning I. Having a lot of trouble speed wise commenting from ipad, so am prolly about to give up. all hail your organised knitting needles…great idea.

  11. The finished sock may be nothing special to you but for a girl that doesn’t knit this is very special indeed! I know your husband is going to be so happy!
    Glenda #49

  12. Oh, such an oranized storaging of your needles, love it! Hope your speed goes up soon, surfing on the Internet in slow motion is a pain! Happy woyww and a hug from Holland, Marit #51

  13. Being rural our Internet speed is very slow but when there’s a fault it’s even more frustrating. I hope you’re back up to speed soon. I think I’m no. 45 this week

  14. Your sock may not look “special” to you, but it does to me, since I don’t know how to knit. I also love your highly organized needle collection, because that’s what I like to do with my tools as well. Happy WOYWW!
    http://arnoldolromero.blogspot.com/2015/01/blissful-years.html

  15. Well I’m loving your needle storage and sock! I’ve taught myself how to crochet in rows, only way I don’t end up in knots! Hope you’re well. Take care Zo xx 32

  16. Hi Mary Anne, Beloved Hubby is pulling his hair out too with Internet speed- put in a new Bells & Whistles router, now we are only getting half the speed we did before! Can’t go back to the old one as its packing up, hence the replacement. Great storage you’ve put together- its all about finding what works for you, isn’t it? Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #17xxx

  17. Hi MA!! Urgh to the internet speeds… that must be the most annoying thing ever… ours are not fabulous super dooper speeds but better than that! LOL Love the sock and oober impressed at the organised knitting needle book!! Is it suddenly fashionable amongst younger peeps to knit at the moment? I ask because my Mum (82 next birthday) spent Christmas teaching her granddaughters (in their 20’s) how to knit scarves…. they love it!! Happy WOYWW from Annette #13

  18. How satisfying that you ended up with that strand of wool after sewing up the socks!! So much better than being short of the same amount 🙂
    We’re very excited in Burbage because BT have just remodelled the exchange and green junction boxes have appeared. So we’re waiting for the notice of when it can start.
    Hugs, LLJ 25 xx

  19. Howdy neighbor!
    congrats on having some yarn left over! LOL! and your new organization. If you ever need knitting help give me a buzz.
    robyn 5

  20. A class needle organization!! You should be able to find them blind! I am impressed!
    I am not sure I would spend less time in front of the computer, if I had high speed internet. It is far too much anyway. Would be nicer doing art instead.
    Hugs
    Gabriele 36

  21. Your needles look great. I always end up looking around in many places ( my girls like knitting too) until I find the right size… But my dog just ate up a good bunch, and if they were all in the same place, the disaster might be even worse !
    Kristiina #30

  22. Haha, I love your knitting note. I should do the same thing. I’m not much of a knitter, but when I do I have to go find the video on how to cast on, every single time.

    Looks like you’ve done some great organizing!

    Happy Woyww,

    Sandy #26

  23. Slow internet so frustrating. Ours can be similar! Like the clever sock knitting though. I am not a Knitter myself so admire those who can!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Catiecuddles #86

  24. Whatever else is happening, the sock looks great. I used to do loads of knitting but never made socks so it looks pretty good to me. happy crafting, Angela x 28

  25. I am impressed with anyone who can knit a sock properly. I love knitting but circular needles and sets of four needles just turn me right off. I hope you soon get your speed sorted out to your satisfaction. I stayed in a lovely B&B last year and if more than two people in the village logged on at the same time, the internet crashed completely. It did make me laugh at the time, but if I had to cope with that every day, I would have lost the plot very quickly. The #ArtChain is a bit like one of these chain letters but all fun and no dreadful predictions if you fail. The idea is that you are nominated by a crafting friend to show on Facebook one piece of work each day for five days. Also on each of those days you try to nominate someone else to carry the chain on. It does not have to be a brand new piece of work and I have, like many others, tried to show a progression through my work from when I started. It is just fun to see what others have created and to see how much we have all changed since the start of our crafting. Brushos are powdered inks, with which you can paint or spritz water on to get different effects. As far as the canvas is concerned, just get the wrapping off and dive in. Treat it like a piece of paper or card to begin with. you can develop your ideas as you go. just have fun. xx Maggie #27

  26. I am seriously thinking you must be genius to get the storage set up. I have tried for years to store my knitting and crochet items handily and accidently gave away hundreds of dollars worth of needles in a mix up! Hope the charity that got them liked them. I am also impressed with Big Foot’s sock. WTG! Hope you have a great week and thanks for sharing. Vickie #33

  27. Our speed is rubbish too-but I know it is better than many and it is reasonably cheap in the UK for broadband (I negotiated several years for FREE! I was gutted when I finally had to pay!) but frustrating none the less.
    Your needles are really organised now, my mum has these too-I will have to shame her by showing how you store yours! I made her a needle case for Christmas but I fear many are still chucked her needle bag!!
    Kyla

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

