scrappystickyinkymess

The things we do….

5 Comments

My DD has been keen on “making clothes” for a while.  I’m not sure what sparked this, but for about a year she has asked about making her own clothes.  I have to admit I am at a loss.  The thought of her at the sewing machine terrifies me a bit – her one hand can be unpredictable in its movement and she has little control of it. Without some sort of needle guard I would worry.  And knitting or crochet really requires two good hands.  My follower Sue tells me knitting looms were originally developed for use by the handicapped.  That would seem to confirm my instincts were right when I bought DD a set for Christmas! But it is complicated ho make something like a sweater on a loom – or maybe I haven’t found the right pattern.

I did look around for a simple sweater pattern and found this one, the appropriately named Simplest Sweater on Ravelry. There is a free version of the pattern for a single size, but that wasn’t the size I needed for DD so I sprang for the paid, multi-size pattern.  I like that it gives the INCHES for the “size” and not 12-14-16 whatever.  DD wears many different sizes depending on the line and if it is something from the US or the UK, but her inches around is a more reliable measurement.

It IS simple, a neck down, all in one piece, in the round so virtually all knit stitch (so mindless it’s easy to do sitting with her watching some random teen movie for the 5th time) and the only part that needs attention is the eyelets (for design not for function) that you make by doing a yarn over.

4simplesweater

I slipped a piece of paper in and stretched it a bit so you can see what it looks like.  The edges all roll, as there is no ribbing, but over 300 of these shown on Ravelry show plenty where ribbing has been added, or the neck or sleeves finished off with something different to the single crochet edging the pattern calls for.

I am getting there.  I’ve used my cables from my Knit Picks needles, so I can cap them with the little secure screw on caps that let DD try it on – it is nearly a perfect fit!  I omitted the waist shaping for a less fitted version as she tends to prefer comfort over style, but the all important around the bust measurement is spot on.

3simplesweater

She loved this yarn when I used it to make some hand warmers and luckily I had another two big skeins of it that I though I would use to make a throw for the sofa.  More than enough to make a small sweater.

I used smaller cables for the sleeves, and when I start them I’m going to see if I can use the Magic Loop method and put both sleeves on one super long cable and do them at the same time.

2simplesweater

5simplesweater

Those few cast-on stitches on the body section get companion cast-ons under the arm as part of the sleeve.  The ONLY SEWING is grafting those two-sets-of-8 stitches under each arm.  How fab is THAT?

I need to nail down the length that DD wants it to be, and if the sleeves will be 3/4 or full length, if she wants any ribbing or it left to roll, and maybe if the sleeves will taper, bell, or be worked straight.  I may not get that till in is about waist length, so she can visualize it a bit better.

simplesweater

You can best see the shape of it there.  I may have to have a go at making one for myself!  I like the slow change yarn, but I am a little worried I will be bugged by the sleeves not being a perfect mirror of each other.  We’ll see.  As long a DD likes it, and I have had the practice of constructing a sweater, the lessons learned that I can bring to loom knitting with DD, then this sweater has done its job.

5 thoughts on “The things we do….

  1. Maryanne, check with your assoc. for the blind. Many of our sewing machines have a guard you can purchase (it’s a foot) which guards the needle from fingers I’ve got one from when I was teaching children to sew. Not sure where it is right now (haven’t used it in LONG while) or I’d send it to you. Like this: http://www.universalsewing.com/tek9.asp?pg=search&mode=results&usssearchby=header&usscriteria=520.1

  2. That is awesome! I didn’t know you could make a sweater from the looms! I had a few for years, and I don’t think I used them more than twice :/ That’s great that your daughter is making her own sweater on one!

  3. What a great sweater! I’m not sure how I managed to come to this post but I’m glad I did. How did your daughter like her sweater? I just bought a caplet pattern and want to get started on it. Not sure if it’s knitted in the round – I think so as it’s knit from the top down. Love how you can knit every stitch in the round and get the great looking stitches.

    Hugs,
    Kay

  4. it might be on that same site, but I didn’t notice it. There’s a thing called “a third hand” for people who have had a stroke or are otherwise impaired, you can clamp the loom or whatever in that, then she can use her good hand to knit with.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

