scrappystickyinkymess

Lots of random musings

3 Comments

DS has left the South and safely arrived back in Scotland, DD is back in school, DH is back at work, my car is working and slowly, slowly life is returning to normal.

I had a lovely Christmas with some lovely gifts.  I picked some gifts that I know were a big hit with the recipients. Most things were ordered to be delivered and there were a few problems.  Most of the problems were sorted with excellent customer service.  A few examples:

CaspianI ordered a set of interchangeable knitting needles from Amazon.  They were a particular blue-green colour and it was that colour I really wanted.  I have many Symphonie needles and sometimes I find it hard to see the contrast between the colour of the needles and the yarn.  They came in quick-time, via Amazon, but they were something called Harmony (which look like the Rainbow ones I found online) so I emailed Customer Service.  I chatted online and in the end as the ones I got were slightly more expensive than the ones I ordered, and I wanted to cast on something that day, I decided to keep them.  The Amazon person suggested I should tell the vendor KnitPicks what happened.  I did, explaining that I had wanted the Caspian set and why, but didn’t want to send them back because I needed to make a quick project for DS to take home with him.  They got right back to me, apologized for the error, said the set I got isn’t even available for sale outside North America, and said they would send me the set I ordered free of charge.  And what lifted it to excellent service?  I got to keep the original set.  Excellent service.

I ordered, also via Amazon, a set of knitting looms for DD. She really wants to knit, or make something she can wear, but her disability makes it a challenge.  For her AND for me.  I can’t even think of how to teach knitting using one hand!  I saw a few knitting loom videos and thought I MIGHT be able to teach her to use it with her dominant hand doing most of the work and her other hand as a helper.  I got the looms, sold by KnitUK but shipped by Amazon.  They came with little pegs to increase the number of pegs for finer yarns.  The test install was fine, but when I pulled the pegs out ONE got stuck and snapped off inside the hole.  I tried for a week to get it out, every way I could think of, then contacted Amazon to see if they could replace just the one loom (the smallest one.)  They said it wasn’t possible to replace just one part so instead refunded my money and told me to re-order the item.  The owner of KnitUK got back to me,  as all Amazon told her was they were refunding  me.  She said she would send me the replacement loom, and would have done that had Amazon passed my info on to her first.  Shame they didn’t. She was lovely and generous and a pleasure to deal with.

Now, a bad one.  I have been waiting for The Wonder Years to be available on DVD for years.  I mentioned that it now was.  In looking for it, I saw there was both a very expensive set from Time-Life, that came with a LOT of extra ephemera, but an ad kept popping up for a more stripped back version for a LOT less money. We bought the less-expensive version but in the end, of course, you get what you pay for.  The copy looks like it was made off a broadcast (despite claims it was “digitally remastered” in the ad) has weird little ads that slide out every so often, and the quality doesn’t even remotely match the images on the site.  For many of the shots, the top of heads are cut off, there are no credit sequences, the menus don’t work properly…the one bright spot MIGHT be that if it is from the original broadcasts the “real” music is used, as opposed to the substitutions required by the copyright issues that kept TWY from being available on DVD for 20 years.  And for me, I am enjoying the show despite the poor quality.  But the customer service element?  There is a place to add a review on the site.  The kicker is the review has to be approved by the webmaster.  The fact there are no reviews on there at all makes me think they are well aware of the issues but don’t want any potential customer from finding that out before they buy.  Caveat emptor, indeed.

If you travel, the gift I loved, and I sent my parents this year, might appeal.  From Globee on NotTheHighStreet, novelty luggage tags.  The image they use is upside down, it’s not me, so perhaps the dementia has already set in?  {wink} We also got Not All Who Wander are Lost and At My Age I’m Happy to be Going Anywhere.  Love them .  Total serendipity.  We were wandering thru the Winchester Christmas Market and wondering what the heck to get my parents and these just LEAPT out at me.  They were purchased, wrapped, popped in the mail in a day and arrived in time to go under the tree, despite being past the official last shipping date for overseas delivery.  So I guess Royal Mail and the US PO gets a nod for good service too! DH got me a cup and bowl from the Selbourne pottery from the Market too.  We had been to the pottery when my in-laws were here and I loved one of the sets.  So the Winchester Xmas market gets a thumbs up.

And finally, my award for jumping thru hoops.  I had seen a book I very much wanted.  Regular readers won’t be surprised.  I have been a fan of Chank and his fonts for a long time.  I saw this book had been crowd-funded and I just HAD to have the W.chankbook

 

It’s fab, but the complicated process DH had to go thru to get it to me here in the UK def. wins him the persistence award.  I love it.  I was literally speechless for a full minute when I opened it.

Now it is time to refocus my brain towards crafty things and settle into a more regular blogging schedule.  Beginning with WOYWW tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “Lots of random musings

  1. Hi Maryann happy new year to you. Gosh I am so exhausted reading your musings what an interesting complication of stories, it sounds good to hear there is some good customer service in our small world.

    Have a great day

    Hugs Eluza & Yoda

  2. you might be interested to know that the round knitting looms were originally made to be used by handicapped people. I’m always interested in gadgets, so I have as set I ordered probably 40 years ago made of wood. They are a little bit larger than the plastic ones, but other than that are exactly the same. The rectangular ones we used to use back then were a wood frame with nails and were called Amish looms.

  3. Ups and downs of Christmas eh! LOL
    janet

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

