scrappystickyinkymess

A commenter asks, I answer!

5 Comments

One of my frequent commenters, Paula, asked about the card with Post It note and tear-off calendar, commenting that she had just planned on making one of my CD calendars but was torn because she loved the Post it note idea.  As I was replying, the germ of an idea floated to the top of my brain.  I spent more time hunting around trying to find a clean, empty CD cover than I did making the project!

There are many ways to go with the idea and I’ll outline a few of them.  Basically, the key is a small extra piece of thick cardstock or thin chipboard scored to create a kink.

2CDwithpostit

This is assuming your CD holder has edges all around both pieces.  I think some of the newer ones may have less to get in the way.

3CDwithpostit

Mine is 5 1/4 x 3 1/2.  This is so it fits inside the CD case.  In order to add the pen holder, I poked a hole in the middle, just above the 3 x 3 Post it note square.  Using a crochet hook, I pulled the loom band thru to the back

5CDwithpostit

and threaded a bit of chipboard the at the back, sticking it down.

6CDwithpostit

7CDwithpostit

I added a strip of double-sided tape to the top edge, but did NOT peel off the backing.  This way all the bits for the Calendar fit inside the CD cover.

8CDwithpostit

And in fact, with a small pen or pencil, that will fit in as well.  You can see I show this without the cover decorated, because if it was, you couldn’t see how nicely it fits inside! Once your recipient takes it out, they can assemble it

11CDwithpostit

For this, I made a decorated block that fits behind the cover, then stuck the tear-off block to the front.  That way you can change the background as often as you like and so long as the placement is the same, you can just stick a new year’s one on in 2016!

12CDwithpostit

Two additional points: first, there is no reason you can’t use any standard CD calendar blocks rather than a tear-off one.

9CDwithpostit

As long as they aren’t on super thick paper they should still fit in the CD along with the Post-it note block, especially if you divide a block in 1/2 as I did.   Second, if they feel the footprint of the calendar is too big, your recipient can always stick it to the back leg of the stand.  Technically they wouldn’t really NEED the added piece, but it’s nice to offer the option

10CDwithpostit

And finally, I’ve had the odd comment or two about my Doily calendar printables.  Some folk aren’t crazy about the grungy scratch marks thru the Month names.  I liked that, which is why I picked that font, but as it only took me like 15 minutes, I went ahead and did a font swap for the same one I used for the 2016 Calendar.

This one is sized for Project Life but I used it in the sample to make the tear off.  The little ones were too small to look right on the front of the CD

4CDwithpostit

 

THIS one is the smaller card topper size tear-off. You can see the three methods I use for making a stack a tear-off: glue, brads, staple.

{sigh} now I have to go back and add the link to all the places where I have the OTHER doily version …

5 thoughts on “A commenter asks, I answer!

  1. Pingback: A quick recap – all 2015 calendar printables and projects | scrappystickyinkymess

  2. Pingback: finally – 2016 Doily variation | scrappystickyinkymess

  3. Pingback: 3×4 Project Life 2015 calendar (Sunday to Saturday or Monday to Sunday – you choose!) | scrappystickyinkymess

  4. you are too clever for one person! This is a brilliant idea!

  5. Pingback: Pretty CD Circle calendar updated for 2016 | scrappystickyinkymess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

