scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 286 – Knockers!

13 Comments

Hello WOYWWwers.

What is on my desk, and has not been far from my desk for a week is a very special project.  Someone near and dear to me had a double mastectomy a few months back.  She jokingly sent me a link, after seeing knitting appear on my blog. So I made her a pair.

woyww286

The first ones I made from the pattern at the US site, out of some spare 100% cotton yarn I had lying around – 100% soft cotton, no blends, not mercerized is a must.  The US pattern has a flat back – the light blue one, nearly done, is using the UK pattern from the UK site.  It is different, with a side hole for stuffing, and a concave back.  I’ll send both pairs off and let the recipient tell me which she prefers and then make those in her color choice.  The UK group has an active charity program where women can order (free) knockers.  Check out the slide show of recent ones on the site!  Not all flesh tones and boring, there are some wild ones there – one of the ladies suggested, like the mullet, knockers might be best “business in the front, party in the back!”  I like that. There are KK groups in many countries, if you fancy getting involved.  The UK group is fundraising so if you want to support their charity efforts, and goal to provide free knockers, from one woman to another, do so here. I find my knockers are not acceptable to the UK group because they don’t use their approved pattern, but I won’t let them go to waste!

You can see my little coaster/easel/calendar/post-it not holder thingie from yesterday there at the back and a couple of the tear-off calendars I made by converting some of my PL printables to print smaller.  But I am expecting a yarn order today and will share the colours selection to ask which colour is required and may cast on another knocker.  Then it has to be back to socks for a bit, and then finally maybe some paper play.

Looking forward to some holiday ideas this week on WOYWW – we will do a small Thanksgiving celebration on Saturday, sadly without DS, who has commitments up in Scotland – he is actually getting PAID to do those LoL castings you may have seen me post in previous weeks, and he has a few projects due in the lead up to Christmas break so coming home now is just not possible.  But we’ll Skype, I’m sure and that will have to do.

Happy WOYWW to all and Happy Thanksgiving to all who celebrate it this week, wherever you may be.

13 thoughts on “WOYWW 286 – Knockers!

  1. that. is. totally. AWESOME! Mary = Rocks~!

  2. On the 8th of Dec it is the first anniversary of the death of my friend Claire from breast cancer. (hence my pink hair) Had she survived, these would have gone down a treat with her I am sure. No number yet…

  3. what a lovely fun thing to do for your friend. hope she enjoys “wearing” them! Helen 6

  4. What a great idea – your friend will be delighted with them. Have a good week. Happy knitting, Chris # 8

  5. Great idea, I’m sure your friend will love them!! Thanks for sharing,
    Happy WOYWW Ginny #43

  6. It is awesome. So is the phrase ‘casting on another knocker’, I just love that!

  7. Hi Mary Anne, I didn’t post today in the end, too wiped out. Glad I came to visit though- love those knockers! What a fab, fun idea. Almost typical British eccentricity! Love it. Hugs, Shaz xxx

  8. What a wonderful idea, and I’m sure they’ll be greatly appreciated by your friend. Have a great week,
    Diana #50

  9. Fantastic idea! They made me smile as well as being an awesome project to do for your friend 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 25,xx

  10. Those knockers rock! I hadn’t heard of the knockers project but totally endorse it, being a breast cancer survivor myself. Well done you! Your friend will love them!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Have a great week,
    Lisca#24

  11. What an awesome idea “Kniitted Knockers” who would have thought – wonderful! TFS and have a great week.

    Karon #48
    Karon’s Krafty Korner

  12. What an excellent idea, I’m sure she’ll love them.
    Have a great week
    Von #17

  13. What a great idea! Tell me there isn’t an unspoken sister-hood… 😀 I also love those little desk calendar, post-it note thingy… totally cool! I’m allowed to say cool, right?!
    Hugs,
    Beth P
    WOYWW #70
    late as usual, lol

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

