scrappystickyinkymess

More Advent stuff – printables and an idea!

5 Comments

Still dithering about the Advent calendar.  One thing that kept me very busy yesterday was designing my own cones, to supplement the ones I linked to originally.  I wanted them to be a little bigger around the base than the elves and a bit taller and slimmer (who doesn’t wish for that? LOL!) for a reason.  My first ones were too squat and stumpy

stillmoreadvent

but I finally got what I wanted

5stillmoreadvent

I also wanted the cutting and sticking to be kid-friendly, which I think it is.  Once cut you need only add a bit of double-sided tape to the flap and score and crease it

2stillmoreadvent

For folding, I find it is easiest to almost fold the cone, without actually creasing it, matching up the edges and sticking

4stillmoreadvent

You can then gently roll it into shape.  I added a little star just to make the gripping of the top easier

6stillmoreadvent

Now for the tip.  I was making a cuppa and what drew my eye was the milk bottle top.  I don’t know about where you live but where *I* live the bottles are recyclable but not the lids.  They are the PERFECT size and make a nice little cup (and far easier than the paper one from the other day – really, making 4 or 5 of them, sure, fine, but 24?? No.

7stillmoreadvent

And the 2″ circle punch fits inside with a bit of a push to get past the ridges (which is good, they won’t fall out that way)

8stillmoreadvent

 

Just stick them to your base and place the cones over them.

9stillmoreadvent

The printable PDF has a total of 12 different patterns.  If you really want to make a full-month calendar, print it more than one, print it once then mix in the three major characters from the original and as many elves as you need to fill in.

The bottle lids are a bit too wide for the elves, but you could  stick them inside the elves, or just stick the circles to the base, for a little more variation.  I haven’t provided the circles for “treats” cause you will have your own ideas of hat your kids will like, and I’ve not added numbers, so you can mix and match as you like.  A number sticker, a stamp, a die cut  or punched circle will all work.

10stillmoreadvent

 

Now, if you aren’t keen on printing them print one page and use it as a template to cut the cones from cardstock and let the kids decorate them instead! I rather fancied making a Vintage one, all lace and gold and pearls and pretty bits, and may still do. Could be pretty but a big task – I’ll speak to that another day…

========================================

More on the ongoing Google word verification issue.  I was testing a theory and I think I have more info, almost enough to tailor my WOYWW commenting so I can carry on without having to log in to Google to do it. I checked today to find that number verification was back, but I wasn’t fooled.  What I thought last time was that after commenting on a number of blogs, the word verification popped up. I thought I had typed the number in right, but word verification came with a message saying I had typed it WRONG. So today I was very very careful to check that I was typing the right thing.  All went well for about the first 5 blog comments.  On comment 6 I noticed that the number was cut off.  I typed what I saw and SURPRISE! Word verification, cause I “typed it wrong.” Now every blog is WV again.

So what I have gleaned is that I can comment on up to 5 blogs. If I see the number cut off in any way, I should step away from the keyboard.  I’d like one more test to see if indeed the number being cut off is the key – if I refresh the choice, will it stay cut off or give me a new one?  And I don’t know if giving it an hour or two will keep number verification or if I have to wait a day (-ish – might be 24 hours from my last comment not 00:00:01.)  I think it  means I can comment on a few Blogger blogs each day till I get thru all my visits.  Not giving up, I’ll work it out. And yes, I know I am being pedantic.  Sorry.  Feel free to skip these bits….

5 thoughts on “More Advent stuff – printables and an idea!

  1. Great idea about the milk lids. ( I loved the idea of pitting the little saying in them.) Hubby eats 2 or three yogurt cups daily. I think I can work with those. Great way to reuse!

  2. I do love your printables 🙂

    Do you have an issue commenting on my blog? I have always had verification turned off, but never know how others find it?

    Thanks for visiting my WOYWW desk (I am running behind with my visits!)

    kyla

  3. These trees are awesome! I love the idea about recycling the milk caps! Talked with the SIL about the word verification and he is telling me it is probably something on your computer or something from your wordpress account if you are using that as your commenting name. I have word verification turned off on all my computer programs cause it caused me more problems then any virus ever did. Thanks for visiting my desk this week. Sorry I am so late getting around but that’s the way it goes. Have a great rest of the week. Vickie #43

    • Sorry, I hate to contradict your SIL but it’s nothing to do with my computer – it’s a global change that Blogger put in place to try to stop spam. I could avoid it if I were willing to log in to a Google account and be logged in when commenting but I choose not to.

      🙂

      MA

  4. What fun they are and so sweet.
    Happy crafting, Angela x

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

