scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 281 – late today

13 Comments

To be honest, yesterday was a bit crazy and I realized that I hadn’t snapped a WOYWW photo when it was light.  I had pretty much decided to skip it for one more week, but then, once I had sorted out a knitting problem, I decided I might as well.  So what is on my desk?  My solution for my own stupidity….

WOYWW281

Here’s the thing – I am not a “natural” knitter – I don’t feel it in my bones, like I do crochet. My great-grandmother taught me crochet, I watched her create the most spectacular filet crochet bedspreads for many of the women in my family, of my Mom’s generation, when they married and it just seemed natural to do.  Knitting is a battle.  And while I am happy to rip back my crochet, even the THOUGHT of ripping back knitting makes me feel faint.  You’d think that would make me more careful…

You may recall I was feeling quite please with myself after thinking I had finally cracked the Magic Loop for one sock.  I really had, until the heel.  No, that’s not right – the heel was FINE. Picking up the slipped stitched for the gusset was FINE.  it was a perspective issue, I think.  Somehow, I got turned around – probably not realizing where I was on the loop, and managed to somehow do the SSK leaning decreases on the wrong side of the heel.  They were lovely, that wasn’t the problem – they went the wrong way was the problem.  So I did the K2Tog on the side I should have SSKed and SSKed on the side I should have K2Tog.  Doh!

Cue cursing, and a quick check to see the safest way to rip back OMG like 15 hard-fought rows in the widest area of a sock, finding that the lifeline is GENIUS but too late for me NOW, and off I went, taking it right back to the heel-turn on one needle and the instep on the other.  I needed something to remind me – I am rubbish, clearly, at “reading” my knitting, and I couldn’t see past how perfect the stitches looked to see how they all headed the wrong way, and I wasn’t going to risk THAT with the next sock.  So I grabbed that box of alpha-beads and made myself custom stitch markers

2WOYWW281

They are slightly bigger than ideal, but on the plus side, I’m not going to lose them easily, or overlook them even if I am knitting while watching TV!

3WOYWW281

I played with a couple of methods, from the old wine-charm rings to simple cord (this is hemp-cord, also from my scrap supplies)

4WOYWW281

and they all work more or less as well as I need them too.  Because my pattern is one decrease round, one plain round, I added a plain marker (thank you Simply Knitting, many years ago…) to remind me.  So I knit the decrease then add the plain markers.  When I return to the spot, I know the plain marker means I am on a plain row.  I remove it then the next time round I can see it’s time to decrease.  Now, I expect I will eventually get better at this, and this pair of socks is always going to be the around-the-house, unlovely but warm ones that I will always hate a little because they aren’t perfect, but love a little cause they helped me conquer the Magi loop….

I shudder to think where I might fall in the WOYWW linky list, but it really is more about taking part than getting the top spot just cause I sleep badly and tend to be up {wink}

13 thoughts on “WOYWW 281 – late today

  1. Glad you found a solution to your problem. I hate having to undo any type of knitting where you are following a pattern. Have a lovely week Anita woyww #50

  2. What a BRILLIANT solution! I’m feeling very chuffed, having just finished my second pair of socks, my first on two needles. I do prefer working on four needles, though, rather than having to sew up the back and both sides of the feet, when using two. I’m all knitted out now, though, and have gone back to my patchwork. Happy WOYWW, Chris # 3

  3. Hi Mary Anne, had a good chuckle at your post. But how maddening it must have been. That is definitely the point it would have gone to one side ‘ to get back to’- meaning never, lol. I’m with you on knitting, I know hoe to, I just don’t enjoy it the way i do other things. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #28 xx

  4. Gosh, I’ve been knitting for years and I think this is a clever idea. I’ve had a number of projects that were very confusing after I’d left them for a while and then tried to pick them up again. This would help on that for sure.

  5. I haven’t knitted in over 45 years and never did do much beyond real simple things. Same with crocheting. Like what you made to help you along. Happy WOYWW!
    Carol N #58

  6. I am afraid I chuckled too- I gave up knitting years ago (have several part done “things” in the other room….) hope your socks are sorted soon! I had got so used to fighting you for top spot (or two three four) it is weird to see you so far down the list – but yes, it’s the taking par t that counts!! so welcome back! Helen 4

  7. Happy WOYWW. I am not a natural knitter either, in fact I gave it up – and your post completely confused me! You are a lot higher in the list than me. I nearly didn’t make it. Ali x #78

  8. How maddening! I’m really impressed by your solution! I have never done this magic loop thing (I did read your previous blogs and watched the video. I’m not sure I’d get my head around that….
    Thank you for letting me have a peep of your workspace.
    Have a good week
    Lisca#32

  9. Love the socks. I used to do lots of knitting but never socks and they look interesting to knit.
    Have a great week and happy crafting, Angela x 41

  10. Well the socks I ever knitted, nobody wanted to wear. So I stopped. But you really found a very funny solution for your problem.
    Hugs
    Gabriele 33

  11. What a great tip! I really need to make my own stitch markers–getting ready to knit a hat possibly. I am just the opposite as you…I feel the knitting in my bones, but everything I crochet turns into a circle! I love your work. I am getting around a little late. Have a good week! Sandy Leigh #57

  12. Great solutions. I know what you mean about knitting and I admire anyone who can! Love the socks in your later post too.

    Kyla #11

  13. Your custom stitch markers are awesome! The heel rows are what I have had the most trouble getting right when I have tried to knit socks, and your stitch markers idea might be a big help the next time I give sock knitting a whirl 🙂

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

