scrappystickyinkymess

Freeform quilt, finally done.

4 Comments

Just AGES ago I started a small quilt.  You can read about the process here.  It’s the top two photos.  I am ashamed to say the other quilts in the post are still unfinished.  The dotty circles one is VERY close to having the quilting done, and the hack and slash QAYG one needs only binding, but I’ve not settled on the fabric.  Since my MIL is here, and she is the quilter, I might as well take advantage of that fact and see what she thinks.

But the Freeform one IS done, and the binding of it, is as close to perfect as I  have ever managed. I have to say the process is fabulous.  Read the book by Rayna Gillman or watch the Interweave video (or do as I did and get both) and you will soon see that it is both fun and easy to do.  You can sort of see the process in a short YouTube video,and  although I can’t say the cinematography is fantastic, it does give you an idea of how it works

Apologies for the early morning, not great light, rushed photos, but DS is due home this evening and there is far too much to do!

freeform

I love the BIG STITCH quilting and the wild colours and the organic way it grew.

2freeform

I won’t say it’s the best quilt ever but it makes me smile and that is always a good thing.

Have a great day.

4 thoughts on “Freeform quilt, finally done.

  1. Absolutely love this quilt – my kind of thing – great colors and randomness! Huh! Love it!
    Hugs,
    Cardarian

  2. It makes me smile too! It is beautiful!!

  3. What a fantastic quilt so bright and cheerful

    Hugs Eliza

  4. This is brilliant! Watching the video, it seemed impossible to turn that boring start piece into the amazing vibrant piece she ended up with. Your pieces are so gorgeous.

    Shoshi

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

