scrappystickyinkymess

Print Friendly or PDF button!

4 Comments

In the past I have blogged about ways to turn any blog post into a PDF using Readability.  This is great because YOU are the one in control – you need not depend on the blogger to make it happen.   But as a blogger I wanted to add something for my readers that was easy.  I found a useful plug-in for WordPress called PrintFriendly.  Even better, it is available for a number of platforms, so all you Blogger bloggers can use it too.

pf

Just select the platform you use and follow the simple instructions.  Once you do, here is what it looks like on my WordPress blog:

printfriendly

If you click that button, you get the option to create a print-friendly page without all the clutter at the top, bottom and sides – that looks like this, for a recent post (and you can see the page here for comparison):

pagesample

See at the top? you can print the page, you can tick REMOVE IMAGES to print just the text (which seems not useful for most things I do, but you never know…)

noimages

or create a PDF – and that offers you a fair few options that YOU control

pdfoptions

I’ve not explored all the options, but will do someday when I have the time.

Now, this is clearly dependant on the blogger (i.e. ME, in this case) adding that button for you.  But if YOU are a blogger and want to make it easy for your readers to print and/or save a post as a PDF, you can add this button.  I know on WordPress there is a way you can add the button just on specific posts – so if I did a very long and detailed post, on a technique, or a tutorial for something like a mini-album, I could opt to add that button. People who wanted to could create a PDF or print the post easily, rather than me creating a PDF myself.  Not all posts are worthy of printing or PDFing LOL!   but for example, what about a crochet pattern?  Might be nice to have it as a PDF rather than a cluttered page print, yes?

I’ll probably point out the button in posts that I think people might like to convert or print, but it’ll be there on every post.

 

4 thoughts on “Print Friendly or PDF button!

  1. Thanks for this – a great little button. I’ve got a problem though!!! I followed the instructions to the letter using their “instant” add but all I got was a blank box in my side bar which, if I clicked on the tools, came up with the correct HTML code. So then I decided to actually go to edit my template and add the code myself and now it’s not showing up anywhere!!! Can’t think what I’m doing wrong but it must be something (I’m in Blogger)…….. 😢

    Karen x

  2. Ignore my last comment……….just managed to get it done! Many thanks again 😄

    Karen x

    • Thank goodness you figured it out cause I haven’t a clue when it comes to Blogger – I’ve been WordPress all along. I’ve tested it and I think the resulting PDF or Print versions are pretty decent and certainly a LOT less hassle than making your own.

      Cheers!

      MA

      • Thanks Maryanne……..Blogger does tend to have a mind of its own at times! I’m going to try it in my browser bar next as that would be really handy.

        Karen x

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

