scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 278 – maybe the last one for a bit

28 Comments

Hello WOYWWers.  The in-Laws arrive TODAY so I figure I’d better try to squeeze in a post while I can.  Hoping I can do my visits before they arrive.  I’m taking a leaf out of Helen’s (H) book and my desk is actually the floor – I am beginning to lay out my circle-in-a-square crochet blocks according to the pattern I designed – and luckily I am liking it A LOT.  That’s the up-side.  The DOWN-side is how many more blocks need completing!  100s….

circleslaidout

Luckily that isn’t actually all of the completed blocks!  And this will be the perfect nighttime keeping-busy task as we sit and chat and/or watch TV.  I have a folder on the DVR crammed full of things we have been stockpiling for them (Fabric of Britain and the like for MIL, and some  BBC music documentaries and things like The Old Grey Whistle Test for FIL) so there will be some good blocks of time where I can listen without watching…perfect.

Happy WOYWW y’all!

28 thoughts on “WOYWW 278 – maybe the last one for a bit

  1. Wow, that is quite an ambitious project you have on the go, sounds like you will have lots of time to make more squares while they are here.

  2. They are lovely – I am crocheting a hexagon blanket at the moment – isn’t crocheting fun!

  3. you got top spot AGAIN!! how do you do it… lol. Love your squares and that you’re resorting to the floor! Have fun sewing them together and a fun visit with the in laws. Helen 5

  4. Nice for you to have visitors, I got to see my In Laws actually I call them Out Laws coz I don’t like one of them, long story. I do hope all goes smoothly with your visitors, looks like you have some activities sorted for them. I do hope you can manage some crafting time.

    Hugs Eliza, Yoda & Flat Susan
    Happy WOYWW #3

  5. They all look great together, Mary Anne. Have a lovely time with the family, and enjoy sewing these together.
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #7

  6. Cant wait to see the finished product
    Bridget #3

  7. There are just so many great projects around to do if you crochet.looks good so far.Looking forward to see the finished project.

  8. Those squares are lovely – can’t wait to see the finished project. I hope the visit goes really well. It sounds like you’ve put a lot of thought and effort into it. Have a great time, and look forward to seeing you back here when you can. Hugs, Chris # 16

  9. Beautiful colors! Looking forward to seeing the finished project. Sounds like a plan for keeping you in laws occupied. Have fun! Vickie #20

  10. Gosh, your quilt is coming on nicely! It looks great! Yes, I know there’s a long way to go, but you do a little at a time and before you know it you have a lovely quilt. Have a good week with your in-laws.
    Lisca#31

  11. Wow, love those crochet circle/square blocks, the graduated tones work really well. And I love the different sizes too, really mixes it up. The blanket is going to be amazing!
    Enjoy the visit, hope it goes well 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 30 xx

  12. it’s already looking fab, so adding in the next squared circles will only improve on fab! Perfect as you say, for evenings in company – hope your In Laws enjoy their visit…we seem to have saved Autumn for them!

  13. Wow, your crochet is fabulous – I love the design and it will look spectacular when it’s finished. Hope you have a good week, Diana #37

  14. This is alovely modern take on the crochet technique. The colours give the squares a real arty look.
    Happy crafting, Angela x 39

  15. Ooo the in laws to stay hope it won’t be too painfull. Loving the look of your crochet …. So colourful
    Janet @8

  16. A great project! Can’t wait to see the finished product!
    Glenda #46

  17. Hi Mary Anne, loving the squares. Gorgeous colour mix. The Old Grey Whistle Test- that takes me back, lol. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #43 xxx

  18. Love your squares! One area of crafting I have no desire to master though. I love how you are so organised that you can sneakily craft while spending time with the in laws. Way to go!! Happy WOYWW, Cindy

  19. OMG what a project! Lovely work, it will be great when it is finished. But a lot of telly listening ahead of you 🙂
    Cheers
    Gabriele 28

  20. Loving your gorgeous crochet blocks, Mary Anne, but what a project! Hope your in-laws arrive safely and that your plans to crochet along with the telly work out perfectly for you:) Elizabeth x #51

  21. Love the crochet blocks and how you did gradient colors! Your project is going to be gorgeous! Happy WOYWW!
    Carol N #41

  22. Beautiful blocks, Mary Anne–have a great visit!

    :)trisha
    #70 this week
    with a mish mash of stuff

  23. It’s looking good so far. The perfect craft for in front of the TV and not feeling too anti-social!

    Fiona #15

  24. I also love crocheting projects, but it is really difficult to struggle through all the blocks when all you want to do is touch the finished product!
    Love your colours and your pattern, hope you show us when it is finished!

  25. Thanks for visiting my ‘desk’. The jigsaw is a beautiful one (I think). The title Men against women is a humorous take on the ‘battle between the sexes’. Visualized in a Roman arena. The names of the participants are taking the mickey and the bits of dialogue floating around is very funny. There’s so much to look at. I don’t tire of it easily. I have another four jigsaws in that series.

  26. Wow! what wonderful crocheting. Enjoy the time with your visitors. Thanks for sharing. Hope that you have a lovely crafting week to come. Hazel, WOYWW #81 x

  27. I could have sworn I left a comment, however, the little grey cells might be losing the plot lol. Beautiful squares you have going there love the ombre effect. Hope you have a great visit. : D. #55

  28. Love your blocks! It is going to be such a big job, but SO worth it!

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

