scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 277 – not much…

23 Comments

{sigh} I really didn’t want to let another WOYWW pass me by, but to be fair the desk isn’t massively interesting this week.

woyww277

I just opened a package from Amazon, a set of 11 Tunisian crochet hooks.  Annoyingly one of them is missing the cap.

2woyww277

Typical.

I have completed sorting in my office, very happy about that, happy with the arrangement (which really isn’t any different to how it was, just tidier and thinned out a bit)  and very pleased to finally have all my cardmaking stuff, including all the cards I;ve made to have on hand, all in one place and organized by event (ie Birthday, Get well, Sympathy, etc)

4woyww277

It all fits on a small bookshelf behind the door.

I also have, hanging about off my desk, a single square I made from two charm pack squares, in the Fusion Crochet style.  I’m torn.  While I think it is cute, I’m just not feeling the love for it.  I did a different border, which I like fine, but it’s just not cuddly enough. The fabric is too thin and with no batting between it seems like a waste of time in a cold climate.

3woyww277

Plus I really hate doing blanket stitch.  I have experimented with at least 3 or 4 other methods that I thought might work to provide the place to attach the crochet but none of them are at all satisfactory.  I looked at getting a sharp crochet hook but t be honest I can get a standard steel hook thru two thicknesses of fabric so I don’t see the point.

Still two more areas that need attention then the hose is DONE. Most of the clutter removed, old clothes and toys and housewares sent off to the charity shop. lots of old scrapbooking papers sent off to the arts dept of DDs college, piles of old paperwork burned, and the yard mowed and tidied. Now I just need to sort out my computer – I am on such an old version of the OS the version of Safari that matches it is no longer supported and I am having increasingly more trouble with everything from blog commenting to watching Craftsy classes to reading my PMs on UKS.  I may just have to bite the bullet, sacrifice my old programs that I love and move on up to the current OS on a new Mac. DH is convinced that a Mac mini will do all I need and replace my massive (and loud) tower but still I hesitate.  Might tough it out till the in-laws leave but after that decisions must be made.

{sigh}

 

23 thoughts on “WOYWW 277 – not much…

  1. you probably know this, but Tunisian stitch is also called Afghan stitch and for awhile they had a double ended hook version of it. You could use a piece of fimo for the missing end. In the 50’s and 60’s, plain afghan stitch was very popular in strips with cross stitch designs on it. I did an afghan in the bean stitch that I liked.

  2. I really like your crochet work. One of these days I’ll try to learn that craft. #3

  3. That would suck to have a defect arrive hope it still works
    Bridget #1

  4. I like your crochet square but can see it wouldn’t keep you snug! I need to sort my pc too, as it is old, noisy and slow… putting it off, not a techy here!! (stash alert, major stash alert…) Helen 4

  5. I am impressed you’ve finished your tidying! I just crack the eggs open and whip them to a frenzy and get distracted before an actual omelet is made lol. Love your crochet work, but looks like it would be better for a summer blanket. I saw a crocheted bit of velvet that looked like it might be warmer, and actually bought some (on a deeeeep sale) to try someday. This may be why the tidying never ends, to many distractions! #6

  6. Hi – what a lovely clear crafting space, all ready for play. It’s such a good feeling to get all the stash sorted – if I don’t, I forget what I’ve got, or then can’t find it! Perhaps you could back the whole blanket when it’s finished? Like the colour combo. Have a great week, Chris # 14

  7. You really did a good sorting out! I am trying to convince myself into doing that before I move to England but it is such a big task!
    That computer change would be a hard one for me too – I just love how I have everything organized at the moment! Huh!
    Have a lovely week!
    Cardarian

  8. Well done on all the clearing, de-cluttering, and sorting! Great job done. John keeps asking me to help with his room – must do it soon…. Sorry it hasn’t been a good week with all the crochet things – hope you get to enjoying the Tunisian – not something I have ever had a go at….
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #18

  9. Shame about the thin fabric. Could you use some quilted fabric, the type that has the stuffing stuff in (sorry, I’m not a sewer). It looks very effective though. Bummer about the missing bit. I’m super impressed at your tidying, that would scare the pants off of me 🙂
    Have a great week and I hope you sort your crochet problems out.
    Von #23

  10. Must admit wondered what on earth fusion crotchet is .. really just series of trebles joined.. funny isn’t it, fancy names for simple olde stitches.. sorry about the need for upgrade and commiserate there.. as it is pain…. noticed quite few sighs in that post .. but happy WOYWW anyway, Shaz in oz x. #17

  11. Well done for getting to the end of your big sort out, that must feel really good. I’m intrigued by the Tunisian crochet hooks, never seen them before, although I do love to crochet. I can relate to your computer quandary – my son tells me he thinks my PC may be on the way out but I really don’t want to change it and go through all the upheaval now I have everything as I like it. We may just have to bite the bullet I guess :o) Happy WOYWW Annie C #37

  12. How nice that your crafting table overlooks the garden! Crochet is not something I have tried, but never say never! Your piece looks lovely!

  13. Hi Mary Anne, seems we are both into ‘autumn cleaning’, lol. Computer changes are scary, I agree. Every now and then I get upgraded by Beloved Hubby, usually when he gets some new gaming kit, then I get his ‘hand me downs’- hence I have a pc that I could potentially use to start a world takeover, bit ott for what I actually use it for. Lovely view from your window, by the way. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #25 xxx

  14. I would love to just do ordinary crochet so this really is fascinating ! Good Luck with the computer choice – it’s Mac for me – with a fairly big screen though!! Chris 45

  15. To be honest, I’m not that struck by the crochet around the fat quarter either but I ADORE the crochet circles in your previous post. Really like the effect of the smaller and larger circles…and the teapot yarn holder is genius!! What a fab idea 🙂 That made me laugh so much…you do come up with some original and ingenious ideas!!
    HUgs, LLJ 34 xx

  16. I’m glad seeing another ‘tidy desk’ – I get comments often that I’m tidy and neat and I was beginning to wonder if I were the only one on the planet having/working in an ‘organized and tidy’ atelier… Oh, and my eye catches the painting (?) in the top right of the first photo… I just LOVE it!!! Happy woyww and a hug from Holland, Marit #47

  17. Lovely crocheting – those long hooks look interesting. You are well organised. Thanks for sharing. Hope you are having a great day and have a lovely crafting week to come. Hazel, WOYWW #69 x

  18. Hi MaryAnne everything is looking nice and tidy, I would love to get my place more organised but there always seems to be something else to do. Oh well one day maybe Lol!
    Happy crafting, Angela x 36

  19. Great crocheting – I haven’t come across Tunisian crochet before but I hope you enjoy it. After all that tidying you will need a break!
    Bernice #30

  20. Hello Maryanne,

    I understand where you are coming from recently I upgraded my home computer because the OS was no longer supported and haggled over the issue with new programs with the tower and then if I went down the mac line what I would have to do, new programs to purchase as the ones for the old OS won’t work with the mac etc. I ended up going with the tower style again and luckily I got windows 7, I nearly got windows 8 but there is so many problems with it. I really didn’t want to outlay so much money on new programs that I currently had license for as every thing works well together it was just a matter of an easier conversion and not massive outlays. I do hope you get past your issues and make the decision that I haggled about for months and months.

    I’m impressed that you have cleaned and sorted everything, I can only wish some little fairy would fly in and do it for me, fat chance I know. I like your crochet work but see the issue for warmth, tough one.

    Have a great week and happy crafting.

    Hugs Eliza, Yoda & Flat Susan

  21. Everything looks so tidy and neat … You sure have spent some time on you big tidy up
    Jackie 5

  22. I think your desk looks lovely even if you don’t think it’s very interesting this week! You have a great creative space. Your crochet work is fantastic. I’ve done loads of regular crochet in my life but never attempted the Tunisian variety.

    Happy belated WOYWW,
    Shoshi #35

  23. I’m glad your cleaning and organizing has gone well! And I love the little square of fabric with the crochet border, but I agree it would need batting or something in between to make it good for a blanket. The colors are pretty though and I like the border 🙂

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

