scrappystickyinkymess

Stencil storage – finally happy!

2 Comments

Just a handful of return visits for WOYWW, then more cleaning, food shopping, blah, blah, blah.  It’s just endless.

BUT I keep finding things I bought ages ago and always intended to use for one thing but now find them perfect for another.  This is one of those things.  It’s a fairly big (A2, so about 16.5 x 23.5 inches) with just a handful of sleeves and 4-hole ring binder set up.  Of course virtually all my 12 x 12 sleeves are 3-hole punched but I solved that easy enough by punching a template or the 4 holes

stencilstoresleeves

clipped it securely to a stack of page protectors – matching up one of the holes seemed to be the best placement

2stencilstoresleeves

then used the Big Bite to punch new holes.  I found punching thru a stack of them (three to four) was actually better/easier/cleaner than punching thru ONE, and the Big Bite was better than the Cropadile.

3stencilstoresleeves

I kept most of the A4 size stencils, paper and report cover ones I cut with the Cricut, in an A4 binder in A4 sleeves.  There are too many of them and the binders and sleeves are cheap (free, in fact, cause I have so many of them kicking around!)

2stencilstore

and I found a cheap, thin, paper pad that I used between the back-to-back stencils so I can clearly see what they look like

3stencilstore

In the portfolio, I have the 4-6×6-to-a-page sleeves but to keep the centre from being too bulky I used only some of the holes – does that make sense? So some are towards the top, using maybe the top three rings, some in the middle and some at the bottom, using the bottom two rings.

5stencilstore

6stencilstore

Then I have the 12×12 sleeves with all the standard stencils – some of the old Crafters Workshop ones that are punched for storing in a binder have been added without a sleeve.

7stencilstore

In the larger sleeves that came in the portfolio (annoyingly they are NOT 12 inches across) I have some of the oddball ones – plastic canvas sheets, teflon cooking mat, big letter and number stencils from the hardware store, and one sleeve full of crappy magazine freebies that I haven’t used yet, but MIGHT, someday …. LOL!  Not totally mended my wicked ways, have I?

8stencilstore

The front has a sort of flap/pocket area that fits the cardboard that has textured wallpaper on it, some of my favourite texture tools for Gelli printing.

4stencilstore

9stencilstore

They are painty and hard to get into a sleeve sometimes so this is better, having them all grouped like this.

Now there are just these two places, rather than the Crop in Style binder, the A4 binder, a large file box, and a couple of book rings, to look thru when wanting a stencil.

stencilstore

There is still room in the portfolio for more, so I have room to grow!

Now, back to those visits….

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stencil storage – finally happy!

  1. Hi Maryann,

    I keep my stencils in a binder the one that is fat and is a traditional binder for legal offices and school children. It has the clip that can be adjusted to keep the envelopes secured hence let movement and it is great. The smaller stencils are in a file envelope, I must show it one day. I think you are on the right track and will be happier now with this storage. It’s looking good.

    Hugs Eliza

  2. Okay this is just funny, I’ve been working on stencil storage too! I tend to think by collection/brand, so one company’s stencils are all sorted because they fit in an 8.5 x 5.5 notebook. Everything else is flitting from one thing to another. I’m even thinking about cutting some (which makes my OCD fizz lol). The thin paper between is brilliant (and I’ll definitely be copying that one). Did you find your multi-pocket pages or sew them?

    If you win the lotto, I’ll be a rubber stamp mounting minion as long as you don’t mind my techniques (and I only do two sheets every other day to allow for proper curing of the tacky glue lol).

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

