scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 273

16 Comments

Happy WOYWW day!

My desk is still covered with the memory book stuff, and the little spiky toy debris

woyww273

I’ve sent off an email with the running order for the organizer to double-check against her list of stuff to make sure no emails with content went astray – hoping when I drop DD off today (after her Drs. appointment) there is no more surprise stuff that needs to be added.

Still in clear out mode too – I am attacking my bookshelves, sorting thru old (and I do mean OLD) scrapbooking magazines.  I’ve been holding on to them, thinking there might still be inspiring stuff in them, but frankly, even a quick flip thru shows me that how we scrapped in 1999 is NOT how we scrap today.  Well, not the way  I scrap anyway.  It’s time to let them go.  I still have nearly a full bookcase of books and a handful of magazines I will keep – like Scrapbooking Memories and More, a short-lived UK mag that I was a small part of eons ago, and the CK Idea Book and Paper Kuts ..Power Team book, I think it was called, that I have layouts or articles in, but other than that, it’s all going in the recycling.  Actually, I might hold on to a handful of them to take to crop next month – it should provide a few moments of hilarity at the very least.  At the time the layouts might have been cutting edge and quite inspiring, but looking back over 14 years I can only  gawp in amazement.  Will we all feel the same looking back in another decade at the mixed media style so popular today?

Hard to believe that 1999 idea book was the one that introduced Becky Higgins! And I def. have the one that had the first digi- HOFer too.  2002 or 2003, I suspect, and both there in the pile….

2woyww273

Times change, styles change, and I need the space.  {sigh} I wonder who else has been hoarding old OLD scrapbooking mags for a decade or more and when they last looked thru them for inspiration?  Have you? And I haven’t even touched the Memory Makers shelf yet – I know some of those book have layouts from me in them so I will have to go thru them all carefully.  Never submitted to Scrapbooks Etc. so at least THAT stack will be quick to weed.

See anything you fancy?  No, I though not….

🙂

16 thoughts on “WOYWW 273

  1. Good luck… and good grief, those magazines look dated! I have every issue of Craft Stamper mag since it started.. and lots besides. No, of course I don’t look back at them but… one day, one day!! Have a good week. helen 4

  2. Mm, Maryanne, never been much into crafty books or magasine so guess that is on less lot of clutter I managed to avoid 😀 mind you just as well!!
    .. was crafting then we just dont see book or mags like you do in US and UK.
    happy WOYWW Shaz in Oz.x #10 I think

  3. Oooh, I do like a good sort out! I find it quite cathartic getting rid of old stuff that I’ve outgrown etc…..I’ve never been one for keeping magazines either, as you know with the crochet ones, but the new Love Sewing mag is full of good ideas so I might keep a few pages out of them. Funnily enough, I was wondering over breakfast about what would happen to all my stuff over the next few years, honestly, and then you wrote this post!
    Hugs, LLJ 20 xx

  4. Oh dear, I would love to have the one from 1999 – if not to much??… I hope you haven’t get rid of it already? – Kind regards Mariane

    • Back again, I am so impressed by the way of all your stuff, I just start all this kind of scrapping with mix media. I am in awe to see all you have done.
      Kind regards
      Mariane

  5. The problem with getting rid of the old is it makes space for new! Is that bad??? I have a hard time letting go of stuff. You seem to be doing a good job of clearing out. Perhaps inspiring us all to start. Diane #32

  6. You are good to be able to clear out things – my inner librarian says “keep it, keep it” every time I try to throw something! I am really getting desperate as I need space too!
    Lots of hugs,
    Cardarian

  7. I love a good cleaning out!

  8. You wouldn’t credit them looking quite so out of date would you. And then you count back a bit and realise we’re into the second decade of the 00’s and suddenly yep, the 90’s were farther away than I’d like! Good for you, I can’t clear out and keep crafting. One thing at a time gal here!

  9. Hi Mary Anne, I completely agree about magazines. I ended up throwing loads away when I moved rooms. I’d been keeping loads of stamping/papercraft mags for a few years’ for inspiration’, but like you say, times and tastes change, and I honestly can’t remember when I’d last looked at them. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #54 xx

  10. I think it’s great to recognize that letting go of old makes room for new, and it’s important to acknowledge the improvements and things you’ve learned Good work Be well Carole #50

  11. I used to hoard football magazines but craft took over so out they went, though I do have boxes of football programmes under my bed!! Now I hoard pens. Lol Desk looking productive as always. Take care Zo xx 41

  12. Hi MA…… did you have a layin this morning ha ha
    well done with the clearing out, not an easy job at the best of times….. not for me anyway.
    even the covers on the book and the magazine look slightly dated…maybe vintage would sound kinder lol
    janet #8

  13. Hi Maryanne, I have been trying to reorganise some craft stuff but it is obvious you cannot do this until you make some space LOL!
    Decluttering is supposed to make you feel better but it’s so time consuming that it’s doing the opposite for me. Like you I have so many magazines but it’s difficult to let them go, we will just have to be brave and clear them out!
    Have a great week and happy crafting, Angela x 34

  14. was looking at some of my layouts the other day too thinking they looked a bit antiquated with their stickers etc. I am like you I am cleaning out closets etc and it is difficult to decide what to do with a lot of the stuff. Hope you have a great week. Vickie #75

  15. My goodness. You are having fun there – hope you don’t throw anything important!
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #17

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

