scrappystickyinkymess

Make your own stamping plate

5 Comments

There has been a discussion on UKS about stamp+die sets.  The dilemma is to cut the paper or card THEN stamp the image or stamp the image and THE place the die to cut it out.  Last I looked I am not sure if one method was winning over the other.  But that discussion prompted a discussion of stamping plates – Fiskars has one (and I have that one, or did till I stepped on it and broke off a corner – DOH!)

P1050965

and it seems there is a Martha Stewart one too – or at least a block with foam feet.

You know me – if I have a hankering for something but neither the time nor the cash to get it, I am always going to try to figure out how to make something similar from stuff I have hanging around the house.

What I used:

makestampplate

an acrylic block – this is one of the big chunks a mate cut for me, that I have used previously as a stamp mount for my Gelli plate. But any large acrylic stamp mount will  work – I got these from a craft show – maybe £10 for nine.  The larger ones are best

12makestampplate

a strip of cork tile – I don’t see why Fun Foam wouldn’t work as well, one thickness or two stuck together.  You’ll have to play with it.  You just need something to make the stamp hit the paper fully, compensating for the foam.  When compressed it will be close to flush with the table but the little extra helps.

a Sharpie marker – to draw grid lines on the acrylic.  Not required, but it may help with placement and act like a positioner

a bathroom sponge – has to be the easily compressed foam, not cellulose sponge, for example.  You might find this sort of foam as kids foam stamps.  That’ll save you cutting them.

And speaking of cutting – I cut them with my Big Shot and a thick die, but you can just cut them in squares with scissors.

3makestampplate

I thought this very thick sponge was TOO think so I cut the circles in half thru the middle

4makestampplate

I stuck them to the corners of the block

6makestampplate

and covered the gluey bit you can see thru the block with fun foam circles – totally not required. I used Fabri-tac, which held the foam perfectly to the acrylic.  Not sure what will happen if I ever try to WASH is, but I’m not planning on doing that – likewise the Sharpie lines.  they don’t seem to wipe off with a baby wipe so they might last,

5makestampplate

I cut the cork tile so it fit between the foam feet

7makestampplate

You can see what I mean about the cork or Fun Foam making up the difference.  Add the stamp.

8makestampplate

just flip it over the paper and press

9makestampplate

See? The stamp would be too far from the paper for a good impression without the cork.

10makestampplate

and a perfect image!

11makestampplateI think you could add smaller foam bits to ANY block – you can still use the other side as a normal mount then flip it over to use the foam as feet if you need to.  But the point is, it took 10 minutes and I didn’t have to buy anything.  OK so the sponge was bought for another purpose, but it was 45p so not going to break the bank, now is it?

Off to work on the memory book a bit more.  Enjoying it, but I’ll be glad when I’m done…

5 thoughts on “Make your own stamping plate

  1. Thank you for this tip! I was going to buy the Fiskars stamp press but you can only get them in sets with stamps I don’t really want and it comes to over 50 Euros! So I will be making my own!
    Lots of hugs,
    Cardarian

  2. You are so clever! I just received a Fiskars plate for my b’day, but this info will be useful if I ever need a different size. TFS

  3. Pingback: Wednesday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #ArtJournal | lifeimitatesdoodles

  4. What stamp is that?! I can’t ever find stamps that cool! Mostly I just have to pick the ok ones out of the generic ones.

    I am in love with that stamp!

    Also, fantastic tutorial! This is the only written one I’ve found (I have limited data so YouTube vids are out of the question) thank you so much for bothering to write it out and take pictures. I truly appreciate it.

    Part of the reason I’ve been looking into making my own is because the spongy things on the fiskars one seem very flimsy, like they might shift if you didn’t press down perfectly, is that the case our is my perception wrong on that?

    Thank you!!!

    • I bought a few sets of stamps when Teesha Moore was closing her stamp business. This is one from her. Maybe some were Zettiology ones mixed in. Shame. Her images ( and her hubby Tracy’s) were always so cool and mpy fave stamps. Glad you enjoyed the tutorial. I think the Fiskars plate us a good one and it doesn’t shift, so up to you if you buy or make. Either wApy, have fun!

      MA

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

