scrappystickyinkymess

So sidetracked….

8 Comments

On WOYWW day I saw the coolest dress form, altered in a spectacular way, by Bella.  I urge you to go see hers cause mine is a very poor imitation.  OK, well not really an imitation except in the sense that it is also a dress form, sort of.  I just loved hers but of course I had not full size dress form, and no place to put one even if I did make it.  But it got me wondering if it would be possible to create a 3D dress form out of cardstock.

Funnily enough, the other day, while hunting for something completely unrelated (possibly loom band stuff, I can’t quite recall how I got there, and by there I mean a Pinterest board) I had seen a cardboard necklace display that now leapt into my mind as a possible solution. I had to hunt for it, and never did find the Pinterest board, but the photo here looks just like what I remember.  Problem is, there wasn’t then, nor now, an actual template.  DOH! The first step was to grab my curvy ruler and draw one out.  I could see the shape well enough to get close.

necklacestand

The proportions aren’t quite the same for mine but they are close enough.  Mine is made of a sheet of quite stiff A4 card, but what you see above is actually my attempt to create half of the form on an A4 sheet so I could make a bigger one at some point, and figure out how to alter it so it can lay flush against the wall.

I was really in to it, and my camera batteries were dead, and DH had unplugged the charger so he could plug-in the back-up disk so I could only sneak a few shots before the darn thing died totally. But here it is.  No sense of perspective, really, but the box=pleat skirt is folded from two 6 x 12 strips of scrapbooking paper, to give you and idea.

londonfairy

The wings were cut on the Cricut in black then lined with a soft green glitter adhesive sheet – I thought the colour went well with the green from the London A to Z pages that I decoupaged over the form. The little house reminded me of olde-worlde London terrace blocks but are actually one of my Zetti stamps – the one where I split the stamp, removing the eyes that were originally part of it.

Th gears are tin foil, adhered to cardboard and alcohol inked.  It’s an X-cut set.  The stand is an old candlestick. Poor thing, she is very flat-chested, but making 3D paper boobies was completely beyond me.

You can see the back is laced and the skirt is attached to the inside core of a roll of glue dots.  I always save them, so handy.

2londonfairy

Overall I am happy with it – for what it is.  Considering I made it from stuff I had kicking around, I think it is looking good so far.  I feel like it needs something else – a quote or some text, maybe, or an actual necklace or maybe flowers??  Not sure, but that seems to be a trend – I am riddled with indecision lately, never sure which way to go with things.  I might just shuttle it aside for now and look over to it for a bit and see if I get inspired.  Maybe tidy up my office AGAIN – that always reveals stuff that is hidden or buried and often I get an idea when I unearth it.  Well see.

I’ve had a go and taking my drawn template and making it digital, but am struggling to make those curvy lines look smooth.  but if I get it to the point I think it’s OK, I’ll add it.  I might just add the hand drawn one, warts and all, or re-draw it cleaner.  Or maybe just keep looking. surely there must be a template put there for download….

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “So sidetracked….

  1. Well, how cool is that! I don’t really know where to start -except to say dont ask me if it’s finished or not, I’mhopeless at knowing that for my own stuff, let alone this sort of exhibition quality paper crafting! Bet someone will come up with a template….you!

  2. Oh this is really clever, the problem I find is knowing WHEN to stop…I just keep adding stuff then suddenly realise I should have stopped but this is perfect-great colours too.

  3. Love it. Hope u share the pattern. The added bits could change daily if 1 find new bits in stash.

  4. Funnily enough, I too saw that card necklace design on pinterest! How very clever of you to adapt it to make your dress form. I love what you have done and glad that I could be of some inspiration to you.

  5. By chance do u have the templet for the wings? What fun this is.

    • Not a template, it’s from a Cricut cart. Let me see if I can find the name..Indie Art and they are called Leftwing and Rightwing 🙂

      • Thank u. Wish I could get the products u get in the UK here in the states. Love the paper u used.

        • I am 99% sure that paper is from a paper pack I bought in the states on a trip home 🙂 but I am sure it is OLD – perhaps 10 years old. I’ve been scrapping for a LOOOOONNNGGG time…. 🙂

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

