scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW270 – more twisted things

24 Comments

I am still exploring the uses for Twisted cards.  I like the form.  Gift card, then ATC holder for mailing, now.. a CD holder!

That is what is on my workdesk this Wednesday.  Be sure to pop to the WOYWW post to see what others are doing – bet it’s more interesting – I always find them so. Not sure I will manage every desk (well, up till linked at about 5 PM last week, so pretty good if not perfect!) but I will visit as many as I can. I enjoyed it last week, and did see a few desks that, despite my attempts to get to everyone (even if they DON’T visit me and comment) at some point, I haven’t seen in AGES, if ever.

Here is the overall shot:

woyww270

I thought just for fun I would measure the open area that I work in – shockingly small space…

2woyww270

and it’s only 7 inches the other way!

I started with a 6 inch by A4 strip of paper for the CD holder…not QUITE right

2twistedcd

so I upped that to 7 x A4 (nearly 12 inches) and that worked fine.

5twistedcd

I just stuck on the other side of the fold, to make it more secure

4twistedcd

then stuck down the fold overs at the sides – I am not going to bore you with walking thru the Twisted Card process AGAIN. Either of the last two posts will give you the info you need. But if you fold DOWN the tops, folding the front cover one in and tucking it behind the CD, then fold the back cover one onto the front and secure it with a dot of repositionable adhesive, it not only holds the CD better, it fits the 5 1/4 square envelope! Now if we send the Grandparents a CD of photos we can integrate the CD with a card!

6twistedcd

What that also shows is getting the RIGHT double-sided paper is the key – this is one from the unloved section of the paper pack from DD.  Fine for testing, and with a bit of work it could be cute, but anything with a directional pattern isn’t going to work all that well – something to bear in mind.

Anyway, loads to do, as usual – what is it about Wednesdays?? – so off to get some quick inspiration around at YOUR desk {wink}

24 thoughts on “WOYWW270 – more twisted things

  1. All of this info is being archived I hope.( for later inspiration) i seem to be going in circles these days.

  2. although I saw the emails with the other posts I didn’t get time to read them.. will track back now… Neat idea! Happy WOYWW, no number, waiting for Julia to wake up, lol! Helen (stash alert)

  3. I can see what you about funky folds on a cd holder and always perfect to play with old paper you won’t use really anymore 🙂 hugs Nikki 19

  4. ah Maryanne.. laughed when saw the size of space you work in.. my sister said to me this week need a bigger desk… as the workspace left (about your size too) is too small my reply was like things in reach .. not coming from Longreach here 😀 lovely new methods being explored too.
    Happy WOYWW Shaz in Oz.x #10

  5. I’ve missed a bit about the twisted cards, I’ll have to catch up I love things that work as more than one thing. I was furtively working on Jingly bits this week (Jingle Alarm Systems) and it made me think of your humbug cards lol. Happy WOYWW! #22

  6. Ha ha Mary Anne, you just pipped me at the starting post.
    there aren’t any desks more interesting than yours I just wish I had time between desk posting to catch up love the twisted card idea … I’ll try and look back to see how you did it
    Janet @4

  7. Congrats on being #1, Mary Anne! Great CD holder and thanks for the instructions and links. You really DO work in a shockingly small space!! Happy WOYWW and have have a wonderful week! Hugs, Darnell #18

  8. Ah, many’s the time I’ve tried to maximise fabric cutting (I can be very tight!) and then realised that the pattern is upside down on the bunting/Christmas stocking/bag….delete as applicable. Sigh. I like your twisty card, looks tricky to make but I bet it’s not too bad once you get the hang of it!
    HUgs, LLJ 26 xx

  9. You made me laugh by measuring you clear work space 10 x 7 that sounds about right! I have a huge desk made for me by a neighbour it’s can fit ten people round at a push….. But I end up crafting in a space like yours
    Jackie 23

  10. o glad to see somebody else with a shrinking workspace. LOL Mine seems to completely dissapear sometimes!
    I will have to come back and have a good look at that folded card! Love it.
    Happy WOYWW!
    Tertia #15

  11. Its amazing what you can create in a small space! I will take a look back at your twisty cards. They look interesting and the CD idea is great to.
    Have a happy week
    Lynda B 28

  12. I try to keep Wednesdays light so that I can spend time at Deskers, but it rarely works out that way, and this week in particular is no exception, so I understand when you say ‘what is it about Wednesdays’..and the answer is – I do not know!
    I’m surprised that your working space is as much as 7″..bet if you weren’t doing foldy paper stuff it would be less…

  13. Hi Maryanne, like lots of the others I need to go back and have a look at the instructions for making these they look great.
    I think all the best people work with tiny spaces lol!
    Have a good week and happy crafting, Angela x

    • Sorry Maryanne forgot the number # 38
      Your little chaps are so clever, they always find the right person to match up with and I love my little green dragon LOL!
      Angela x

  14. Like the interesting card shapes.

    ~Kate~

  15. That’s a great idea for the CD – very clever. I love your twisted card idea too. Hope you have a great week,
    Diana #36

  16. Hi Mary Anne, your ingenuity never fails to impress and those CD holders are such a good idea. I’ve just popped back over several previous posts to read about what prompted them and I’d say your were doing your daughter’s gift full justice 🙂 Have a great day. Elizabeth x #33

  17. Oh Mary Anne, I do like this idea, aren’t you clever? And the Christmas paper is gorgeous too. You make me ashamed that I work in such a large space when you do beautiful stuff in that tiny area.
    Bless you
    Chris #6

  18. Hmm … I’m intrigued by these, and must come by again, to have a go myself. Glad to see lack of space doesn’t hamper your creativity! Have a great week xx

  19. Oh yes, the ever shrinking workspace–but it’s always seems to be just big enough! Fun twisted cards, I can see why you like them!

    :)trisha
    #62 this week

  20. Hi Mary Anne, what an ace idea. I have to come back and look at the previous posts. The great thing about all these projects we find on WOYWW, is the author has worked out the glitches first, lol. Lolled as well at the ‘push it to the side’ method clearly in evidence, as like all of us, you work in a space the size of your projects, now matter how much desk space we have. Have a great week, Hugs Shaz # 17 xxx

  21. I laughed when I saw the measurements of the space. I do like the paper but hey it is Christmas paper and I love anything Christmas. Love the folds and you know I am always following what you are upto. Happy WOYWW and congrats on being no 1

    Hugs Yoda & Eliza 66

  22. Great ideas Mary Anne. I think you have squeezed yourself into an even smaller space than I tend to…
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #10

  23. Huh! Another invention! Does your brain ever stop? Love what you make !
    Hugs,
    Cardarian

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

