scrappystickyinkymess

Funky filler cards for Project Life

10 Comments

Did you miss me?  I’ve been very good about blogging every day but yesterday I had a very very (all too rare) family day off at Earl’s Court for the Hyper Japan show.  Regardless of what *I* thought, the important thing is DD had a GREAT time.

I have been trying to learn a few new skills and that informs the designs for my printables today.  I am playing with blending and colour adjustments and all manner of things I have never tried before.  I’ll let the download statistics tell me if they are a success or simply too OUT THERE for most people.  There are two downloads.  The first has all of these cards.  funky

Oddly, for me anyway, they are PURE FILLER cards – no text, nothing, just pattern and colour.  Grab them here.

Just because they are filler cards doesn’t mean they are one-use only.  The can be cut, for example, to make tabs or photo adornments.

2funky

Just a few of the tools you can use.  And they look quite cute cut like that

3funky

The really shaped ones, stuck back to back on the edge of a page, would make quite colourful tabs – I don’t have a tab punch but would 3 x 4 be enough to punch one?  Do tell….

There is another set here.  I split them because I guess I thought people might like the first set a lot more than this one – it’s a bit different, and perhaps not something that would work with a huge number of other printables, I just don’t know.  But I thought it best not to force you to take THIS set if you liked and wanted the OTHER one by bundling them into one PDF.

4funky

I really like the base pattern and the colour play came up with what I think are some pretty nifty alternative versions.

5funky

I figured since I made them I would share them.  But I’d be curious to hear if this sort of thing appeals to you or not.

In any case I did learn quite a lot in the process so for me it was a WIN, even if no one but me actually likes them.  Personally I think they would look very cool as fabric, but that is a play for when I am sewing obsessed.  And I might have a go at some sort of card using them, not sure – either that or ATCs. I still have that pile of Creative Palette prints kicking around on my desk so that might prompt an ATC making day – but I really, really, need to swap them if I make them.  I am SO BAD at that.  Off to check out the ATC Trail thread on UKS…

10 thoughts on “Funky filler cards for Project Life

  1. HI,
    Thank you so much for these fun filler cards. I downloaded the first set but can’t find the link for the second set which I also love.
    Annie

  2. Like the first set. LOVE the second set. Is there a link for downloading them somewhere that I missed? Great job on these! This is a skill I do not possess…

  3. I do love them….but for me they are too ink heavy. …

  4. Nice. Did I miss the link to the second set?

  5. Those are so cool! I especially love the second set!

  6. Thank you for taking the time to share the links to your newest creations. While I like the first set, I love the second set. It reminds me of mokeme ga-me (ok, so i can’t spell, but it’s a Japanese technique that looks really cool in wood, metal and polymer clay).

  7. i love the second set. i can see myself using them as a background for a large chunky title

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

