scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 267 – such a hypocrite!

23 Comments

Yep.  I admit it.  I am a total hypocrite.  I moan and moan at people on WOYWW who are working on Christmas projects and cards and yet I have been consumed with 2015 CALENDARS for the last couple of weeks.  Shocking.  I hang my head in shame.  I had a plan of a little trick to share and it wasn’t until I went looking for OTHER 2015 printables that I realized that no one else is doing freebies this far in advance!  Yet I know from requests behind the scenes or in comments people DO want to start working on these NOW – quite possibly the SAME PEOPLE who are making their cards in July LOL!

So what is on my desk is a mess from making CD calendars, and photo cubes and then photo cubes with added CD calendar printables, and then photo cubes with added tear-off calendars.  DOH!

woyww267

I was playing around with the idea that you could turn any set of Project Life printable calendar cards into a reasonable tear-off calendar by printing multiple pages on a single sheet.  So I turned my own printables into a tear off.

2woyww267

No, it’s not as cheap (in TIME for sure or COST, if you print colourful ones like mine) as buying a bag full of tear-off calendars from Hobby Craft, but you have to admit these are a lot cuter….

3woyww267

And all I had to do to sort it was change a few settings in my printer menu:

2perpage

The size of them will differ, depending on whether you AUTO ROTATE or not.

norotate

See the difference?

smallnorotate

But could I find a free 2015 calendar printable sized for Project Life to test out?  Could I heck! The only pitfall I can see in advance is that not everyone makes their printables as multi-page PDFs.  Many of the old ones I did find are offered for download 6 months per PDF.  That means you may have to print at least two (two 6-month groups per sheet) to et the size small enough – unless you have a Mac and can merge multiple 1-page PDFs into a one multi-page PDF.

So there you go.  When (if) you DO eventually decide on a project that needs a tear-off calendar, maybe you’ll remember this and give it a go – and MAYBE by then there will be a few more options for 2015, and I’ll revisit the idea and share samples using other printables.  I hate saying This’ll work till I can test it but I’m not so wasteful as to test it with useless, expiring calendars {wink}

It’s meant to be quite warm today so I’ll be looking forward to an hour or two at the ice rink with DD.  Last day of college for her and the long summer ahead.  Will we be fewer on the Mr Linky list as the days get hotter and the lure of a holiday away, near the sea grows? I wonder…

Happy WOYWW all!

23 thoughts on “WOYWW 267 – such a hypocrite!

  1. I won’t even get round to doing a calendar in 2015, so am impressed at your forward thinking planning and doing!! It looks great. Helen 4

  2. I always admire your new projects and how freely you share the,….love that! Don’t feel bad about leaping forward in time, it’s gotta be done if you need to get the idea out there in the Blogosphere. I can’t quite bring myself to mention the C word yet however!!
    Hugs, LLJ 15 xx

  3. I am struggling to get my head round the fact that we are half way through JULY and you are busy with 2015! Great idea though. #27

  4. Hi Mary Anne. I see your issues here with getting everything the right size for what you want. Personally, I don’t print straight from a pdf as it stands. I copy and paste single images into Serif then can get anything to the size I want. I can fiddle with it, then go to the print menu, and out comes what I need. Your calendars look great – and it is so obvious that you have put lots of hard work into them. Well done.
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #13

  5. A couple of hours at the ice rink sounds fabulous, in the heat of the day!!!! You are so organised planning and working on 2015 calendars!!!!!!!!!!
    Jackie 12

  6. I’m always ready to do a calendar but it just never happens. I’m so proud of you for going ahead and doing it!
    Glenda #48

  7. Oh you have created a great calendar and this is the best time to get organised before the mad rush at the end of the year.

  8. Great idea for making calendars but like others I can’t get my head around making stuff for Christmas or 2015 yet. Mind you I’ll probably still be saying the same thing come December and you’ll all be sending out your beautifully crafted cards and calendars. 🙂
    Have a great week
    Gillian #50

  9. Cool calendars! Love them on the cubes. I am doing Christmas cards only because I ran out last year! I’ve been taking part in some challenges on certain blogs to help. Hope you get all your projects done in time! Happy WOYWW!
    Carol n #62

  10. Hi Mary Anne, great printables- but the C-word? Really? I just can’t, honestly. Not till at least October, and even that is starting early for me. Have a great week, Hugs, Shaz #64 xx

  11. Your calendars are great. And hey, if you want to work on Christmas, New Year’s or next Fourth of July right now, it’s up to you. 🙂

    Happy Woyww,

    Sandy #52

  12. What a patience you have for this job. It is huge, isn’t it!! I use Paint Shop Pro 9 to make the print size I want. It is pretty easy to use. I know there is new versions out there and not that expensive. It is so great to be invited to see what you are up to creatively 🙂 Thank you for sharing
    Kind Regards
    Mariane

  13. Oh dear you wouldn’t be pleased with me. I had most of my crimbo cards done in January!! Love those calenders and yes they are way cute – but you are soooooo clever with all this tecchie stuff – I like to thin that when the time comes I WIL re-visit but I strongly suspect I’ll pop into hobbycraft!! Thanksa for visiting, Cindy x

  14. You are ahead of me! I haven’t begun looking for my calandars yet. I like to to the ones 4 to a page. Then I stamp the tops of them, about 3×5 I think. Last year my GF did them herself on the computer then printed them off for both of us. I would like to find free ones on line. Congratulations on being so far ahead! Yours are adorable! TFS #34

  15. I love your block calenders and if you are going to make them you have to start early but I am just hopeless at even starting the christmas cards, always on the last legs LOL!
    I will be back though to see how you get on, happy crafting, Angela x #42

  16. So your making Christmas gifts 😛 lol the calendars are so cute and congrats on getting them done early
    and Yep the whole card BG is done in Washi tape so easy to do and lovely effect with those patterned ones
    hugs Nikki 7

  17. I wish I could get my head around the technical computer skills required for these little calendars 🙂 Cos I really would like to have a go at them!
    Thanks for dropping by earlier,
    RosA # 1

  18. Cool calendars! Are we really over half way through 2014 already? Yikes.

    Happy belated WOYWW,
    Shoshi #30

  19. You’re not a hypocrite, you are a realist. Calendars are for the whole year and what ever people may think, we actually need them well before New year’s Day. Thanks for the printer settings, I may never use them, but I know where to find them now if I do. they are on my Pinterest page.
    Now I’m of to think that I should be thinking about Christmas cards, but will probably, as usual leave it far too late.
    Chris #32

  20. Hullo Maryanne. Thanks for popping over. 🙂 your industry is great when it comes to calendars. Well done… even trying French and Spainish. Oh and I start next Christmas on January. Have about half done which is reassuring. Happy WOYWW Shaz in Oz x#3

  21. Awesome calendars! And as calendars go, I find I use the advance models way more than the past ones : ). Happy belated WOYWW! #14

  22. Pingback: A quick recap – all 2015 calendar printables and projects | scrappystickyinkymess

  23. Pingback: Tear off calendars to print | scrappystickyinkymess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

